DIPLOGAME FAQ AND REFERENCE MANUAL

ver 2.0

by CapTVK and OzzyKP

1. Foreword
1.1 Note on version 2.0
2. Diplogames
2.1 What are diplogames?
2.2 How long does a diplogame take?
2.3 Do I really need 7 players to play a diplogame?
2.4 Can players be replaced or join in later?
2.5 What's the point of playing such a game?
2.6 I'm a Newbie, or suck at Civ, can I still play a Diplogame?
2.7 How should I start?
3. Diplogame History
4. Settings
4.1 Maps
4.2 Special Rules
4.3 GeoPolitics
4.4 Colonization
4.5 Fantasy or Historical?
5. Stories
5.1 Stories as propaganda
5.2 Interwoven story lines
5.3 Visual Media
5.4 Statistics
5.5 Official communications between leaders
5.6 Using History and Literature to build a diplo story line
5.7 More on Characters
5.8 Foreshadow or Keep Secrets?
5.9 Link between game world and story world
5.10 Being the Bad Guy
6. Game Play
6.1 Balance of Power
6.1.1 Weak players
6.1.2 Strong players
6.2 War Etiquette
6.2.1 Wars of annihilation
6.2.2 Justification
6.2.3 Measured war
6.3 Elections
6.4 Land Treaties
6.5 Economic Ideas
6.5.1 Investment & Loans
6.5.2 Tolls
6.5.3 Tariffs
6.6 There can be only 1 top player
6.7 Other In-Game Goals
6.8 AI & Subs
7. Technical Innovation
7.1 Canals
7.1.1 Engineer opened canals
7.1.2 Other options
7.2 Game Ending
7.2.1 Alien Invasion Ending
7.2.2 Other Ending Options
7.3 Civ specific units
7.4 Natives
7.5 Custom Wonders
7.6 Modpack
7.7 Ship Movement Increases
7.8 Flags, Names, Titles
8. Great Library
9. Diplogames

1.Foreword
This faq is intended as a reference for playing diplogames or large scale multiplayer games. Subjects discussed in this thread will include: defining diplogames, rules, stories, game play, and technical innovation. Also a list of past and current diplogames will be included.