Did this really happen? HRE adding Germany

CarpeDiem

Warlord
Joined
Jul 3, 2006
Messages
254
i am playing a 11 civ map and i had one continent shared with England, i took England off the continent but during this HRE built a few cities on my continent....few years past and it was announced Bismark would be looking after the cities...however Bismark doesn't have an original city and now makes 12 civs?!!?!?!

i never knew this is possible?:king:
 

Scaramanga

Brickhead
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
2,215
Location
Canada
They're called colonies. Grant independence to two or more cities on a different continent and voila!
 

Jormungandr

Chieftain
Joined
Aug 1, 2007
Messages
70
Yeah, sometimes colonies line up nicely like that. I got America as a colony once while playing as England, and the Romans got the Byzantines shortly after in the same game.
 

nemt

Chieftain
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
88
I got the Romans while playing as the Holy Romans.


and England got America


I don't think it's coincidental, I think there are "preferred" colonial leaders for each civ.
 

Mesix

The Allfather
Joined
Mar 17, 2006
Messages
4,410
Location
Asgard
I have yet to try out the colony feature. In a game awhile back I wanted to but culdn't figure out how. Then I read up on it and understand that you have to grant the cities independence in the domestic screen. Maybe I'll give it a try in a game soon.
 

Jimdigriz

Prince
Joined
May 7, 2006
Messages
361
Location
Wales, UK
i am playing a 11 civ map and i had one continent shared with England, i took England off the continent but during this HRE built a few cities on my continent....few years past and it was announced Bismark would be looking after the cities...however Bismark doesn't have an original city and now makes 12 civs?!!?!?!

i never knew this is possible?:king:

As the other posts said this is deliberate - In my current game HRE created three new vassals when I attacked them, first one was Bismark. Second was Ragnar.
 

jkp1187

Unindicted Co-Conspirator
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
2,496
Location
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
If you're really curious, check out this file:

CIV4CivilizationInfos.xml

It is located in the path: C:\Program Files\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Beyond the Sword\Assets\XML\Civilizations

The <DerivativeCiv> tag defines which civ will initially be "spawned" when a colony is created. (If NONE, it is random, and any colony after the second will also be random.)
 

JKWSN

Enlightened Despot
Joined
Sep 9, 2007
Messages
68
I still don't really get the point of creating colonies. My economy can normally handle the time span from Astronomy to Communism on the tech tree.

Is it possible to form a colony of cruddy 1 land-square cities?
 

nemt

Chieftain
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
88
I still don't really get the point of creating colonies. My economy can normally handle the time span from Astronomy to Communism on the tech tree.

Is it possible to form a colony of cruddy 1 land-square cities?

I think they just need to be located on the same continent, it doesn't matter if they're contiguous. Your cruddy colony will probably end up dragging you into a war, though.
 

Scaramanga

Brickhead
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
2,215
Location
Canada
I still don't really get the point of creating colonies. My economy can normally handle the time span from Astronomy to Communism on the tech tree.

Is it possible to form a colony of cruddy 1 land-square cities?

You need at least two cities on a continent to form a colony I believe. After that, however, if there are any cities on one square land masses nearby you can choose to "liberate" them to the colony you just created.
 

Menzies

Menzies
Joined
Apr 27, 2007
Messages
1,898
Location
Australia
I played a terra map once... Built up a massive empire over in the new world. I was getting sick of the paying for those cities and decided to screw communism and make then a colony so I could use environmentalism...

I founded the USA, and they somewhat were the worst load of crap... I gave birth to a ****** civ... If I were a Nazi I would have actually gone over there and killed the incompetent moron. Then after keeping an eye on them for about 35 turns I noticed that everyone had great relations with him. I check and... The bastard [born without parents being married] had been giving my techs away to the other losers in the game. Naturally I did go Nazi on his ass [donkey] and razed the new world. Then went on to win a culture victory with only one turn until I won the spacerace as the bloody Spanish were raping the south of my empire. The moral of the story being I am culturally superior, technologically superior... and superior to the world.

PS: The Spanish were about 2 turns from getting near one of my 3 culture cities. Bastards!!!
 
Top Bottom