1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Diagnosing Crashes

Discussion in 'Civ4 - BTS Unaltered Gameplay (BUG, BAT and BULL)' started by 045, Jun 16, 2016.

  1. 045

    045 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Satira
    Hello, I hope I'm posting in the right area.

    I have been modding BTS using the fabulous BUG mod as a base and attempting to give each civilization a unique unit art style. The game works without fault up until about turn 1050 or so when I get a crash.

    The crash makes me think it's a missing art define because it doesn't occur every time and usually occurs when switching to world builder. At first I thought it might be a missing Great person art define because it wouldn't always happen on the same turn when I reload, but I have combed my XML for any missing art defines, no luck.

    I have also, using world builder on turn 0, added every unit for each civilization, and added each tech by era to check the different art defines when applicable. I cannot reproduce the error.

    I've even downloaded the artdefinechecker utility and according to it my mod has no missing art defines.

    Is it possible that the increased number of unit art styles and/or unit art defines is causing this crash?

    I have only tested this in singleplayer so far but am making it to play with two others. Hopefully my ambition does not outstrip my abilities.

    If anyone has any ideas that I can try, or any more info I should include, please share. I am not trained in computer sciences so feel free to dumb talk, I probably won't notice ;)

    Thanks for your time everyone.
     
  2. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    8,884
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    The game can crash for like this for memory issues (ie map too big for your ram). Try a smaller map. I had a game crash when my army count crossed a critical limit.
     
  3. 045

    045 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Satira
    Thanks, I'll try a smaller game. Would this be the game has issues with such large maps? I suppose it's possible my computer can't handle it but it surpasses all the system requirements. I'm assuming since this is a mod that it will be more demanding than the base game, right?
     
  4. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    8,884
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    yep ... BAT is much more demanding.
     
  5. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Smarticus Pantsidae

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,386
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    045, have you added any buildings to your mod?
     
  6. 045

    045 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Satira
    Yes, a civ unique barracks (ikhanda art), a civ unique airport (standard art), and a solar and fusion plant (both using nuclear fission plant art). These were all in the previous iteration of my mod and never caused any crashes. Do you think they may contribute in some way?
     
  7. SaibotLieh

    SaibotLieh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,425
  8. 045

    045 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Satira
    Thank you everyone for the suggestions. Though none have worked, I remain optimistic I'll figure it out sooner or later. If anyone has any other ideas I could try I would welcome the input.

    :cheers:
     
  9. 045

    045 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Satira
    SaibotLieh, I think you win the prize for figuring it out. Missing button art seems to have been the cause of the crash. Thanks for the idea.
     
  10. SaibotLieh

    SaibotLieh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,425
    No problem, glad to hear that you got it working. :)
     
  11. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Smarticus Pantsidae

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,386
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A

Share This Page