1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Do you think future civ games should bother with Mac?

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Macintosh' started by Kimurae, Nov 21, 2020.

  1. Kimurae

    Kimurae Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Civ VI doesn't really work on Mac most of the time, so I wonder if there's even a point to having future civs on Mac if they're not going to get the TLC to actually work?

    I've been using the xbox one version since they removed the OpenGL option. Reading the forum posts it just seems like all the Mac port has done for Firaxis is give them a bad reputation.
     
  2. oakdragon

    oakdragon Stagnating amongst the Siliconians Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    San Jose, CA, USA
    Firaxis is doing a fine job. They need to move away from Aspyr in the future, however. It’s them that’s gotten the bad reputation from all of this. Someone like Feral Interactive would do a much better job porting to the Mac.
     
  3. borad

    borad Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    My anecdote disagrees with your anecdote.

    If anything, the refusal to allow deeper modding of Civ VI has reduced the disadvantage of being on a Mac.
     
  4. Frederico

    Frederico Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    In my experience, Aspyr has done a very good job in delivering a stable and mostly bug-free game. The only real exception was a regression in an earlier build where fullscreen mode didn’t work.
     
  5. Alexis Layton

    Alexis Layton Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    This has not been my experience. On recent hardware the game crashes occasionally and freezes more frequently, corrupting the graphics of the system, requiring a reboot. The latter may be a driver issue or it may be not using the graphics correctly. This is with the 2020 iMac with Radeon 5700XT graphics.
     
  6. tarafran

    tarafran Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    154
    Solid on Mac Pro. The only issue; I have to physically disconnect my second monitor before launching the game.
     
  7. Alexis Layton

    Alexis Layton Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    What graphics card and which Mac Pro model?
     
  8. Bentov

    Bentov Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Yep, I have 2020 iMac as well and it freezes regularly. I don't have this problem on my 2019 MacBook Pro 16". Same video settings.

    I've been playing since it was on 2 floppies, I plan on playing CIV till the day I die.
     
    iamliberal likes this.
  9. fotonut

    fotonut Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    113
    Works great for me on the Mac other than the ability the change resolutions of full screen easily after display reconfig.

    Plays especially well on the M1 Mac - even under Rosetta. No constant fan noise, but fast. Have seen two crashes in that config during many hours of game play but usually don’t lose any state...
     
  10. Bojevus

    Bojevus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    I've had no significant performance issues on my 2018 MacBook pro. The updates do lag the PC crowd by a couple weeks, but that's not a big deal.
     
  11. iamliberal

    iamliberal Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    338
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    I’ve played every version of Civ since Civ 1 in 1993 on Mac so I sure hope they keep supporting it! Except I switched from Mac to iPad for gathering storm. It seems they’re not updating iOS anymore though, so perhaps I’ll try gathering storm on my 2017 iMac and see how it does.
     

Share This Page