1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Does anyone want to help rig this leader? Alaric, of the Visigoths

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Graphics modpacks' started by Wodhann, Mar 14, 2015.

  1. SMcM

    SMcM Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,194
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    London, England
    That sounds great! It'll be awesome to finally have another 3D leader in the game.
     
  2. Pizza Guy

    Pizza Guy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    I really can't wait to see the finished version of this!
     
  3. Wodhann

    Wodhann South American Norse God

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,507
    I finally finished the background. It was made from scratch but I did use some free models I found on the net. Now I need to know if the camera angle is matching the Attila one. Also I used some dramatic lighting so it might be a bit of a challenge to get it right, in that case I can still change the lighting around.

    Spoiler :
    In case you're confused by where he is, I decided to make him sit somewhere on Rome, like he's just finished conquering a Roman city. I didn't really worry too much about realism here.

    (And yes I know there are some things to fix)
     
  4. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,624
    Location:
    London, UK
    Looks great! Keen to see what it looks like in game with the Alaric model in there.
     
  5. SMcM

    SMcM Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,194
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    London, England
    That is a really awesome background!
     
  6. Wodhann

    Wodhann South American Norse God

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,507
    Thanks, despite the use of free models it took a long time to make. I'm not really a pro in that area, I sort of had to learn along the way.

    I'll wait on you - I really don't know how to do the technical modding stuff.
     
  7. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,624
    Location:
    London, UK
    So this is a 3D model rather than a 2D background? So it will need to be made into a .gr2 file to work in game?
     
  8. Wodhann

    Wodhann South American Norse God

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,507
    It's a pre-rendered 2d background.

    I can separate the layers if you want, matte style, if you want things to not look too 2d. But then I think a custom model would have to be made to accomodate that. (I think the closest arm of the chair is supposed to be on a separate layer anyway).
     
  9. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,624
    Location:
    London, UK
    I think it will at least need a 3D chair as when he is sat back in the chair the arm of the chair appears in front. Perhaps a good place to start would be to have a version without the chair and see if the background can be lined up with the Attila chair in a way that looks reasonably realistic.

    Edit: The simplest way that avoids any further 3D modelling of the background is to adapt you layers into the format of the existing background image files Alaric_Background_DIFF.dds and Alaric_Background_OPAC.dds from the previous linked version of Alaric http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=24626 . Smaller JPG versions of these files shown below for reference. The OPAC layer controls the alpha so that the armrest of the chair appears in front of the leader model.

    Spoiler :


     

    Attached Files:

  10. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,624
    Location:
    London, UK
    I've fitted your background and it doesn't look too bad. I think the best bet would be just to remove the throne from the background image and reskin the existing throne and dais. If you have a 3D throne model I can potentially line it up with the current one but that is harder and more work.

     

    Attached Files:

  11. Wodhann

    Wodhann South American Norse God

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,507
    We don't have to scrap the throne, it's just a matter of setting the correct angle.

    Let's try this angle:

    Spoiler :


    We don't need to worry right now about separating the elements, right now we just need to set the angle right.
     

Share This Page