Diety - Avoiding One-Shot Deaths and Getting More Science

Rockafellar

Chieftain
I'm just getting into Diety so I have to pay more attention to mechanics because I'm getting owned when out-teched. I play for the domination win. I got far with Germany but am now trying out Aztecs for the first time because it looks like easy-mode with the free builders and then using them for districts.

Early in the game I was taking Chinese cities with Aztec archers. I could have swore I took the capital down when it's city defense was 36. But then i went to other cities with defenses of 33 and they started one-shotting my archers.

Is there a general thing I can look at to realize when a city will one-shot my archers or other units? Right now i'm looking at a city Handan which I know can one-shot my archers. Here are some stats when I hover the mouse over it for an attack by my archer:

Handan: 26 Base Strength (Sword icon), 37 Combined Strength (sword icon) (with all bonuses), Garrison Health 200/200, Fortification health 50/50. It shows a sword next to this combined strength so does that mean it is doing melee damage on me?

Archer: 25 Base Strength (Sword), 10 Combined Strength (Ranged Icon) (with all negatives vs city), 15 Melee Strength (Sword icon)

So how can I look at these numbers to realize I'll be one-shotted? Is it because Handan's Combined Strength is 3x the Archers Combined Strength?

Also, how do I look at it when avoiding one-shots by enemy units as well?

------
Science
On a different note, I'm finding it really difficult to avoid being outteched by civs especially those far away from me (Large map, Marathon time) that I can't poke at to stifle their progress. I find I have to find maps with mountain ranges and get adjacency bonuses with +3 to +5 to even stand a chance. Is this normal? Then obviously I hit the right civics to boost this, etc.

Most of the time lately there are no alive science city states even on the map to help.