domination question: puppet vs annex

Dushku

Prince
I'm pretty new to aiming for domination victory, so I'm trying to focus on that before go up in difficulties. Approaching this problem, I have a few "problems of habit." For example, I like peaceful play because it's more trade partners for money. Similarly, I'm afraid that if I leave a city as a puppet, it will grow itself, making it harder for me to control happiness, and will build stuff I don't want it to, costing me more money.

Can anybody help me get past this hang up? How do you decide when to puppet and when to annex? No need for basics like don't annex until it's out of resistance unless you have the free Courthouse tenet.

In my current game, I got a city in a peace deal pretty early. I didn't annex it until I was done with the National College. I just took over my first capital and I'm in the middle of building Ironworks, so I wouldn't annex it until after that (though IW isn't as important as NC obviously).

You can limit growth of a puppet by replacing farms with trading posts. This also slows down their production of stupid stuff.

Before ideologies, the 25% science penalty for puppets is too much to ignore. After ideologies, Police State is too amazing to ignore. Being able to buy units on the front line is also useful. I annex any city worth keeping as soon as it gets out of resistance and I can either buy the courthouse or spare the happiness for a few turns.

If the city isn't worth keeping but provides some strategic advantages/momentum (e.g. great works, airport, strategic location etc.) I'll puppet it and then donate it after I'm done with it to a poorly performing friendly AI. In all other cases, I burn the city immediately.

I'm afraid that if I leave a city as a puppet, it will grow itself, making it harder for me to control happiness, and will build stuff I don't want it to, costing me more money.