1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Do I settle my cities too far apart?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Strategy & Tips' started by Kitese, Dec 22, 2010.

  1. Kitese

    Kitese Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    I had an interesting map today where I was alone on an island with a city state:
    Screenshot

    However as I usually do I've settled with large gaps of tiles between my cities that I will probably not work. I think I could get more out of them if I had several small cities closer together but for some reason I'm obsessed with leaving large gaps. Would someone be kind enough to mark/post where they would place cities and why? Thanks!
     
  2. DaveMcW

    DaveMcW Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    6,489
    The important thing is to claim all the strategic/luxury resources.

    The 4th and 5th gems aren't that useful with no trading partners, but you do want a city next to each eventually.

    Also check out the southern island, there must be something good down there.
     
  3. TheMeInTeam

    TheMeInTeam Top Logic

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    25,716
    The tricky part comes when the land is going to be contested by settlers from other civs, but you want that national college ASAP...
     
  4. Sneaks

    Sneaks Brooklyn Bum

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,877
    Location:
    NYC
    Considering your first two cities got you horses and iron respectively, settling like that is fine, especially if you do not play an ICS style.
     
  5. grandad1982

    grandad1982 Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,552
    I think that that spacing is ok. Esspecially as you can get another one or two cities in (is there fish out of shot near the S gems?

    I'd strongly consider taking out Budapest as well. Or maybe wait a bit to see if any other CS wants it taken out.

    What our you building in your capital? Is it the Hagia Sophia? If it is you want to get you Uni in you capital up ASAP and run the sci spec to so that the Hammer investment pays for itself quickly.
     
  6. elthrasher

    elthrasher Revcaster

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    712
    Depends on your strategy and your difficulty level. If you're playing builder-style on a high difficulty, I think you'll have a lot of trouble going this way. If you plan to use that iron to get your UU ships (whatever they're called) and go attack somebody, then this is fine.

    In any case, starting out like this is completely fine because you can fill in the spaces later if needed. Beware, though, because the AI definitely will attempt to settle those empty spots on your island sooner or later. If you want to play peacefully, that will be extremely annoying. Otherwise, free city!
     
  7. diz2

    diz2 Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    I would have at least 4 more cities on that island.

    Pretty much one in every direction from london. S, W, N, E. (Not directly, mind you.)

    My rule of thumb, (for non-ICS) is probably 3 tiles is a good distance in valuable areas, and then maybe space a little more are skipping over tundra, snow grasslands, etc. Hills and forests are valuable areas, for production, but cities placed in them will not grow large pops so they can be placed more closely. Add in the fact you can pick up a gem to work in 3 of those 4 directions, and you should be able to get some nice cities going. When they start growing enough pop to butt against each other more, you can specialize the cities. Let one work all the hills it can and focus on production, and have another run specialistss and focus on science or gold.

    Now, maybe if you're going for a culture victory that does not hold up...
     
  8. aguds

    aguds Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Norway
    That Island looks like something I could have done. I enjoy fewer, big cities in my Empires and never go ICS so I don't know what is 'better'.
     
  9. Kerosene31

    Kerosene31 Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    402
    The AI will definitely try to settle any open areas with resources, so buy up any tiles you need for your cities as soon as possible.
     
  10. swordspider

    swordspider Dread Multiplayer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    It also depends on your game type (are you playing multi, etc). In multiplayer, your cities should be no further apart than the next luxury resource UNLESS you are trying to take a strategic position (like a land/sea chokepoint or a resource in 'their' area). On single player, it's just your game style bro.
     
  11. harry_flashman

    harry_flashman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    horseguards, london
    I don't think it's necessarily a bad thing that the AI will come along and settle in between your cities. Its a good way to get your troops some experience, by burning their cities to the ground. And you may even get a half decent peace treaty out of it.
     

Share This Page