1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

District confusion

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by MALCIV6, Aug 20, 2016.

  1. MALCIV6

    MALCIV6 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Manchester
    I know each city can have a maximum of 12 districts, with a city having more available to use as it grows. With farms, mining etc not being classed as a 'Production District', I am confused as to what areas benefit a city whilst the border and city grows.

    A city starts off with 6 surrounding hexagonal areas. When the city/culture grows this expands however what improvements are still captured by the city? Is it just 12 hexagonal/districts or is it 12 hexagonal/districts AND any farms/mines etc captured within it's borders?

    Therefore leading on from this, is it best, in pure terms of optimising space whilst building cities, to build them 4 hexagonals away from one another? Therefore as they each start off with 6, each city will double their district opportunities and therefore it would make sense. The only way it would not is if farms/mines are captures in an additional 6 hexagonal areas per city for which districts cannot be built.

    Can someone who understands this please clarify this for me! I have tried to explain it as best as I could but I am simply wondering what areas benefit a city before it just becomes a cultural border which goes beyond what a city can benefit from.
     
  2. King Jason

    King Jason Fleece-bearer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,027
    I think your main issue is that you seem to be under the impression that Districts and Hexagonal Tiles are the same thing. Districts go on tiles - just like tile improvements did in civ5.

    The maximum workable hex territory of a city is still 36, just like in civ5.
     
  3. SupremacyKing2

    SupremacyKing2 Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,458
    Location:
    Indiana
    12 is the total number of districts in the game. I don't think a single city will have all 12.

    Districts have to be built on a tiles and they contain the buildings that you build from your city's build queue. So for example, in civ5, you would build a library and it would be in your city center. In civ6, you first have to build a science district, called a campus, on a particular tile and then when you build a library, it will show up in your science district. Districts will gain adjacency bonuses so they will produce more if they are built next to certain terrain like mountains or other districts.
     
  4. Doviello

    Doviello Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    288
    Location:
    Brazil
    I was wondering, do you work districts with citizens, like a normal tile, or are districts more like an expansion of your city tile, they work themselves?
     
  5. King Jason

    King Jason Fleece-bearer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,027
    Districts aren't necessarily worked. They provide their bonus and building yields without the need for a citizen. Constructing a building in the district adds a specialist slot to the tile so you can assign citizens to work the district much like you can specialists to work buildings in previous games.

    Also the base yield (food, etc) of the tile that the district is on goes away when it's constructed.
     
  6. MALCIV6

    MALCIV6 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Manchester
    Thanks for the replies it makes much more sense now.

    However I thought each City will be able to build 12 districts, providing it grows to a sufficient size?

    Or is it 12 districts per Civilisation? 1 per City for example?
     
  7. King Jason

    King Jason Fleece-bearer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,027
    Typically, they're limited by pop so unless you're expecting to have pop 36+ cities everywhere, you aren't going to have every district in all of your cities.

    On average you'll probably have about half.
     
  8. MALCIV6

    MALCIV6 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ok makes sense.. So you get a chance to build a district every time your City grows by a population of 3?

    So at 36 and above you have the option to build all 12 districts?
     
  9. Deggial

    Deggial Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,337
    Location:
    Germany
    Yes. Unless you play as Germany, which will be able to have one district more than all other civs at a given population size.
     
  10. stealth_nsk

    stealth_nsk Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,512
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    We don't have full info about districts. For example:
    - If Neighborhood is a district (which is likely based on the icon on leaked tech tree), it could be built multiple time in one city. Exact rules aren't clear.
    - Even if you can have that much districts, it's unclear how you're going to feed the population and provide housing.

    Looks like quite wrong goal to me :)
     
  11. Polobo

    Polobo Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,537
    Founded cities start with all 6 adjacent tiles claimed. From then on every time they expand (naturally through culture or via purchase) they claim one additional tile. You can only build improvements on tiles that are claimed.

    You can purchase any tile adjacent to a claimed tile that is less than 4 tiles from the city. Natural growth can (probably) claim further out but typically only does so if no other options exist or there is an unclaimed resource.
     

Share This Page