1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Do you have to work the district tiles?

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Strategy & Tips' started by noontide, Nov 7, 2016.

  1. noontide

    noontide Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    251
    I'm a bit confused about whether the district tiles need to be worked on. And what's are those two numbers next to each district in the in-city screen? thanks.
     
  2. redeemed371240

    redeemed371240 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Houston
    No, the districts act like "mini-cities" providing bonuses based on what's around them and the building built inside of them. They eliminate any yields that the tile it occupies used to have, but they're worth the missing +2 food +1 production type yields because the buildings add great bonuses.
     
  3. Promethian

    Promethian Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Districts house specialists if you desire them. 1 specialist of the appropriate type per building you make in the district.
     
  4. stormtrooper412

    stormtrooper412 Peacemongering Turtlesaur

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    3,579
    Location:
    Beograd
    two numbers are used and total available specialists. So if's 3 and 3, it means you're using all 3 of the available 3 specialists for that district
     
  5. ansa

    ansa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Soon as I have spare, I always slap a commercial district market specialist for more goldz in satellite cities, +4 gold not so bad.
    Other special buildings are kind of weak to stuff specialist into.
     
  6. Onii-chan

    Onii-chan King

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Messages:
    626
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    The numbers just represent how many citizens you can work in the district, which is effectively Civ VI's equivalent of specialist slots... which currently feel a bit underpowered to me tbh. Working districts is generally only worth it if you've run out of good tiles to work for the city, or maybe if it's housing capped and thus the food tiles are currently more or less useless
     
  7. Omniabsence

    Omniabsence Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    I'm a little confused about this as well - If there's no citizens working the district tile on the Manage Tiles screen of the city - Does that mean you get none of the benefits of the distrcit?
    I've been putting my population to work on these tiles over say, a quarry or pasture. Is this incorrect?

    I realize that this is a pretty dumb question but I've made myself even more confused by overthinking it
     
  8. Stacked_Deck

    Stacked_Deck Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    90
    If you look at workshops in the civlopedia it's listed as giving +2 production and has a citizen slot. These are two separate things, the +2 production (and the gpp incidentally) is a passive yield that doesn't need to be worked. If you do work the citizen slot he earns +2 production. All the industrial specialists give +2 production, all the encampment specialists give +1 production +1 culture and so on.

    Edit: The adjacency bonus is a passive yield too by the way.
     
  9. alh_p

    alh_p Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2001
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Heart of darkness
    I find specialists pretty confusing too. The UI fails to explain yields from district squares in the city view, so i can't see the output with or without specialists, and the civ'pedia is very vague.

    Don't specialists also generate relevant GPP as well as a district type dependent yield? And surely the yield should increase with added district buildings, let alone adjacency? I don't even know to find that kind of info with this UI...

    This is another of the areas either pared down from civ 5, which i imagine might be revisited in an expansion pack or patch.
     
  10. Ryika

    Ryika Lazy Wannabe Artista

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    9,395
    No, Specialists only generate the Flat Yields that are displayed in the UI, they don't increase a districts output, they are not required to get the output of the district, and they don't generate Points towards Great People.

    Overall, Specialists are pretty terrible, and more an "Okay, this city is done growing."-option than anything else.

    To be fair though, make the yields too high and they'll become an "Use always!"-option like with Scientists in Civ V, that was also terribly boring design.
     
  11. ansa

    ansa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    So basically, somewhat useful specialists went from Civ 5



    into totally useless in civ 6

     
  12. PendragonWRB

    PendragonWRB Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    311
    Gender:
    Male
    You can always mouse over any tile (at least when in the citizen panel, maybe always) and the tool tip will show district yield and separately the citizen yield (if any are being worked).

    If your city is growth limited by amenities or housing getting up to +6 production is not a bad deal for working the industrial district.
     

Share This Page