1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Do you use the Advanced Start feature?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by jhflif, Sep 15, 2007.

  1. jhflif

    jhflif Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    I think it's a lot easier to get into a new game having 2 or 3 cities with a few primitive improvements and a few basic units than having to wander around aimlessly looking for huts while waiting 30 turns for a settler to build.
     
  2. FoxURA

    FoxURA Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    To be honest I have never used advanced start before... Just how does it work?
     
  3. jhflif

    jhflif Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Well you start out with a larger than usual portion of the map revealed and a number of points. You can use those points to place cities, give population or culture in those cities, build roads or mines or farms or make primitive units like workers or settlers.

    You don't get all that much though and it generally means having one great starting city, 2 good ones, or 3 mediocre ones.

    I like to start with two small cities with a connecting road, improvements built on the nearest food resources and hills, and a couple of warriors and workers and maybe a scout.
     
  4. Andvare

    Andvare King

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    788
    You can choose the amount of points awarded. But in my experience, it only makes things more difficult for the poor AI. It does, for example, discover a new religion right of the bat, and uses it's points rather one sided.
     
  5. Elros

    Elros Paranoid Android

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    Up North, England
    I normally do it with a small number of points, just to speed up the start

    It's mainly useful for placing your capital without wasting turns wandering around.

    And if you're feeling mean, grabbing all 3 early religions on the first turn.
     
  6. jhflif

    jhflif Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    hmm Never thought about using it to claim religions... that alone could help you to make a giant religious bloc by controlling every faith on the continent which obviously can be immensely powerful especially in the early game :king:
     
  7. Fronx

    Fronx Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    154
    In my mind, it is smarter to use Advanced Start to create your capital, improve it, and buy settlers instead of building other cities, unless you really see good another spot for another city.

    Point being that you just dont see enough to safely place your other cities, and buying visibility costs money -> Safer/Cheaper to buy settlers, and place the cities with the scouting information that they provide as they move to position after the game has begun.

    There are exceptions as I said, if there are clear already visible position(s) for multiple cities, then I build multiple cities. But if I have to pay to get more visibility in order to do this, I choose not to build that city, and not to buy visibility, but buy settlers and scouts to fast check the area and expand.


    Not sure if this is as good strategy as I think, but I prefer it.
     
  8. TheLastOne36

    TheLastOne36 Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    14,045
    The Ai doesn't know how to use it so no i do not use it, even though i tried it ounce or twice.
     
  9. FoxURA

    FoxURA Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    You mean that the AI doesn't get any kind of build boost with advanced start? That would be a bit one sided.
     
  10. PimpyMicPimp

    PimpyMicPimp Regrets His Username.

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    Regina, Saskatchewan
    I tried it once, but couldn't get into it. It felt weird, and my cities were very...artificial feeling. Plus, half the fun of Civ for me is looking at my Empire and realising I did all of that with a settler and a warrior/scout. For me, Advance Starts really take some of the epicness out of the game.

    Now, maybe I would enjoy it better if I tried it earlier on, when I tried it it was in the modern era.
     
  11. Da_Man_2423

    Da_Man_2423 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    It's a cool feature for those that don't want to be pressing end turn over and over for that settler unit to get finished. I like starting straight from the beginning however, so I don't use it.
     
  12. Defiance

    Defiance Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    I dont really use it but its alright, it can guarantee a religion for you Monarch+, since you can research one of the early religions and your in the first seat you'll nab it everytime
     
  13. Peuri

    Peuri Game

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    Not here
    All the time, without it there wouldn't be ancient wars.
     
  14. Gooblah

    Gooblah Heh...

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,282
    No Ancient Wars in Civ?! Are your games outta whack? For me, I always manage to piss off an Aggresive Civ by 3000BC, and then all hell breaks loose. Soon, WWI is reached and played out by Axes, Spears, and the newest technology, Swords!
     
  15. DraconisRex

    DraconisRex Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    96
    I don't have a single way of doing it, but I tend to buy a couple of settlers, or one settler and one other towh, an improvement or two, and heavy into techs.
     
  16. Peuri

    Peuri Game

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    Not here
    Of course there's Monty and the rest, but I am usually not the aggressor because I'm a terrible noob at the beginnings. :lol: With advanced start I can be the aggressor for once, with archers and chariots and the rest.
     
  17. Diamondeye

    Diamondeye So Happy I Could Die

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,527
    Location:
    Dancing in the Dark
    I play more early wars without advanced starts. Feels better.
    As Pimpy said, the Epicness is just not the same...
    Also, I like the headstart I get from being able to chop if I start in a forest, giving me effectively twice or thrice the production of the AIs in the early game, considering worker costs.

    I've tried it a couple of times, it didn't really catch my attencion as I live for early wars, which is much harder to do on AS. :sad:
     
  18. FoxURA

    FoxURA Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Does advanced start work on scenarios? I tried it on one and all I got was a countdown until global world peace broke down... Is this a glitch or am I missing something here.
     
  19. Fronx

    Fronx Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    154
    ^- reply to the "advanced start in scenarios" -question.

    Adv. start isn't intented to work in scenarios, unless the scenario spesifically allows it.

    It will be so atleast after the coming patch. Right now it might be broken, like in the way you just described (that you can choose adv. start, but it doesn't work like intented).



    It is quite obivious if you think about it, many scenarios lose their intented behaviour if you would be allowed to use advanced start. On some it would work tho, and then the creator of that scenario should have flagged it as "advanced start allowed".
     
  20. FoxURA

    FoxURA Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    True.. But I was trying to do it with my own custom scenario. Why wouldn't the game allow it then? Is there an actual allow option I have to toggle?
     

Share This Page