1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

DMI XV - Gorgeous Cathy (BULL Mod)

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Succession Games' started by ·Imhotep·, May 5, 2010.

  1. ·Imhotep·

    ·Imhotep· Legendary Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,056
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    Hi guys,

    the Legendary Builder™ is back! This time I just want to play a fun game, but we'll have a variant twist as in every game:

    • We must get at least 3 AI Civs to friendly
    • Once they have reached friendly status, we must declare war within 15 turns and can't sue for peace unless the AI offers it
    • We must at least pile up -15 for arrogant demands with 2 other Civs

    We'll play as Catherine of Russia of course, and hopefully we'll see plenty of Cossack action. Map will be Grid, a map used for MP Ironman games. Level will be Monarch, and we should win either by Conquest or Domination. I'm looking for 6 players, old vets of the DMI series will get a clinched spot. The use of the latest version of the BULL Mod is necessary to take part in this game.

    Imhotep
     
  2. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    9,037
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    Ok - sign me up for full on involvement (oh dear, what have I signed up for :crazyeye:). Re BULL ... do you want to give BAT a try or will that tax everyone's machine too much? As I understand it, EF is about to release an update ... should we wait for that? I'll try and get an ETA if you want that info.
     
  3. ·Imhotep·

    ·Imhotep· Legendary Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,056
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    Ok ruff, you're in :) . As for BAT I think my machine could handle it easily, but I don't want to kick anyone out because of hardware requirements. Let's decide once we have a full roster.
     
  4. Rex Tyrannus

    Rex Tyrannus 280lbs of gross stupidity

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,942
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC USA
    Ooh. Backstabalicious!

    Sign-up!
     
  5. Rex Tyrannus

    Rex Tyrannus 280lbs of gross stupidity

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,942
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC USA
    BTW, someone's going to have to help me understand the mod situation, as I'm too stupid. I have BUG and I have BUFFY. BULL and BAT are included in at least one of those, right? In either case, I have a brand new average computer. I'm pretty sure I could handle either.
     
  6. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    9,037
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
  7. Ozbenno

    Ozbenno Fly Fly Away Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    11,415
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Thanks for the invite Immy but I am currently a Civ free zone!

    I will lurk though.
     
  8. ·Imhotep·

    ·Imhotep· Legendary Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,056
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    Roster so far:

    • Imhotep
    • ruff
    • Rex
    • open
    • open
    • open
     
  9. pholkhero

    pholkhero Deviant Mind

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    5,645
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    does open mean i can sign up? i've never played a GS before...or is it an SG?

    :dunno:

    this is the dance dance revolution forums isn't it??
     
  10. omni_paul

    omni_paul Mr. Shambles

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    402
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia.
    How severe is this mod? Hi everyone, btw.

    If it's not too different to normal BTS then I reckon I could come in on this. If you'll have me ofc...
     
  11. Rex Tyrannus

    Rex Tyrannus 280lbs of gross stupidity

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,942
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC USA
    Nah. SG's a type of guitar. Angus Young plays one. Welcome to the board, Folk Hero.
     
  12. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    9,037
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    BAT ... if we use it ... is a mod that includes BUG and BULL. It is unaltered game play but choke full of additional civ-specific graphics. It weights in at 250mb.
     
  13. ·Imhotep·

    ·Imhotep· Legendary Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,056
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    We'll wait for the 6th spot until Sunday, because I'm not home until then anyway. I will start the game on Sunday regardless of a 6th player or not.

    Imhotep
     
  14. ·Imhotep·

    ·Imhotep· Legendary Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,056
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    BTW, if we all install BAT as CustomAssets mod using Ruff's excellent CustomAssests changer everyone could then switch to standard BULL if BAT proves too great a strain for his machine - I assume BAT adds just graphics to BULL and the rest (DLL, XML and Python) is identical.
     
  15. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    9,037
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    I am pretty sure that BAT doesn't work under customassets. I could be wrong. Where is LM when you need her?

    If you want to use BULL, it will not work under customassets (of that I am sure). Are you suggesting we over-write the v3.19 patch dll?

    oh - I am an auto skip for next week. Away for the week in bean town with no civ4 pc.
     
  16. ·Imhotep·

    ·Imhotep· Legendary Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,056
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    @ruff:

    I'm using BULL just like that - installed under CustomAssets. Of course I solely use the modified DLL then, but a friend in my clan has written a nice batch file for quickly renaming and thus switching the DLL files. I assumed the BULL DLL was built on 3.19 and had everything the original DLL has as well. At least I never encountered problems when playing with the modified DLL only.

    I'll download BAT this weekend and see what it's like, if the content is too good to not use it I'll consider it for the game.

    Imhotep
     
  17. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    9,037
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    I started to extended my customasset swapper to also swap in / out any associated dll but never finished that work. I did expand it to swap in / out a screenshot folder. Now I can keep my RB Adv screen shots separate from my pbem, from my pitboss, from my SGs.
     
  18. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Professional Killjoy Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7,210
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    Right here, Boss. :)

    I've never tried to use BAT under CA, but I don't see why it wouldn't work under the following conditions:

    1. You'd need to rename the original CA folder, and put BAT into it's own and use your changer.

    2. BAT normally installs as a mod, so you would need to manually move the BAT folders into their proper places in CA.

    3. BAT has it's own version of BUG and BULL, and the Sentry Actions, and Governor Build options are enabled, meaning the BULL DLL is different. Starting BAT with a different DLL might cause XML load errors, or errors showing up in game. You will need to use BAT's DLL.

    4. Modular loading will need to be disabled in BAT.ini if it is in CA, and this may prevent Varietas and Custom Citystyles from loading, as they are modular. Those folders might have to be merged into the standard xml folders.

    The operational xml and Python in BAT is the same as what is contained in normal BUG. Any differences are purely due to the graphics enhancements, and to the Sentry Actions, etc.

    It might be an interesting experiment, but it might also be a lot of work. :(

    You would need to over write the standard DLL with BAT's DLL. BAT's DLL includes the latest patch.
     
  19. ·Imhotep·

    ·Imhotep· Legendary Builder

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,056
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    I took a look at BAT. I don't really like it, so it will be standard BUG. I'll start the game soon.
     
  20. omni_paul

    omni_paul Mr. Shambles

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    402
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia.
    Not having been on here for a while, this talk of BULLs, BATs and BUGs is all very confusing.

    Is it essential to run the game, or just aesthetic?

    If essential, will it change any of the standard game play? Ruff suggested not...

    Can someone provide a link to the one we're going to use?

    The questions, oh my!
     

Share This Page