1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Do you name your units?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by tommytoxen, Sep 22, 2018.

?

Do you like to name your units?

  1. Autistically

    1 vote(s)
    5.6%
  2. When I remember

    2 vote(s)
    11.1%
  3. Yes only after promotions

    8 vote(s)
    44.4%
  4. Who the heck has time for that?

    7 vote(s)
    38.9%
  1. tommytoxen

    tommytoxen Warlord

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    150
    I have EUI so I can rename them anytime but I only like to rename them once they've earned a promotion, a little reward. I'm trying for a realistic naming system but having trouble finding the info, the uk army system is so complex i dunno what the difference is between company, platoon, brigade etc. but right now i'm naming them like

    1st BN Queen's Own REGT
    1st COY Royal Horse Guard
    1st PL Royal Artillery

    Using standard acronyms (battallion, company, platoon). Does this sound about right? Any army goers here?

    And how do you name your units?
     
  2. Warmonger Max

    Warmonger Max Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    I didn't know you could! I guess EUI is a mod that allows that? Cool, off to find it now.

    Naming all promoted and gifted units is what I would do, and will do after I find that mod.
     
    aafritz17 and tommytoxen like this.
  3. tommytoxen

    tommytoxen Warlord

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    150
    In vanilla you can name any unit after a promotion. When you have the promotion thingy show up there's an edit link.

    But yeah with EUI you can rename anytime by right clicking on the unit name. It's built into Vox Populii which I 100% recommend.

    Anyway I changed my naming system last night. Decided to go with something more simple and gives my promoted units a bit of regimental history as they upgrade through the eras. I think it'll be cool when they're mechanized infantry the regiment is called Queen's Archers or Swordsman Guards showing their historic importance. I think it gives a nice personal touch to my troops and a little backstory to my civ, i like it

    Here's my current regiments
     
  4. tetley

    tetley Head tea leaf

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,013
    Location:
    Igloovik
    Naming your units feels like naming your cow right before you eat a nice juicy piece of steak.
     
  5. aafritz17

    aafritz17 Warlord Hall of Fame Staff Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    292
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    I have actually done all three of these.
     
  6. aafritz17

    aafritz17 Warlord Hall of Fame Staff Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    292
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Well, not "right before". Had to wait until Chris was 1200 pounds or so.
     
  7. MaryKB

    MaryKB Vice Princess Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2018
    Messages:
    2,423
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    United States
    I give my units alphabetical names when I promote them, like my first unit might be "Andy", and my next "Beatrice" and so on.

    I always name my ships after starships from Star Trek. Like I'll name my first Caravel "Discovery", and another "Voyager", and "Intrepid" and such. And I always try to name my "flagship" "Enterprise", and I also take names like "Excelsior", "Endeavor", and such. I'll name my first Privateer "Defiant", and so on. I'm rather obsessive about it lol.
     
  8. Warmonger Max

    Warmonger Max Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    I like that idea. Certainly adds a personal touch using personal names. In other games I have used names of my favorite athletes from today and the past. It really feels emotional when one of my heroes get killed off. LOL!
     
  9. tetley

    tetley Head tea leaf

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,013
    Location:
    Igloovik
    What do you name your Kris swordsmen when they get an Evil Spirits promotion?
     
  10. cain3456

    cain3456 Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    428
    I just number them. 1st warrior, 2nd scout, 3rd warrior, etc...
     
  11. Equilin

    Equilin Prince

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    321
    Gender:
    Male
    That's very cool! however i do feel like it's way too tiresome and i don't want to get too attached to these units so i usually dont name it.
     
  12. vesp3r1987

    vesp3r1987 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Yes, name is chosen according to the promotions i went for.
    Especially naval units. Helps me alot with chosing what to attack with the units i have (naval, land or city)
    Also I name nuke carriers "Ghandi 1", "Ghandi 2" and so on
     
  13. Imperator_vis

    Imperator_vis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    US
    I have a tendency to rename Scouts to something that sounds nation-specific after their first promotion - it gives them some character! When playing Rome, I like to name Warriors "Hastati", Archers "Velites", Spearmen "Triarii", Horsemen "Equites", and Legions get their own unique (but not necessarily historical) name on creation, ie: "Legio IV Hispana". Other than that, I will I rarely bother renaming units in other civs unless they amass several promotions, but I always name all naval vessels.

    ONE THING about Civ5 that has always gotten on my last nerve - the inability to re-name your Great Generals!! For me, being forced to have a General with some name completely unrelated to your civ is like fingernails on a chalkboard... :(
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2019
    tommytoxen likes this.
  14. Bfloo

    Bfloo Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    How do I get the names I put in to show on the Military overview?

    I've tried naming them, but it never shows.
     
  15. Cicerosaurus

    Cicerosaurus Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,010
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    No idea on the military overview.

    I normally fo name ships after those who fought at Jutland except battleships and abouve are named after USA States as per their nomenclature. Aircraft carriers I name after WW2 vessels.

    With aircraft I them after a type- Camel, Hurricane, Halifax etc.

    Army untis I am not so particular about- and yes you do need to ensure you don't get too attached to them.
     
  16. Darth Tribble

    Darth Tribble Friendly Neighborhood Conqueror

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    United States
    I almost never do it unless I just feel like doing it on a whim. Even then, it is just one or two.
     
  17. tommytoxen

    tommytoxen Warlord

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    150
    sorry for late reply, i'm only an occasional browser of these forums :)

    but i use this mod:
    https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/ui-improved-military-overview.610073/

    yeah exactly :) i love getting to modern era and having tanks named "23rd Horse Guard" or a helicopter gunship named "3rd Royal Archers". gives them that historical flavour regiments in real life have :)

    haha i get what you're saying, but i look after my troops i'm very careful in battles, i never go into one unless i'm at least 60% sure i'm going to win. of course there are some losses for the most part with the right naval (and later air) support, artillery etc they usually come out of it alive with more lovely promotions to get stronk :)
     
  18. iammaxhailme

    iammaxhailme Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,068

Share This Page