1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Do civilizations know how to expand anymore?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Grapa, May 24, 2011.

  1. Grapa

    Grapa Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    114
    I don't know what the last patch did to the A.I, but now most civs don't even have an empire by the Renaissance period. It's 1400 in my game, and almost every civ has placed maybe 3-4 cities, MAX, on a LARGE map. What the hell? There's huge swaths of land open, and none of them both to expand at all. They just sit there, declaring war on each other. This never happened before the patch.

    Anybody else get the same problem? Hell, Persia hasn't even placed more than 2-3 cities in any of my games. This is annoying.
     
  2. BobDole

    BobDole American Leader in Civ VI

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    811
    They definitely expand. Some might stick to a few city (and some will almost always do that, like Polynesia or India), while other will expand like crazy (Russia comes to mind, they always spread like a plague).
     
  3. Grapa

    Grapa Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    114
    Funny how you mention Russia, since it's 470 AD right now in my game, and they have one city. :rolleyes:
     
  4. roguepro92

    roguepro92 Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    AI can't expand smart or tactically to save their life...but they can spread like plague due to no happiness cap at alllllllll or so it feels like
     
  5. Montov

    Montov King

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    707
    Yeah, less expanding is clearly happening in my games too.
    Persia seems to expand pretty well though, as well some other civs. But not many.

    But for this reason I add 1 or 2 more civs in the advanced setup, so there is less empty space and you don't have all the time of the world to place the cities where you want to.
     
  6. Polycrates

    Polycrates Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    I'm glad there's no longer the insane REXing of a couple of patches back, but this does seem like maybe slightly too much of a swing in the opposite direction. I had Inca limit themselves to one city surrounded by fantastic unclaimed terrain in my last game, and they're the last people who should be doing that. Great if it lets me put a couple of extra civs in the same size map, and an interesting change from the land rush, but not if it means that enemy civs are crippling themselves in the process.
     
  7. Agent Cooper

    Agent Cooper Lynch's Creation

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    773
    Location:
    Denmark
    I feel like the AI civs are still expanding pretty fast post-patch. But they usually set up a bunch of junk cities with no luxuries and sometimes just 1 food resource or something like it. It sucks so bad because if you war them and decide to raze a lot of these worthless junk cities, your diplomacy with everyone else could go down the toilet. That's the poor mechanics of diplomacy at work in Civ5.
     
  8. Carlx

    Carlx Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Depends what victory settings you have on. For a cultural victory its much easier to stick to a half dozen or so cities than expand out to 10 or 20. Because of the way it aggregates culture and the social policies tree. So some civs - particularly India which gains advantages from small numbers of cities with large pop - that are going for culture victory will not expand too much. Depends on the civ and the AIs focus. You can actually win conquest victories with only a few cities now anyway, it's just a bit harder to do. With Civ 4 it no longer became a race to put down 100 cities, this was considered just a really sad sort of urban sprawl always wins tactic, so they made population happiness link with number of cities and the rest is history. This could also be why if you are playing on easy levels, like prince, the computer will not be able to expand as fast as you because of crippling unhappiness. Playing on say monarch or above you'll notice you can't expand as fast as the AIs too often because its not possible to hook up enough luxuries quickly enough, where as the AIs just "cheat" so they get to expand faster.
     
  9. Carlx

    Carlx Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    There's a host of poorly thought out issues with Civ 5. I hate how the computer can afford to raise vast armies on harder difficulty settings and you are left with 5 or 6 units before your money all goes down the can. On CIV this was not a problem, on CiV with 1 upt it's a monumentally badly thought out idea. The computer cheats enough as it is without making it farm out vast armies in no time it can easilly support as part of it's retinue of cheating. Not averse to having it have advantages just even for relatively easy levels Monarchish it's conspicuous just how much the AI cheats its way out of trouble.
     
  10. Bezurn

    Bezurn Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    587
    I've noticed this too, its annoying.

    It seems that by making nearly every Civ go for a warrior rush at the start of the game, that most AI's only stick to 1-4 cities at most by around 1 AD. I personally like to get all of my cities down by at least 1000 AD, as it takes a very long time to get the infrastructure up to make the city productive. Any cities after that are often just to claim newly found strategic resources. I also think that more often than not civs either pick Tradition / Honor more often than Liberty and so this has an effect as well.

    But Tradition isn't the only problem. In a game I played as Rome, America had gone Liberty and was my only neighbor to the west. I only took one city site from them, which was 4 tiles from my capitol, so it was bound to happen. Then I started expanding into Montezuma's land (who only built 2 cities and got gang DOWed the entire game by all civs on the continent.

    Eventually America mounted their inevitable war, which I won after some back and forth and took only one city. There was a great city location south of them, with 3 cattle, 3 gold, river and hills. Going there would give them more resources to trade around as well as make a lot of money and science for them. I was too busy expanding into my back country to try and snatch it from them. I waited and waited, founding about 6 more cities behind my front. Then by the time I had cannons the site still wasn't claimed so I munched it up.

    In that game the only AI that 'played to win' was Persia, who founded a decent number of cities. I think the emphasis on going tall and culturally is too pronounced in this game and often ends up leading to some very barren land until the Industrial Era or later. City sites, especially those that claim luxuries should all picked up mostly by the late Ren. era (unless its Ghandi of course).
     
  11. General Tso

    General Tso Panzer General

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,547
    Location:
    U. S. of A.
    I have only played one game since the patch, but I noticed the same thing. The AI isn't expanding as well as it did in the past. Late game, one AI civ has a single city and the other AI civs had unused land around the edge of their civs.
     
  12. radiohodet

    radiohodet Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Which difficulty level do you play on? In my first game on Immortal post patch, Greece had 5 cities before my beelined NC was finished, and there was no more land left for me....

    I also didn't notice any difference from pre patch in my Emperor game. I don't think I've ever seen a Civ not expand like crazy. (Except on Archipelago map 1000 patches ago) This was also the case in Civ 4 though.
     
  13. CivCube

    CivCube Feelin' defiant.

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,816
    By the time I discovered the other continent by the 1600s in my last game, Egypt of all civs was conquering Mongolia. I think they had close to ten cities when they were done.
     
  14. MadDjinn

    MadDjinn Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,554
    the 'flavour' of the AI will determine how often, or when, the AI expands. (war counts as 'expansion' if it's done correctly)

    I see more 2-3 city empires, but there'll still be a few that want to spam settlers until every last hex of the map is covered.
     
  15. Carlx

    Carlx Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Exactly I think this is more of a difficulty issue than a post patch issue.
     
  16. General Tso

    General Tso Panzer General

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,547
    Location:
    U. S. of A.
    Maybe I just happened to have to right (or wrong depending on how you look at it) combination of AI players. I'll have to try another game.
     
  17. TPQ

    TPQ Cogito Ergo Civ

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    UK
    I'm inclined to agree that AI expansion does seem to be a little less aggressive. It's not changed much though, as far as I can tell. Raging barbs tend to trim AI expansion a bit usually, so if the AI aren't expanding enough, it might be an idea to turn barbs off as some AIs seem to struggle to recover after barbs capture their settlers/workers.
     
  18. Samuil

    Samuil Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Macedonia
    Seconded...
    Russia had 4 cities when I managed to get my second on King... weird
     
  19. Save_Ferris

    Save_Ferris Admiring Myself

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,138
    Location:
    Straight Outa Ponyville
    The AI seem to have a dire longing to hold onto their precious happiness, even if it's at 50.
     
  20. elprofesor

    elprofesor Pluri-editing poster

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    773
    Location:
    (hint: I can type "Ñ")
    It depends on the flavour of the civ, and the roll at the beginning of the game. I've seen Ramkamhaeng do a OCC until I launched the Spaceship. And I've seen Harald Bluetooth settle a total of 20 cities in my direction while puppeteering another five from Ramesses in the other.
    The latter had settled 9 cities before getting invaded, which was a remarkable high score for him, considering he usually stays at 3.
    But yeah, difficulty is the real parameter, and the happiness boost that goes with it.
     

Share This Page