1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Demo+Full game Startup Crash: Problem Event Name: APPCRASH

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Bug Reports' started by treyarchj, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. treyarchj

    treyarchj Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    I just downloaded the demo and I'm trying to launch the dx9 version. All I get is an error message saying CiV stop working. The details say this:

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: CivilizationV.exe
    Application Version: 1.0.0.7
    Application Timestamp: 4c93b50f
    Fault Module Name: CivilizationV.exe
    Fault Module Version: 1.0.0.7
    Fault Module Timestamp: 4c93b50f
    Exception Code: c0000005
    Exception Offset: 002f4ad7
    OS Version: 6.0.6002.2.2.0.768.3
    Locale ID: 1033
    Additional Information 1: 4331
    Additional Information 2: 86be8120e1316bf2dafeefe1b9604213
    Additional Information 3: f580
    Additional Information 4: 7a1f5703e776833c50dbc335d2bcfd84


    I have an AMD 64 x2 5000+, 3 gb ram, and a 7600gt. I'm confused why I cant launch the game. Any ideas?
     
  2. th3inf3ct10n

    th3inf3ct10n Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Tried to load both DirectX versions of the Demo multiple times. Black square appears on screen for 3 seconds, then the error occurs for DX9. Error occurs immediately for the DX10/11 version.:confused:


    SYSTEM INFO
    Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit
    Processor: 2x Intel Pentium 4 3.40GHz
    Memory: 1024MB
    Graphics: Radeon X800 XT
    Audio: SB Audigy 2 ZS [SB0353]


    DX9 ERROR REPORT
    Spoiler :
    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: CivilizationV.exe
    Application Version: 1.0.0.7
    Application Timestamp: 4c93b50f
    Fault Module Name: CivilizationV.exe
    Fault Module Version: 1.0.0.7
    Fault Module Timestamp: 4c93b50f
    Exception Code: c0000005
    Exception Offset: 002f4ad7
    OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.1
    Locale ID: 1033
    Additional Information 1: 0a9e
    Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
    Additional Information 3: 0a9e
    Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789



    DX10/11 ERROR REPORT
    Spoiler :

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: CivilizationV_DX11.exe
    Application Version: 1.0.0.7
    Application Timestamp: 4c93b53a
    Fault Module Name: CivilizationV_DX11.exe
    Fault Module Version: 1.0.0.7
    Fault Module Timestamp: 4c93b53a
    Exception Code: c0000005
    Exception Offset: 003d7a8d
    OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.1
    Locale ID: 1033
    Additional Information 1: 0a9e
    Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
    Additional Information 3: 0a9e
    Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789



    Anyone else experiencing this? Any info would be helpful. Thanks

    *Edit-Realized I'm below minimum requirements on RAM. Duh. Hope this can still be of help to someone though.
     
  3. Biffa001

    Biffa001 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    U.K.
    I get almost the same error and Ii am above the min spec (and "can you run" it says no problem):

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: CivilizationV.exe
    Application Version: 1.0.0.7
    Application Timestamp: 4c93b50f
    Fault Module Name: CivilizationV.exe
    Fault Module Version: 1.0.0.7
    Fault Module Timestamp: 4c93b50f
    Exception Code: c0000005
    Exception Offset: 003fe31d
    OS Version: 6.0.6001.2.1.0.768.3
    Locale ID: 2057
    Additional Information 1: fd00
    Additional Information 2: ea6f5fe8924aaa756324d57f87834160
    Additional Information 3: fd00
    Additional Information 4: ea6f5fe8924aaa756324d57f87834160

    Pleases help us :-(
     
  4. ori

    ori Repair Guy Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    16,555
    Location:
    Baden-Württemberg, Germany
    could you post your dxdiag results file?
    for what its worth its a memory access violation which can have as many reasons as there are stars - but: is this running with admin rights?
     
  5. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    31,097
    Location:
    Germany / Netherlands
    Moderator Action: Threads merged, thread title edited.
     
  6. Biffa001

    Biffa001 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    U.K.
    Do you mean this? see attached

    edit - and yes ran as admin. thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    31,097
    Location:
    Germany / Netherlands
    Please update your windows Vista installation to Service Pack 2 before we proceed.
     
  8. Jean Elcard

    Jean Elcard The Flavournator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,008
    Location:
    Leipzig, Germany
    Same error here. (dx9 and dx10) :(

    My specs are above the minimum. "Can Your Run It" says so too.

    OS: Windows 7 32 bit
    Graphics: 256MB GeForce 8600 GT (DirectX 10 card)
    CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+
    RAM: 4.0GB DDR2

    I did check the logs after the crashes and the database log always says this:

    Code:
    [17479.875] constraint failed
    [17479.875] While executing - 'INSERT INTO ArtDefine_StrategicView(StrategicViewType, TileType, Asset) VALUES(?,?,?)'
    [17480.453] Failed to Save database.
    
    Let's hope for the best and this is an easy to fix bug in the civ code.

    EDIT: And here comes the dxdiag file.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Jean Elcard

    Jean Elcard The Flavournator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,008
    Location:
    Leipzig, Germany
    I think I found the problem after reading some stuff about improper internationalization of Civ5. My windows user name contains the letter é. After switching to another windows account of mine with only standard letters in it (on the same computer), Civ 5 is now running for me. :)

    EDIT: And "no", it won't be enough to change your user name in your system settings. The user name will stay the old one in your file system, even though windows displays it now without any special letters everywhere else.
     
  10. Biffa001

    Biffa001 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    U.K.
    My windows account name is Steve - no funny letters in that :-(

    Glad yours is working though
     
  11. ori

    ori Repair Guy Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    16,555
    Location:
    Baden-Württemberg, Germany
  12. Biffa001

    Biffa001 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    U.K.
    Going to this morning.:)
     
  13. DMaven82

    DMaven82 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Hi all,

    I'm having the same issue as described above. When I run on dx 10/11 it crashes immediately, when I run on dx 9, I'm able to watch the opening movie in it's entirety and it crashes right after the title screen fades to black.

    I'm using a Macbook Pro running Windows 7 on Parallels, here are my machine's specs:

    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro5,3
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.66 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 3 MB
    Memory: 4 GB
    Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz

    Regarding graphics cards, apparently this machine has two...?
    Nvidia GeForce 9400M & Nvidia GeForce 9600M GT

    I know the 9400M isn't up to snuff, but I believe the 9600 is. I'm not very up on hardware so I'm not sure if the machine automatically picks the best card to use or if you have to manually switch back and forth. Could the problem be the graphics card(s) or could it be something else?

    Thanks!
     
  14. Biffa001

    Biffa001 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    U.K.
    It ran on Win7 for me....so i troed again in Vista Sp1 no joy..until I used windowed mode then it runs ok :)

    Still no joy on my laptop with Win XP SP3 tho - this is my goal as laptop play is more of a need than 40" TV play for me :)
     
  15. jimkirk

    jimkirk Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    528
    Location:
    brooklyn, n.y.
    Information 9/22/2010 5:47:11 PM Windows Error Reporting 1001 None

    Log Name: Application
    Source: Windows Error Reporting
    Date: 9/22/2010 5:47:11 PM
    Event ID: 1001
    Task Category: None
    Level: Information
    Keywords: Classic
    User: N/A
    Computer: jacobkatz-PC
    Description:
    Fault bucket 2038788754, type 1
    Event Name: APPCRASH
    Response: Not available
    Cab Id: 0

    Problem signature:
    P1: CivilizationV.exe
    P2: 1.0.0.7
    P3: 4c92b5f3
    P4: ntdll.dll
    P5: 6.1.7600.16559
    P6: 4ba9b21e
    P7: c0000005
    P8: 000520cb
    P9:
    P10:

    Attached files:
    C:\Users\jacob katz\AppData\Local\Temp\WERA42C.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml

    These files may be available here:
    C:\Users\jacob katz\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportArchive\AppCrash_CivilizationV.ex_6758c95bd4b04eab96e946bcf5b71934ae26a6a_1440c65c

    Analysis symbol:
    Rechecking for solution: 0
    Report Id: edda6ce0-c692-11df-ba83-001a9244db82
    Report Status: 0
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    <System>
    <Provider Name="Windows Error Reporting" />
    <EventID Qualifiers="0">1001</EventID>
    <Level>4</Level>
    <Task>0</Task>
    <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2010-09-22T21:47:11.000000000Z" />
    <EventRecordID>266485</EventRecordID>
    <Channel>Application</Channel>
    <Computer>jacobkatz-PC</Computer>
    <Security />
    </System>
    <EventData>
    <Data>2038788754</Data>
    <Data>1</Data>
    <Data>APPCRASH</Data>
    <Data>Not available</Data>
    <Data>0</Data>
    <Data>CivilizationV.exe</Data>
    <Data>1.0.0.7</Data>
    <Data>4c92b5f3</Data>
    <Data>ntdll.dll</Data>
    <Data>6.1.7600.16559</Data>
    <Data>4ba9b21e</Data>
    <Data>c0000005</Data>
    <Data>000520cb</Data>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Data>
    C:\Users\jacob katz\AppData\Local\Temp\WERA42C.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml</Data>
    <Data>C:\Users\jacob katz\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportArchive\AppCrash_CivilizationV.ex_6758c95bd4b04eab96e946bcf5b71934ae26a6a_1440c65c</Data>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Data>0</Data>
    <Data>edda6ce0-c692-11df-ba83-001a9244db82</Data>
    <Data>0</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>
     
  16. jimkirk

    jimkirk Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    528
    Location:
    brooklyn, n.y.
    maybe this is better its a .evtx file and i cant upload it

    Log Name: Application
    Source: Application Error
    Date: 9/22/2010 5:47:01 PM
    Event ID: 1000
    Task Category: (100)
    Level: Error
    Keywords: Classic
    User: N/A
    Computer: jacobkatz-PC
    Description:
    Faulting application name: CivilizationV.exe, version: 1.0.0.7, time stamp: 0x4c92b5f3
    Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 6.1.7600.16559, time stamp: 0x4ba9b21e
    Exception code: 0xc0000005
    Fault offset: 0x000520cb
    Faulting process id: 0x460
    Faulting application start time: 0x01cb5a9406aa97b0
    Faulting application path: c:\program files\steam\steamapps\common\sid meier's civilization v\CivilizationV.exe
    Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
    Report Id: edda6ce0-c692-11df-ba83-001a9244db82
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    <System>
    <Provider Name="Application Error" />
    <EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
    <Level>2</Level>
    <Task>100</Task>
    <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2010-09-22T21:47:01.000000000Z" />
    <EventRecordID>266483</EventRecordID>
    <Channel>Application</Channel>
    <Computer>jacobkatz-PC</Computer>
    <Security />
    </System>
    <EventData>
    <Data>CivilizationV.exe</Data>
    <Data>1.0.0.7</Data>
    <Data>4c92b5f3</Data>
    <Data>ntdll.dll</Data>
    <Data>6.1.7600.16559</Data>
    <Data>4ba9b21e</Data>
    <Data>c0000005</Data>
    <Data>000520cb</Data>
    <Data>460</Data>
    <Data>01cb5a9406aa97b0</Data>
    <Data>c:\program files\steam\steamapps\common\sid meier's civilization v\CivilizationV.exe</Data>
    <Data>C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll</Data>
    <Data>edda6ce0-c692-11df-ba83-001a9244db82</Data>
    </EventDat
    </Event>
     
  17. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    31,097
    Location:
    Germany / Netherlands
    Moderator Action: Threads merged.

    Looks definitelty the same like in the opening post.
     
  18. Atlas

    Atlas Titanus

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    733
    Location:
    Antiquity
    Running Vista, comp specs r well beyond game minimum and I am pretty sure i updated every possible thing... still no joy. I get the below error after I choose either DirectX9 or the 10/11

    -Atlas


    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: CivilizationV_DX11.exe
    Application Version: 1.0.0.7
    Application Timestamp: 4c92b5dd
    Fault Module Name: CivilizationV_DX11.exe
    Fault Module Version: 1.0.0.7
    Fault Module Timestamp: 4c92b5dd
    Exception Code: c0000005
    Exception Offset: 00406d4d
    OS Version: 6.0.6002.2.2.0.768.3
    Locale ID: 1033
    Additional Information 1: fd00
    Additional Information 2: ea6f5fe8924aaa756324d57f87834160
    Additional Information 3: fd00
    Additional Information 4: ea6f5fe8924aaa756324d57f87834160
     
  19. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    31,097
    Location:
    Germany / Netherlands
    Moderator Action: Threads merged.

    ...and back to bug reports...
     
  20. Atlas

    Atlas Titanus

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    733
    Location:
    Antiquity
    Reccommend changing the name of this thread, since this is happening to me with the game, NOT the demo
     

Share This Page