1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

DJSHenninger's Nepal for VP

Discussion in 'Mods Repository' started by jarcast2, Apr 2, 2019.

  1. jarcast2

    jarcast2 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    Gallia Belgica
    This is the thread where to discuss the balance of the mod.
    Unfortunately, I don't have much time for playtesting, I just did the bare minimum to check that everything works, so I have to rely mostly on your feedbacks for the fine-tuning.

    Nepal

    DOWNLOAD

    (last update: 27 October 2019)​


    Features:
    • Mod is playable standalone with or without Vox Populi
    • XML code converted to SQL
    • Updated mod support (JFDLC, YnAEMP v25, Additional Achievements)
    • Support for More Unique component for VP mod
    Notes:
    The 3rd and 4th unique components automatically activate when you enable the More unique components for VP mod.

    Spoiler Pictures :






     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2019
    IcyAngel and Hinin like this.
  2. Asterix Rage

    Asterix Rage Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,486
    And why not to release this new civ for VP with icons from 'extraPromo_Atlas' available with VP since (2-17)

    extrapromoatlas.png
     
  3. jarcast2

    jarcast2 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    Gallia Belgica
    Your promotion icons look very nice but they feature mostly series of icons good for when you have multple promotions being one the upgrade of the other and my mod has only one promotion (the Ghurka one) so I don't see the need to take just "one spot" when other modders could use the whole series of upgrades for their needs.
     
  4. Asterix Rage

    Asterix Rage Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,486
    That's fine. I respect all your choices to pick or not in 'extra Promo Atlas'
    Just wanted to make sure you are aware that this material is part of VP and for evaluation, I just wanted to hear about from mod builders like you.
    Thx
     
  5. pineappledan

    pineappledan Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    5,884
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Actually, if you made a Kukri promotion icon, I would totally use it in my Macedon mod too. A Kopis or Falcata is basically the same shape, so it can pull double-duty

    EDIT: If you made a Khopesh icon, That's similar enough to a Shotel's shape to pull double-duty as well. In addition to its obvious uses for the Khopesh and Shotelai units in 4UC, I would love to have that icon for Sumer's Vulture.

    Also, if you did a Hawaiian Fish hook design for the Kapi Kuia'lua promotion for the Hawaiian Koa, it's also a perfect design for the Inuit UU's promotion, and would be an okay-looking design for the Tlingit's unique promotion as well
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2019
  6. Bhawb

    Bhawb Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2018
    Messages:
    500
    I tried playing it last night for a bit, but I forgot to turn on 4UC components and didn't realize how the Affluence "building" worked. I'll have to see how that works, it seems like it could cause issues later on with dummy buildings. Is it not possible to use the existing VP code for converting production to culture and gold, combining those two, and having it unlock at Agriculture? It seems like that would be far more stable.
     
  7. jarcast2

    jarcast2 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    Gallia Belgica
    Update for Nepal.
    Now no need anymore to switch 0/1 for the more unique components, they automatically load when the mod is active.
    Basically just replaced the related code with
    Code:
    WHERE [AND] EXISTS (SELECT * FROM Buildings WHERE Type = 'BUILDING_GERMANY_TEUTONIC_ORDER');
    Given that I put the MUCfVP as reference, I think it is enough and there's no need for a SQL trigger.

    Yep, it's possible.

    Code:
    INSERT INTO Processes
            (Type,                 Description,                                     Help,                             Strategy,                         TechPrereq,         IconAtlas,         PortraitIndex)
    VALUES    ('PROCESS_NEPAL',     'TXT_KEY_BUILDING_DJSH_NEPAL_AFFLUENCE_DUMMY',     'TXT_KEY_PROCESS_NEPAL_HELP',     'TXT_KEY_PROCESS_NEPAL_STRATEGY', 'TECH_AGRICULTURE', 'CIV_DJSH_NEPAL_ATLAS', 4);
    
    INSERT INTO Process_Flavors
            (ProcessType, FlavorType, Flavor)
    VALUES    ('PROCESS_NEPAL', 'FLAVOR_CULTURE', 5),
            ('PROCESS_NEPAL', 'FLAVOR_DIPLOMACY', 5),
            ('PROCESS_NEPAL', 'FLAVOR_GOLD',     5);
    
    INSERT INTO Process_ProductionYields
            (ProcessType, YieldType, Yield)
    VALUES    ('PROCESS_NEPAL', 'YIELD_CULTURE', 25),
            ('PROCESS_NEPAL', 'YIELD_GOLD', 25);
    But I don't know how to code so to restrict it to be Nepal only. :think:
    Will just a PlayerCanBuild lua function or the like do the thing?


    EDIT: Ok found it.

    Code:
    local iCiv = GameInfoTypes["CIVILIZATION_DJSH_NEPAL"]
    local processNepal = GameInfoTypes["PROCESS_NEPAL"]
    
    function NepalAffluenceProcess(iPlayer, iProcess)
        local pPlayer = Players[iPlayer]
        if iProcess == processNepal and pPlayer:GetCivilizationType() ~= iCiv then
            return false
        end
        return true
    end
    GameEvents.PlayerCanMaintain.Add(NepalAffluenceProcess)
    Does the culture process need the CBP dll to work? If no, then I can just outright delete the dummy and put the process instead.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2019
  8. HungryForFood

    HungryForFood Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    451
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Just a heads up, but the mod reference may not guarantee you get the load order you want. This is particularly an issue with 4UC, so I had to use SQL triggers on top of what you have here.

    I suspect it's because my mods and 4UC have many references, or perhaps it's related to both mods setting VP as a dependency instead of just a reference.
     
  9. Asterix Rage

    Asterix Rage Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,486
    VP(7-17) Changelog:

    Units:
    Adjusted CS for infantry line (old/new)
    Fusilier (35/38)

    Update needed because Ghurka


    EDIT:
    My mistake.
    Code:
    'UNIT_JAR_GHURKA',    Class, CombatClass, PrereqTech, Cost, Combat+3, ...
    
    FROM Units WHERE Type = 'UNIT_RIFLEMAN'
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2019
  10. a1nosweat

    a1nosweat Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Playing this Civ is refreshing change. It's probably OP - but it's a good training civ.

    Moving up difficulties seems mostly about what NOT to build - and here you can see the effect of each building.

    Playing a peaceful trad diplo game on King - and 3-400 gpt just means I can buy all I want whilst building diplomats.
     
  11. H0dgvikin

    H0dgvikin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    When I play this civ my puppet could not produce anything and is stuck at producing buildings for infinite turns. This makes sense according to the ability but is rather unfun if I intend to go war. Is it possible to let puppets produce buildings (after all, normal puppets already receive the malus to production) and only restrict the gold-investing-building to annexed cities?

    Also, just clarifying the UA to any future readers: it immediately rushes buildings and national wonders but not world wonders (25% production still works as normal)
     
  12. jarcast2

    jarcast2 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    Gallia Belgica
    Mod updated with puppet city fix: puppeted cities can produce building as normal. As to the annexed cities, the building production malus kicks in one turn after conquest or after annexing a former puppet city.
     
  13. maxf

    maxf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    59
    Gender:
    Male
    Hm, I don't understand how to make buildings. We cannot produce it, we cannot buy it (can only buy 50%), but how to make it??

    P.S. I found that the reason is in incompatibility with Israel mod )
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2019
  14. maxf

    maxf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    59
    Gender:
    Male
    P.P.S. I made DLC with Nepal, but it doesn't work properly in this mode: purchasing buildings with gold don't build them immediately, give only 50% as usual. But the gold cost correct: +50% to normal. In 'Mods' mode it works correct. Maybe you know why so?
     
  15. jarcast2

    jarcast2 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    Gallia Belgica
    That part of the UA is basically one lua function that tells the game to give the building to the city when the player invests in it. Such function is hooked to GameEvents.CityInvestedBuilding that was added by the CP dll, so it works only when Community Patch (1) is enabled.
    If it works in "mod mode" and not in "dlc mode" maybe something is up when you create the dlc.
    Probably the fact you put the pack in the dlc folder and not in the mod folder messes up the links and loading preferences of the mods (e.g. first Vox Populi then Nepal) so the function won't load correctly for missing references, but I never made a dlc so I may say bullsh*t. You should ask someone better versed than me in this sense.
     
  16. ridjack

    ridjack King

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2017
    Messages:
    684
    So it seems like the UA generates GPPs in the city in which you purchase the building, which makes sense... but also makes that particular aspect meaningless in non-capital cities most of the time.

    I'm not sure that needs to be changed, as Nepal seems like it's probably already OP as is, but thought I might mention it.

    I absolutely love the flavor of this civ, by the way. It's ambitious, creative and unique. To my mind, I've never seen anything similar. Not sure how much of it is your ideas and how much is just converting what already existed, but aside from balance, it absolutely gets an A+ from me.

    EDIT: Where will the culture from the Chitrakar show up? I just got my first one a few turns ago and have yet to see any culture show up anywhere. It only spent a single turn inside Danish territory, though, so I don't know if it just didn't have enough to 'register' so to speak, or if it isn't working.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2019
  17. ridjack

    ridjack King

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2017
    Messages:
    684
    Sadly, the Civ appears to be a bit buggy.

    • I have yet to notice any culture from the Chitrakar, which makes it just an objectively worse caravan.
    • The Rice Terraces seem almost entirely non-functional, aside from the base +1 food. No Great Writer points, no rice resource spawned, and no bonuses for mountain adjacency.
    • My first Chitrakar came and has been used without issue, but the second one is acting weird:
    Spoiler :



    Note that the picture shows two established trade routes, but only 1/2 being used. It was 2/2 as per normal right up until I sent the second one on its new route; the unit vanished. I'm still gaining the benefits of both routes at the moment, but only one unit exists.

    EDIT: Right after posting this, a Great Musician was born. This gave me my third Chitrakar; the same thing happened as before. Now I have three trade routes, 1 unit, and two TR slots.

    Spoiler :


    EDIT2: Four routes now.

    Spoiler :


    And I still have the ability to build a cargo ship if I so desire.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2019
  18. jarcast2

    jarcast2 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    Gallia Belgica
    Thanks for the report.
    I gave a quick check to the code of the chitrakar (that I didn't touch from the original author) and I can see where I have to fix.
    The culture from chitrakar is working but there is a typo so that the message on screen doesn't appear.
    As to the rice terrace the problem is just another typo that broke it.

    In the weekend I will try to fix it and upload a new version, probably also on steam workshop.
     
  19. jarcast2

    jarcast2 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    Gallia Belgica
    Update is now available.
    Rice terrace issue is solved, as it should be for the chitrakar bug but i had time only for a quick testing.
    I also tweaked the UA a little: now buildings cost 33% more instead of 50%.
     
  20. ridjack

    ridjack King

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2017
    Messages:
    684
    Trying these guys again; most of the original bugs seem fixed and I'm having quite a lot of fun with it!

    I did notice one quirk: capturing a city and choosing "Annex" means the city immediately gets a courthouse, since on Vox Populi annexing immediately causes it to be "Invested."

    EDIT: Also, the Ghurkas apparently can't pillage. :S
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2019

Share This Page