disabling the ESRB notice?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by funkyj, Sep 22, 2010.

  1. funkyj

    funkyj Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Has anyone figured out how to do this?

    I'm in my 40s and don't need to be warned that Civ is hazardous to my (mental) health ;)

    Also, an option for skipping the intro movie would be nice.
     
  2. comatosedragon

    comatosedragon Emperor

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,160
    Location:
    Rockingham VA {616}
    Both of these are excellent suggestions, and the first thing that needs to be fixed (along with having to chose Dx9/Dx11 every time at startup).
     
  3. funkyj

    funkyj Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Yeah, given the buggy nature of a newly released game, features that allow us to restart quickly are important at the beginning.

    Similarly, I wish all programs (but especially games) would include a single "push button" solution for collecting bug report information. I.e. they could collect data on your computer's HW, driver versions, other SW versions and optionally package up the most recent save file and any debug logs, core dumps et cetera.

    I understand it is inevitable that new games have lots of bugs (especially given the variety of graphics cards that must be supported). I just wish game companies would do more to help us help them debug these issues.
     
  4. TeddyBearsDoLie

    TeddyBearsDoLie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    The game is loading while the intro movie is playing, which is why you have to wait a bit to skip it.
     
  5. Brawndo

    Brawndo Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    What I want to know is where is the "Drug Reference" in the game?
     
  6. PinkRose

    PinkRose Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    The Wine
     
  7. Bill Bisco

    Bill Bisco Callous Calling

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    590
    Yes please get rid of the ESRB Notice, or maybe have a game option to remove the ESRB notice from startup or something. It's very silly and annoying to click that every time on top of all the other clicks that Steam gives us.
     
  8. Rebel44

    Rebel44 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    I agree, give us option to get rid of ESRB notice.
     
  9. JDexter

    JDexter Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    565
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    You can simply edit your .ini configuration file (found in the ...\My Games\Civilization 5 folder, or something like that) and change the entry
    skip intro movie = 0 to 1

    Sorry, I can't look up the correct names at work, but I hope you can find it. It's also posted somewhere else in this forum. A search might help you. ;)

    And I really hate the Direct X question (after I ALREADY picked to play non-D9-civ in Steam) and all the ESBR and mod-download warning crap.
     
  10. Maniacal

    Maniacal the green Napoleon

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    18,778
    Location:
    British Columbia, Canada
    I'll never understand why some games have unskippable intro movies, I'd rather watch the load screen.
     
  11. Lord Tirian

    Lord Tirian Erratic Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,724
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    Yes. We *really* need to get a way to get rid of these nag screens.

    Especially, if you're planning to *mod* the game, because then, restarting several times and fiddling around on the mod screen a lot will most probably become a necessity. Getting pointless pop-ups everytime is... suboptimal.

    Cheers, LT.
     
  12. bluesatin

    bluesatin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Since this was the first result I found in Google, I feel like it's my duty to explain how to remove the ESRB notice at the start and the one that appears when you click mods.

    Main ESRB Notice
    1. Head over to your Civilization V folder
    2. Go into: <Your Civilization V folder>/assets/UI/FrontEnd/
    3. Find the file: FrontEnd.lua
    4. Create a backup of this file in case anything goes wrong
    5. Open the original .lua file up in notepad
    6. Remove the 3 lines:
      Code:
      if( not UI:HasShownLegal() ) then
          UIManager:QueuePopup( Controls.LegalScreen, PopupPriority.LegalScreen );
      end
      
    7. Save and exit
    8. ???
    9. Profit!
    Mods ESRB Notice
    1. Head over to your Civilization V folder
    2. Go into: <Your Civilization V folder>/assets/UI/FrontEnd/
    3. Find the file: MainMenu.lua
    4. Create a backup of this file in case anything goes wrong
    5. Open the original .lua file up in notepad
    6. Find this line:
      Code:
      UIManager:QueuePopup( Controls.ModsEULAScreen, PopupPriority.ModsEULAScreen );
      
    7. Replace it with this line:
      Code:
      UIManager:QueuePopup( Controls.ModsMenu, PopupPriority.ModsMenu );
      
    8. Save and exit

    9. Find the file: MainMenu.xml
    10. Create a backup of this file in case anything goes wrong
    11. Open the original .xml file up in notepad
    12. Find this line:
      Code:
      <LuaContext FileName="Assets/UI/FrontEnd/Modding/EULA" ID="ModsEULAScreen" Hidden="1" /> 
      
    13. Replace it with this line:
      Code:
      <LuaContext FileName="Assets/UI/FrontEnd/Modding/ModsMenu" ID="ModsMenu" Hidden="1" />
      
    14. Save and exit
    15. ???
    16. Profit!

    You may have to do this every time a patch comes out, as it may overwrite the edited version you created.
     
  13. Furiey

    Furiey No Longer Just Lurking

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    6,345
    Location:
    Bedfordshire UK
    Thanks, I will have to try that.
    Having to press ok to that notice everytime just get so tiresome.
     

Share This Page