1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Do rivers provide trade routes?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by PTHoorah, Sep 24, 2010.

  1. PTHoorah

    PTHoorah Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    One of my favorite features from Civ IV was the fact that rivers worked as roads when considering if cities were connected to the capitol. Is this out? From reading the rules, it looks like it... Too bad, since some of the largest trade cities (London, for example) are located on rivers, not coasts. River cities should be able to build harbors and benefit from being connected to the ocean and therefore the capital.
     
  2. Quueg

    Quueg Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    I've been trying to figure that out myself. It seems a real shame to remove river trade routes. Another example of "dumbing down" in Civ V?
     
  3. duxup

    duxup Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    385
    I haven't done much testing but it seems like trade routes are borked in some way. I get messages about trade routes established / broken right and left, even for cities very close to each other and I can see they have multiple possible routes.
     
  4. silentknight111

    silentknight111 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    They don't, but they do provide gold for tiles next to them.
    Roads, and harbors seem to be the only things that connect trade routes.
     
  5. zonk

    zonk Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    572
    Booo!

    Rivers were historically significant trade factors and really up until the railroad WERE the trade superhighways.

    I applaud Firaxis for their 'vote for a charity we'll donate to' program with the purchase of this game -- but increasingly, I'm thinking there should have been a 4th 'cause' available.... stipends for the modders that are going to be counted on heavily to repair damage done to the franchise.
     
  6. Tomice

    Tomice Passionate Smart-Ass

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,319
    Location:
    Austria, EU, no kangaroos ;)
    Come on, guys! :rolleyes:

    Obviously they did it for a reason. Trade routes are harder to get now, you need to pay for roads and you now need a building for TR over water.

    They removed it because it would have been to easy to establish TRs this way.

    I would have liked it for realism too, but I can understand the decision. Maybe a modder can make harbors connect cities both over coast and over rivers, that could work.

    Why the hack everybody thinks the devs are morons and change stuff without a reason? And why everybody thinks he knows it better after 1 min of thought than a team of specialists after years of work and testing?
     
  7. Crezth

    Crezth 話說天下大勢分久必合合久必分

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    10,428
    Location:
    北京皇城
    Because it's new and strange and makes them uncomfortable.

    A good compromise (which would make settling along rivers even better than it is now) would be to add a building - say, a River Port - that enables trade along rivers.

    It may not be exceptionally balanced but it would be interesting.
     
  8. SRG

    SRG Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    I am willing to bet something like a River Port is fodder for an expansion down the line somewhere.
     
  9. Zadox

    Zadox Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    SW Florida
    I know that's who (modders) I'm counting on to fix it.
     
  10. Medopu

    Medopu Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Yes I'm also into the Idea of a river port.

    Then we have a win-win situation here, so nobody complains
     
  11. silentknight111

    silentknight111 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    I think you under-estimate the power of the Internet. Someone will ALWAYS complain.
     
  12. Newcomer24

    Newcomer24 Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    139
    River trade routes were cool and realistic, there are no excuses to remove them, just rebalance them if needed. When you have to remove many game mechanics that make sense and work well just to add something new... maybe you should stop and think if it's really worth it?

    Civ5 is a great game but the amount of minor things that got removed is huge, small details but all togeter lower noticiably the depth of the economic aspect of the game.

    Regarding trade routes/roads alone I could mention:
    No river trade routes
    No foreing trade routes
    No need to connect resources with roads
    Resources are shared between cities even if those two cities have no trade route connecting them.
    You can't unlink a city from the resource pool (even if you surround it, it will still be able to build swordsmen just because another city on the opposite part of the globe has iron)
    Railroad doesn't improve tile yields anymore.
    I could go on.
     
  13. TeddyBearsDoLie

    TeddyBearsDoLie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    You're hilarious! :lol:
     

Share This Page