1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Do We Want to Move Our Palace?

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Demo Game VI: Polls' started by Furiey, May 9, 2005.

?

Do We Want to Move Our Palace?

Poll closed May 12, 2005.
  1. Yes: We need to move it to a more central location

    62.5%
  2. No: Leave it where it is

    37.5%
  3. Abstain

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Furiey

    Furiey No Longer Just Lurking

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    6,345
    Location:
    Bedfordshire UK
    There has been talk since the start of the game when we discovered we were on the edge of the continent, about moving our Palace from its present position in Camelot to a more central location in the continent. As we now have a large portion of the continent, it is time to decide whether or not we want to do this.

    The discussion thread is here, but to summarise; a central Palace would reduce corruption in our nation and give us more productive towns, but we would lose a link with the history of our nation.

    It is important to note that the Forbidden Palace will not give a second productive core as it did in Vanilla Civ or PTW, so we cannot balance a poor Palace location with a good Forbidden Palace location.

    Map showing location of Camelot and the other cities on our part of the continent


    So the question for now is simply:

    Do we want to move our Palace?

    Yes - We need to move it to a central location
    No - leave it where it is
    Abstain - I'll party wherever that Palace is​
    Once we have decided this we can move on if required to decide where, when and how.

    Poll will be open for 72 hours and is Public.
     
  2. GenMarshall

    GenMarshall Night Elven Ghost Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    42,936
    Location:
    New Suramar City, Vekta, United Terran Systems
    I voted for yes to move the capital. It should help a bit with lowering the corruption in our empire.
     
  3. greekguy

    greekguy Missed the Boat

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,386
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Yes, this would really help with corruption. I believe it should be the "green dot" btw.
     
  4. Ashburnham

    Ashburnham King

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    827
    No. No. No. No. No. No. NO! NO! NO!

    Making a move like this would be the worst case of "powergaming" in what has thusfar been a very true-to-life Demogame. We've had judicial debates, legislative debates, military debates. In my opinion, we've had an excellent government so far. But now we're going to throw that all away just to be "gamey". It's deplorable.

    Anyway, I already went on a rant about this, so I'll save you all a fresh one and repost it.
     
  5. Furiey

    Furiey No Longer Just Lurking

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    6,345
    Location:
    Bedfordshire UK
    True to life? I'm sorry, but capitols are moved in real-life to form the new centre of power in expanding empires and ancient palaces become the stuff of legend...
     
  6. Double Stack

    Double Stack Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    357
    United States had changed capital twice in its history. The first one was Philadelphia, PA then New York City, NY and now to Washington D.C. as it has been for over 200 years. So captiol changes is real life.
     
  7. zyxy

    zyxy Warmongering Fool

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,390
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I hate decisions like this.

    In my own games, I almost never move the palace. I think I tried it once, using the free palace jump trick -- my palace jumped all over the place, except where I wanted it too :crazyeye:

    My sentiments are the same as those of Ashburnham. The palace is part of our history, let's not throw it away too lightly.
    On the other hand we need a lot of production power to build 100+ towns with libraries and temples. So reason suggests that a palace move might be useful.

    Now the question is: will the palace move significantly reduce corruption? Reading alexman's analysis, it seems that distance to the palace plays no role for rank corruption (except that it determines the ranking), only for distance corruption. The FP can reduce distance corruption, but not rank corruption (except by increasing the optimal city number Nopt). This means that the whole idea of two cores is out of the window, there is only one now, and the function of the FP has changed: it reduces corruption in the city where it is built, and can act as a second center for distance corruption in the (only) core region.

    So: we could build the FP in a central location, e.g. Husborne Crawley. Then all cities near the FP will have low distance corruption, while at least those in the southern half of our lands will have low rank (and distance) corruption. An off-central palace means that even fairly distant cities still have low rank. We will probably end up with fewer cities at very low corruption, but more at intermediate levels of corruption.
    I don't know how this evens out. But in any case it might be a reasonable compromise.

    Intimately connected to this is the question how we will move the palace. (You can try to separate the principle from the implementation, but that's not entirely fair I think). Palace moves come at a significant cost. We either have to handbuild a new palace, or sacrifice Camelot and jump the palace, or use a great leader (that we don't have, and that could also be used to build the FP or an army once we get it).

    I'll think another day or so before voting.
     
  8. Furiey

    Furiey No Longer Just Lurking

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    6,345
    Location:
    Bedfordshire UK
    Using the new version of Civ Assist (yipee!) we can see the percentage corruption in each of the towns. The following shows the corruption for the Palace in Camelot and Husborne Crawley (as the green dot has been mentioned) in both Despotism (left hand tables) and Republic (Right hand tables). I have not shown how it changes actual spt as this will change as cities grow, but the percentage will not. The percentages in both case will be affected as we get more and more cities.

    I move my palace more than I used to, at first I never moved it (except when I forgot a pre-build :blush: ), now I tend to move it when it's stuck on the edge of the empire or in Vanilla to set up a second core. If necessary I'll build by hand, or use a leader. On the occasions I've tried it the free palace jump has worked like a charm (and I've just noticed that the new Civ Assist will do the calcs for you).

    If we say yes in this poll we can go ahead and work out the mechanics of the move. If at the end of all that we decide the cost is too great, there will be an option not to move it in the final poll. There's just no point discussing at length the how and where if the majority don't want to move it at all.
     
  9. GenMarshall

    GenMarshall Night Elven Ghost Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    42,936
    Location:
    New Suramar City, Vekta, United Terran Systems
    I have to go with the data Furiey presented ;).
     
  10. zyxy

    zyxy Warmongering Fool

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,390
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hm, I'm going to download that package...

    One thing though: it looks like your figures don't take into account the effect of an FP. Building the FP in a central location is crucial if we want to reduce corruption and keep Camelot as Palace.

    Oh, two things really: your tables also nicely show that distance corruption does matter quite a bit, despite what everyone always claims. Unless I really don't understand it, rank corruption alone would show exactly the same figures independent of where the Palace is (only the order of the cities would change) :confused:

    EDIT: I have also played with CivAssist - nice :D. Here's the corruption in Republic, on the left with Palace in Camelot and FP in Husborne Crawley, on the right the other way around. It makes very little difference - unlike in Vanilla. Of course FP in Camelot may not be the best location, but I played around with it a bit, and with the Palace in HC the location of the FP hardly matters for the corruption percentages.
     
  11. Nobody

    Nobody Gangster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    5,454
    Location:
    Wellington New Zealand
    I agree, camelot is our capital naming it is the honor of the first president, i dont want to dishonor president shack
     
  12. Furiey

    Furiey No Longer Just Lurking

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    6,345
    Location:
    Bedfordshire UK
    No my figures don't inlcude the Forbidden Palace, I just didn't have to time to play with the Forbidden Palace location and find the optimum for each site. Sir Pleb did some work on optimum locations in one of his games which is referenced in the C3C corruption conquest thread referenced in the war academy. Either way it will be interesting to see how this works out as our empire grows.
     

Share This Page