1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Do people like good huts?

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by acluewithout, Apr 26, 2018.

1. acluewithout

acluewithout Warlord

The idea of random events often comes up, eg natural disasters or plagues. But do people like the existing random events, ie good huts and barb spawns.

I did when I started playing, especially when you get a free scout or builder. But now...

It feels a bit silly and kind of cheap. Particularly in later eras. Neither has any logic. I find a tribe, and instead of a launching off point for the game - you meet a new culture, will you be allies? will you be enemies? what can they teach us? what can we teach them? - I just get... loot. There’s not even a risk of getting a negative.

Likewise, barbs just spawn. Sure, I like the military challenge they sometimes create. But they’re so 2D. They don’t really hold territory. I can’t appease them. I can’t absorb them (except with random GG retirements or an apostle). They just spawn then maybe create some light tactical diversion (which is appreciated) and some eurekas.

The more complex and involved Civ gets, the more I think goody huts and 2D barb spawning feels like breaking barrels and wandering monsters.

Last edited: Apr 26, 2018
    NoonePerson and Prester John 2 like this.
  2. Hammurabbit

Hammurabbit Chieftain

Interesting question.