1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Demographics...

Discussion in 'Civ2 - General Discussions' started by Portuguese, Jan 22, 2003.

  1. Portuguese

    Portuguese Vassalising Spain

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,848
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal (duh)
    OK, these is what I call "normal":

    Indians/Mongols lead in GNP, but that's the usual error.

    But this is what intrigues me:

    Specially when compared with...

    I didn't change anything substancial, so...
    WHAT IS GOING ON?!?

    Nothing serious, but very curious I am...
     
  2. Duke of Marlbrough

    Duke of Marlbrough The Quiet Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,702
    Location:
    Southern CA, USA
    You did change your tax rate. That is the main factor when deciding GNP. It went from 0% (so 0 GNP) to 30%. It is also the main factor in deciding the 'Annual Income'.
     
  3. Portuguese

    Portuguese Vassalising Spain

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,848
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal (duh)
    I am almost sure it wasn't that...
    I only changed it when I change regime (not the case) and I'll not put at 0% at any given time!!!

    EDIT: Oh and what about the 7.2 kids and the so low military service... is that normal in 2?
    It keeps happening the times I play...
     
  4. Duke of Marlbrough

    Duke of Marlbrough The Quiet Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,702
    Location:
    Southern CA, USA
    In your screenshots, the status portion shows your tax rate being 0%, then the next shot it is 30% (between the second a third pictures).

    The 7.2 family size is normal when you have cities producing lots of extra food. And military service is related to how 'old' your units are. So, with 2 years of service, it's saying you have built new military units somewhat recently.
     
  5. Portuguese

    Portuguese Vassalising Spain

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,848
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal (duh)
    Oh-ow. Sorry. :D

    Thx. :goodjob:
    (That military service completelly tricked me :eek: I thought that meant I had few military and I found out that the case is completelly different!!!)
     
  6. Duke of Marlbrough

    Duke of Marlbrough The Quiet Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,702
    Location:
    Southern CA, USA
    Your power rating (supreme, strong, weak, etc) from the Foreign Affairs screen (F3) is the thing that tells you if you have a larger army than the others.
     
  7. TimTheEnchanter

    TimTheEnchanter I...am...an Enchanter!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,985
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    I thought the power rating was based on your relative position on the Powergraph, which Andu told us is based on citizens, techs and gold, not military units. I've had a pretty high power rating in some OCC games where I had almost no military at all.

    many minor edits
     
  8. Duke of Marlbrough

    Duke of Marlbrough The Quiet Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,702
    Location:
    Southern CA, USA
    Hmmm, yes, you're right, but then what was I trying to think of then....? The number of spears the other leader has when you meet with them?

    All my stuff is from memory, so it isn't too clear sometimes. ;)
     
  9. ElephantU

    ElephantU Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,272
    Location:
    Phila PA
    The number of Spears/Arrows/Rifles/Rockets is directly representative of the Power Rating (0=Pathetic, 6=Supreme), which is a combination of citizens, tech, and gold. Military units are only represented in the Demographics under Military Service. Someone at Apolyton.Net documented that whole page a year or two ago; I do not have the link but search over there in the Strategy Forum under Demographics.
     
  10. Duke of Marlbrough

    Duke of Marlbrough The Quiet Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,702
    Location:
    Southern CA, USA
    Ah, I think I know what I meant to say....

    Your power rating (supreme, strong, weak, etc) from the Foreign Affairs screen (F3) is the thing that tells you if you have a larger civ than the others.

    I hadn't meant to focus on the army aspect in that.... (I guess that's what I get fro trying to post from work, huh?)

    From what I remember, there is no real way to know if you have a larger army than another Civ.
     
  11. Duke of Marlbrough

    Duke of Marlbrough The Quiet Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,702
    Location:
    Southern CA, USA
    Ah, here's info on Demographics.

    Military Service is related to the umber of military units, but is also dependant on the other Civ's population, so you would have to know their population and military service level and then you can get an idea of how many units they have.

    Yep, something I've never used.... :)
     
  12. ElephantU

    ElephantU Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,272
    Location:
    Phila PA
    That's the one I was looking for. I think you can get the population from another of the stats and do some math to come up with the number of military units, but that does not tell you what kinds or how advanced they are. That's the job of Spies, anyway...
     
  13. Radyserb

    Radyserb Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Bautzen/Budyšin
    I don't know where to post else... so...

    Formula for Disease:
    50 * (citizens+1) / (citizens1 + 2*citizens2 + 3*citizens3 + citizens + 1)

    citizens1 = all citizens in cities with just one of the improvements aqueduct, sewer system OR granary
    citizens2 = all citizens in cities with just two of the improvements aqueduct, sewer system, granary
    citizens3 = all citizens in cities with all three improvements aqueduct, sewer system AND granary

    Pyramids counts ("just") as granary in all cities here too.

    Possessing Medicine halves the value of disease.

    Possessing the wonder "Cure for Cancer" halves the value of disease again.

    I wrote my result here too: http://www.civ-wiki.de/wiki/Demographie_(Civ2)#Krankheit

    It just took me one week to calculate it :crazyeye:
     
  14. Blasph23

    Blasph23 Terraformation Junkie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland
    You're a master necromancer, you should probably play an RPG game :D
    11 years...

    Still I have to say that the demographics window often leaves me confused despite reading the explanation of how it's calculated multiple times.
     
  15. Solkatten

    Solkatten Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Sweden
    On the subject of Demographics, the population seems to freeze at 320 millions and if you keep growing it eventually starts over (maybe at 640?). I guess there is no patch that fixes this but it bugs me since I sometime go for "largest emipre ever" as my goal rather than exterminate everyone or get the spaceship.

    Maybe I should actually try to get into the Civ3/4 I got laying around?







    Nah.
     
  16. Radyserb

    Radyserb Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Bautzen/Budyšin
  17. Solkatten

    Solkatten Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Sweden
    Thanks, I will.

    Do you know if the labels.txt, game.txt and rules.txt files are very different from the originals? I'm asking because when I younger and more energetic I translated the game to Swedish and added a few units and now I'm so used to it I think it would be hard to go back to English and the standard unit set.
     

Share This Page