1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Download and Screenshots

Discussion in 'Civ4 - MongooseMod' started by LunarMongoose, Jul 5, 2010.

  1. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,176
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    D/L'ing Now!
    Thank you LunarMongoose!!! :D

    JosEPh
     
  2. LunarMongoose

    LunarMongoose Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    730
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    Version 4.2a has been posted.

    This version does NOT break 4.2 save files, and is specifically designed to be 100% safe to apply in the middle of a 4.2 game. Please update to it, as it is a small download and does fix a common crash bug!

    Brief Summary:
    * 2 Major Bugfixes: Silk Road effect not working, and crash when game creates a new Colony empire under AI control
    * Bunch more UI text and color updates that didn't make it into 4.2
    * Starship component success chance and travel speed update
    * Several fixes and improvements to the Domestic Advisor, new Project list in the Info Advisor Statistics tab, and option to toggle Alphabetical Sorting on/off in the Sevopedia
     
  3. vktj

    vktj Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    207
    Just a heads up that it looks like the 4.2 version can not be downloaded from the link at the head of this thread; only the 4.2a patch is available. And. yes, I’m happy that you’re still modding Civ4; I won’t play Civ5/Civ6 myself because 1) I don’t like Steam 2) I think they dumbed down the game after Civ4 to get more sales, but I would rather have a complex deep game (these days, the games at http://www.vrdesigns.net/ are more to my liking than post-4 Civ)
     
    AbsintheRed likes this.
  4. LunarMongoose

    LunarMongoose Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    730
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    Not from the main download button, no. You can if you go to the Version History tab where both links are shown. Though admittedly that may not be an ideal way to set it up. :p Sorry, this was my first time using the new-fangled forum's new-fangled file management system, and I was trying to cram both into a single entry.

    I could make a full 4.2a zip but I'd rather keep them separate, so I guess I'll go back to a direct link for the patch, heh.

    I'm forced to use Steam these days for GalCiv3, but that's okay, I can tolerate it as long as that's ALL it's for. But yes me too 100% on 2) - that's why I'm still here. :)
     
  5. LunarMongoose

    LunarMongoose Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    730
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    Alright, I deleted and re-entered the 4.2a "Update" entry to still use the main 4.2 download link so the Resource page still has 4.2 on the "Download Now" button. Then I added a direct link to the small 4.2a Patch file in the Overview text, and also here in the Download sticky.

    Hopefully that's clearer and easier to use. :)
     
  6. vktj

    vktj Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    207
    Thanks! I’ve downloaded the latest version and am looking forward to having a chance to give it a spin to see how it’s doing (as an aside, one modern programming practice is something called “continuous integration” where, if properly done for a Civ4 mod, would have every single update be automatically fully built as a setup.exe file)
     
  7. LunarMongoose

    LunarMongoose Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    730
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    A long time ago I used to post full versions even with the minor updates, and people complained quite loudly at having to re-download 500+ MB each time, so I switched to doing it this way.

    As for setup.exe, absolutely not. Never. Sorry but I DESPISE installers and ALWAYS look for "portable" versions whenever I need to find new software for personal use. As it is I've had to create a very long, very detailed set of notes for all the programs I use so I can keep track of which ones require using installers, what libraries they install so I can manage the duplicates, what installation settings to use so nothing gets messed up and I only get the parts I want, etc. I was actually reinstalling Windows 10 several times in the last year and my notes helped a ton. I think I've FINALLY got the process streamlined now after much work, heh.
     

Share This Page