Do you play with Ancient Ruins off?

Peaceful Civ

Chieftain
I recently started playing with Ancient Ruins turned off and I like it a lot better. With Ancient Ruins turned on, I have to constantly worry about what the AI is finding, and if I don't get a 1pop, scout upgrade, and free tech (playing on Prince), I feel at a serious disadvantage and end up wanting to restart the game. Who needs that?

So I turned it off and find that my play is improved as a result. I can focus on exploration for the right reasons, and never have to compromise early by being forced to build a scout and leaving my capitol and workers open to barbarians because I am out scouting for ruins.

Anyone else turn them off? What are your reasons for playing with/without them?

I play Multiplayer a lot, and we leave them on. It's not fair, in my opinion, but it certainly is exciting. Then again, we do keep Computer players around to even it out.

I normally have them switched off. But since I'm currently playing the Shoshone, events are on for this game.

I play with them on because I think they spice up the early game and provide incentive to build a scout(and my first build is usually a scout). I also feel that if the Shoshone are in the game and and I turn ruins off, I'm shooting one of the AIs in the kneecap, and they aren't really that good to begin with.

You need to scout for other civs/CS/new city locations anyway, you can not and never skip a scout (unless you know from turn 1-3 on that you're on a tiny island).

Also, when the ruin outcome is bad... then it's bad. So what? You keep replaying any turns when you made a bad choice or something bad happened?

You need to scout for other civs/CS/new city locations anyway, you can not and never skip a scout (unless you know from turn 1-3 on that you're on a tiny island).

Also, when the ruin outcome is bad... then it's bad. So what? You keep replaying any turns when you made a bad choice or something bad happened?