1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice

Default CIVS Front Loader

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Plug and Play Project' started by Fierabras, Dec 5, 2007.

  1. Fierabras

    Fierabras Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,114
    This is very good solution :goodjob:

    I encountered a similiar problem and came up with the same solution. I wanted to add a modular EDU mod and a custom leaderhead for Ethiopia

    I created 2 files:

    /Mod/Assets/Modules/Default_CIV4CivilizationInfos.xml
    /Mod/Assets/Modules/Default_CIV4CivilizationsSchema.xml

    and updated in /Mod/Assets/Modules/Default_CIV4CivilizationInfos.xml

    to

    These files are exact copies from the /Assets/XML/Civilizations/ folder. The reason I put them in Modules was in case you don't want a /Mod/Assets/XML folder in your mod (although I still needed one for Audio & Diplomacy).

    In Default_CIV4CivilizationInfos.xml I made the changes, for example Ethiopia:

    overwrite:

    add:

    I use this file stritcly for changes to the Firaxis civs. Added civs still get their own ***_CIV4CivilizationInfos.xml in Custom Civilizations.

    Of course this does not make it Plug & Play, but it is a clean solution for now.
     
  2. Fierabras

    Fierabras Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,114
    Another example of how this can be used.

    Let's say you want to combine these 2 mods:

    2ND Unique Units for all 34 Civs
    Plug And Play Leader Heads

    The problem is that in these 2 mods you have an overlap for some civs, like Carthage. To solve this you can move the changes made in ***_CIV4CivilizationInfos.xml in these mods to Default_CIV4CivilizationInfos.xml to make them compatible.
     
  3. TAfirehawk

    TAfirehawk WoC Team Manager

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,326
    Location:
    Florida
    It would appear Firaxis released a less than perfect "Modular" system.....

    :p
     
  4. Fierabras

    Fierabras Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,114
    Sometimes you just have to be pragmatic in a less than perfect world ;)

    If true Plug & Play is not possible, then reducing the workload to mostly editing 1 file is a practical solution. Plug & Single Edit & Play.
     
  5. TAfirehawk

    TAfirehawk WoC Team Manager

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,326
    Location:
    Florida
    And what if true Plug & Play was possible?
     
  6. Fierabras

    Fierabras Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,114
    Then we should make every effort to let people know, even by using your signature in every post you make...
     

Share This Page