1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Does Win 8 actually run Civ IV BTS?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Technical Support' started by Halt, Mar 10, 2013.

  1. Halt

    Halt Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    276
    I have read these forums and it is clear Win 7 works (and mods such as Buffy, Bat, Bull, etc..)

    However nowhere have I seen a clear post that someone has installed and is playing successfully on Win 8.

    I would assume that the install instructions at the top of the page would be the same for Win 8 or Win 7 (understanding you must have CD's to make this method work).

    Can anyone confirm Win 8 does work?

    After more research, it appears Win 8 in Hyper V mode will allow you to install your existing XP OS. So the question I guess becomes which performs better?
     
  2. GKey

    GKey Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,277
    Location:
    USA
    Each virtual machine consumes resources of your actual machine, so you'd better try install CIV without it. But if you have enough memory and CPU power, there should be no problem to run CIV on virtual XP OS.
     
  3. mara5a

    mara5a Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    works well for my W8, I don't think there will be a problem at yours.

    EDIT: BTS 3,19 perfectly fine, BUFFY mod has problems loading a game from game window (not the main menu)
     
  4. Quasar1011

    Quasar1011 King of Sylvania

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,968
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    California
    I am running Civ IV fine on Windows 8, on my new laptop. With 1 exception: whenever I scroll around the screen, the game sometimes minimizes, and the Windows 8 start screen comes up. I can quickly return to the game, but this is very annoying! Does anyone know how to prevent Windows 8 from doing this?
     
  5. IndusGuy

    IndusGuy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    I'm on Windows 8 and it works fine.
     

Share This Page