Domination victory without Warmongering?

Prozac1964

Warlord
Hi everyone. I've run into a bit of trouble in pursuit of my Domination Victory. I was trying to defeat my first capital, when I got a Warmonger warning. At this point I don't understand how I can take the necessary capitals without getting a Warmonger penalty.

Please understand that I am a newbie playing single player on Settler mode. I had this capital surrounded, with a strong military presence, but when I got the warning I retreated a bit, because I wanted to learn what I'm doing wrong, by asking the more experienced players on this forum for some advice and knowledge.

Thanks to anyone who will help. :) :blush:

If you're going for a domination victory, it's almost unavoidable that you'll get a warmonger penalty at some point. You might be able to keep it low for a while, but I'm not much of a warmonger, so I'll leave that for others here to explain.

However, on Settler you shouldn't have to worry too much about it anyway. It's such an easy difficulty that even if they hate you, more than likely they're not going to pose a serious military threat as long as you play a decent game.

It's not possible to capture enemy capitals without getting warmonger penalties. I wiped out Germany and I got a huge warmonger penalty with Arabia (because they hate warmongers :confused:). I wiped out Greece and every other civ (5) denounced me. I could go on and on about how many times I wiped someone out but I think you get the point. If you're playing on settler you shouldn't get a huge warmonger penalty. I play on prince. Ironic how Arabia hates warmongers......

On settler the only downside to a warmonger penalty is that the ai won't trade with you fairly, you don't need to worry about them attacking you because on settler the ai will literally never attack you, EVER. They also won't build up any kind of formidable army