1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Disable the starting/loading speech ?

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by ddd123, Feb 9, 2018.

  1. ddd123

    ddd123 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    372
    Is there a way to do that?
     
  2. Dark_Jedi06

    Dark_Jedi06 "Deus ex Machina."

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,325
    Gender:
    Male
    Nope, you must listen to Sean Bean each and every time. I suggest turning down the volume if it bothers you that much.

    The only thing you can disable is the opening cinematic.
     
  3. ddd123

    ddd123 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    372
    What bothers me is time,I can't stand waiting 1 min every time.
     
  4. TomKQT

    TomKQT Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    373
    I set the audio to be off if the game is not in focus and I always go somewhere else during loading (read something on the internet, see few seconds of a video on YouTube etc.). This way I'm not wasting time and I'm not hearing the speech again and again. After a while you get used to the typical loading times and you know when you should go back to the game.
     
  5. shyPiano

    shyPiano Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Messages:
    304
    If your problem is time, then there's not much you can do outside of upgrading your PC or picking smaller maps and less players and city-states. During that time the game is generating the map, placing everyone's starting units, and loading graphics and whatnot. With or without the narration, you'd have to wait essentially the same amount of time.
     
    Pietato likes this.
  6. SharTeel

    SharTeel Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    I just tab out while the game loads :D
     
  7. Xur

    Xur Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    287
    There’s a lua file where you can set true to false... super easy to mod out. Cant remember the filename, but its something load’ish...
     
  8. Ever Adrift

    Ever Adrift Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    I always Alt-Tab out of the game and either mess with work (I teach one university course and am writing my dissertation so I have a lot of boring, quiet alone time at home) or emails or surf the forums while I wait...

    Of course, I have a terrible habit of restarting 5 - 10 times before I am happy with my initial location... :)
     

Share This Page