1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Do you Chop before placing a district?

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Strategy & Tips' started by rredding, Nov 7, 2016.

  1. rredding

    rredding Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    In my last play through I have noticed that dropping a district on a tile with something chopable (usually woods or rainforest) removes those things and gives no benefit. I started using a build from my builders to clear the tile before I start the district. It gives me a nice boost in production and food with the rainforest. This production is either used on the current project or will be applied to the district if the production queue was open.

    Anyway, I had missed out on this for my first few games and figured I would share.
     
  2. Sogno di Volare

    Sogno di Volare Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Whenever possible yes, chopping provides a lot of food and production.
     
  3. Bigv32

    Bigv32 Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    567
    It honestly depends where I am in the game. Always do the math.

    If the amount of prod from the chop is greater than the (per charge) production needed to build the worker than yes.

    If it is a jungle, I also try to figure out of the food helps make up any of the difference.

    If I am rushing a wonder, etc. it is more of how badly do I want it or htink I will miss it. Finally, if you are Aztecs or China, sometimes you can get more production from using the charge on the district or wonder itself rather than the forest.
     
  4. megabearsfan

    megabearsfan Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    I've been trying to make a point of chopping before placing districts as well. Especially in cities that are generally weak in production. The trouble is always trying to get a builder there at a time when it's useful.
     
  5. lankypeter

    lankypeter Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    On the same turn, if you chop with an empty production queue and then select the district to build, do those hammers go to the district production? I thought yes, but with the city delayed in updating food and hammers until after the turn, I'm not sure .
     
  6. ZHONN

    ZHONN Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Always, I see no reason not to.
     
  7. Marvinlegend

    Marvinlegend Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Bavaria
    If at all possible, sadly you can not chop into the district you want to build, since the production goes into the current production, even if you change it in the same turn.
     
  8. WiseGreen

    WiseGreen Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    You can use some of it through overflow, tho.
     
  9. megabearsfan

    megabearsfan Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Yeah, I haven't figured out for sure if this works either...
     
  10. MadDjinn

    MadDjinn Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,554
    No. chopping into an empty production queue just wastes the hammers.

    On topic- I always prechop for districts. Preference goes to being able to chop out those district locations when building other districts or buildings; or settlers.
     
  11. megabearsfan

    megabearsfan Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Thanks for confirming that! :)
     
  12. ddd123

    ddd123 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    How can it not be?
    The only case possible I think is when you conquer or found late game cities, but in that case it is worth anyway cause you basically transfer huge cit production spammers into new no production city, so its worth even if the conversion is bad cause there would be no other way to grow new cities fast.
    Also most likely you wont build them, youll just buy cause you swim in gold late game.
    In main cities you should have chopped early to speed up things and i dont see any other scenario...
     
  13. Seabastian Civ

    Seabastian Civ King

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    608
    I like to buy those damn builder charges aren't cheap. I'd often rather have another mine or farm, especially since you get valuable early eurekas from them.
     
  14. Big J Money

    Big J Money Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,026
    I think the correct math is almost impossible. Every extra chop you take makes your future builders more expensive. So if someone chops 21 times during a game, then the final 21 build actions he takes in the game are where the cost went. It's reminiscent of Civ V Policies, where if you want to calculate the cost <> benefit of picking up an extra policy, you need to consider how it effects the cost of the last policy you take. And of course it's much harder to predict how many builders/build-actions you will need. I guess you could ballpark a minimum though, like "at least ten cities, with an average of 10 improved tiles, each". So in that case, 21 chops changes your game from 100/3 = 33 builders to 121/3 = 40 builders.

    But then this might be moot because who can calculate the value of extra production or food at the beginning of the game? It's certainly more valuable than late game...
     
    Feyd Rautha likes this.
  15. Feyd Rautha

    Feyd Rautha Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    583
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Such a good point. This is why I make an effort to chop before I place a district if possible. The faster I can get a city productive in the greater sense, the greater benefit. While the 127 hammers might be 200 later and effectively cost me 50 hammers with my last builder charge, speed and getting things first really makes a bigger difference early. I need to win NOW... I can steamroll later when 50 production is next to nothing.
     
  16. rredding

    rredding Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Yep I agree it is more of a timing thing than a computation vs the amount a build charge costs. Earlier districts or settlers or even units have certain advantages. One more time I think the devs have given us another decision point. More impactful decisions make the game more fun to me.
     
  17. megabearsfan

    megabearsfan Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Does getting a free builder from a ruin increase the cost of later builders?
     
  18. elitetroops

    elitetroops Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    5,686
    No, it doesn't.
     
  19. Ryika

    Ryika Lazy Wannabe Artista

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    9,395
    I think during most of the game the long-term math is pretty meaningless when it comes to that. Yes, every chop means that everything later will be more expensive, but the game is so lopsided towards gathering momentum that just looking at whether you can get access to enough worker charges to chop some extra tiles already tells you all the important stuff, which early should almost always be a yes if you do a good job lining stuff up.

    I find that the interesting decisions are those food-related ones for the newer cities in the later parts of the mid-game. You get a lot of food at that point, but at the same time growing them isn't really of any importance. That's where I can legitimately made an argument for one side in my head, find it convincing, then make an argument for the other side to refute myself and agree with that argument as well. 8)
     
  20. Zenstrive

    Zenstrive Ocean King

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    914
    Gender:
    Male
    Always chop until all the continents are filled with cities.
     

Share This Page