1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Download BUG and BAT Here!

Discussion in 'Civ4 - BTS Unaltered Gameplay (BUG, BAT and BULL)' started by alerum68, May 10, 2008.

  1. Yxklyx

    Yxklyx Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    869
    I merged Better BUG AI with my own mod (Yxklyx). Everything works fine but I can't access the Help File from within the BUG in-game windows. BUG tells me to check the System Tab for a Search Path and I tried a few things to no avail. The merged mod is here:

    C:\SteamLibrary\SteamApps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization IV Beyond the Sword\Beyond the Sword\Mods\Yxklyx\

    The Info directory is below this and the help file is there. How can I access the Help file?
     
  2. arkguy

    arkguy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    Arkadelphia, AR
    How do you tell what version your store bought BTS is? I think I have an older version but don't know so I not sure if Bug 4.4 will work with it. I didn't find it in the owner's manual or at least not a number that looks like a version number.
     
  3. brun58

    brun58 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    146
    It will be 1.0 or original until it's patched, you'll want to bring it up to 3.19, also it seems like the patches on the site here work better than trying to use the in game patch button.
     
  4. NFIH

    NFIH Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    I don't understand how to install the BUG mod on the Steam version of BTS on Windows 8. With the 4.4 installer there is no option to choose an installation directory so it doesn't appear to get into Steam.

    Can someone explain to me, step by step, how I go about installing the mod given my setup?
     
  5. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Smarticus Pantsidae

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,386
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    Try the default Custom Assets install and run the installer as Administrator. That means right click on the file and choose "Run as Administrator". It should install in the right place, which is %Documents%\My Games\Beyond the Sword\...
     
  6. NFIH

    NFIH Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    OK, I tried that and it seemed to install in the same way it did when I first tried installing it. But now when I hit the BTS shortcut created by Steam, an error message flashes for a second saying something to the effect of "ignoring the BUG Mod/4.4 path." BTS loads anyway, but without BUG.

    I can't find an exe for BUG anywhere either to try that. Still stuck ...
     
  7. Tuscarora87

    Tuscarora87 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Trogir, Dalmatia
    I installed BAT 1.41 that was provided from page 5 of the thread, and there is no darker 'Blue Marble' water for me. It's still light.
    Spoiler :
    I'm not even sure this is the only graphical malfunction. The same is with Fall from Heaven 2 mod. Everything -seems- good except water (light again). If I uninstall BAT 1.41, then water becomes darker again. Light water is unwatchable, unplayable... and I can't without Blue Marble mod. Dark water is why Blue Marble was and is great. Anyway, I have BtS 3.19 and BUG 4.4 installed. BAT 1.41 was installed -not as mod- and with checked high res blue marble graphics.

    Is there any way to have darker water with BAT 1.41, which is really great mod?

    Another question. Does BAT 1.41 (5th topic page) automatically install 'better AI', or there is an another link?
     
  8. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Smarticus Pantsidae

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,386
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    I'm confused as to why your water is that light. BAT 4.1 uses the same "dark" water as Blue Marble and the original BTS does. I did a little experiment with lighter water in BAT 4.0, but people hated it, so I changed it back in 4.1

    I'll look at the water files, but your water looks like BAT 4.0 to me. Can you get a screenie without the clouds in it? Just the shoreline and deep ocean in one shot so I can see. Thanks. :)

    BAT 4.1 doesn't automatically install Better AI, that's a separate mod. If you want Better AI with BAT, you can download Better BAT AI. It's made by me, and you can find the d/l link in my sig. Note that it has the same Blue Marble water as BAT 4.1 does.
     
  9. Tuscarora87

    Tuscarora87 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Trogir, Dalmatia
    I uninstalled and deleted whole Civilization 4 (just everything) and installed it again: C4+patches+Warlords+patches+BtS+3.17+3.19, then Blue Marble high res, then BAT 4.1 as a mod (later not as mod... + BMarble high res...) and... it doesn't work: light water and possibly everything is somewhat lighter, although it is noticeable that textures look better and BAT 4.1 content is fully present. And there is no problem with other mods, now. They all have darker water.

    The 1st scr. shows light water (closer), the 2nd shows how is with other mods and the 3th is again light water. You can see the difference on the mini maps.
    Spoiler :

    Spoiler :

    Spoiler :


    If it is happening only to me, probably there are some conflicts. Hard to say where. Lucky as I am, things could be messed up all the way to registries.:sad::D

    I have windows XP.

    Maybe I'm doing something wrong. Did I deleted BUG 4.4 files properly? I'll still keep trying to tweak something.

    Where can I download BUG 4.5 solo? Or would it be good to use any BAT version before 4.0?
     
  10. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Smarticus Pantsidae

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,386
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    I don't think that you're doing anything wrong. BAT must be using lighter textures for the water, like standard BTS does. I know some mods use darker water and textures, especially Realism Invictus. BAT uses the standard Blue Marble textures. There are darker ones in the BM installer, but I never used them for BAT. You can install the darker ones from BM into standard BTS and then copy the water files into BAT. It isn't hard. Just install the dark textures into BTS and then let me know if you like that and we can go from there.
     
  11. Tuscarora87

    Tuscarora87 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Trogir, Dalmatia
    Yes, this helped me. Thank you so much. :worship:
    I copied 'water file' from BtS-BlueMarble (normal/standard brightness was enough) to BAT1.41 'terrain/water' folder

    So, BAT 1.41 water was lighter by default? Or?

    I think there's no need to change anything else. Graphics now looks as they should. Beautiful blue/indigo water, green grasslands... Mystical darker tones dissimulate graphical imperfections of the original look.

    I'm so glad I can now play BlueMarble/Bat/Bug/Bull together. The game is almost unplayable without these.
     
  12. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Smarticus Pantsidae

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,386
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    I'm glad you're enjoying the mod. :)
     
  13. MarkJohnson

    MarkJohnson Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    601
    First I'd like to thank you guys for making the BUG mode. I love it very much and always use it.

    However, lately I've been playing Civ V to try out the Brave New World expansion and I like the game much better.

    So, I was wondering if you guys make a version of BUG for Civ V? Or if you know of a good alternative?
     
  14. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Smarticus Pantsidae

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,386
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    I don't think there is a version of BUG made for Civ V. I'm sorry, but I don't know of a good alternative. I don't play Civ V.
     
  15. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    8,884
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    I tried to get a free pre-release version of Civ V by promising to make a BUG version for it. They didn't bite. In the end, i didn't buy Civ V and from the sound of it, that was a good investment.
     
  16. zarakand

    zarakand Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    560
    Location:
    Chicago
    Just installed these mods again and am enjoying a game of Civ IV for the first time in several years. It still hold up!
     
  17. mintegar

    mintegar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    I'm sorry it took me so long to reply, back in mid-2013 i didn't know how to calculate the checksum with windows builtin tools. And i didn't want to suggest cygwin which i normally use for that, because it seems like overkill to install for just that.

    But today it dawned on me :goodjob: It is possible to do it with the windows powershell.

    Here are the Instructions, should work on windows 7 and 8:
    1. Search for powershell in the Start-Menu (7) or Start-Screen (8) and run it.
    2. The Powershell Window shows a Prompt displaying PS followed by the current Path and > at the End. It should start out in your home-directory, e.g.: PS C:\Users\joe>
    3. Use the "cd" Command to change to the Directory where you Downloaded the Installer into. If you use the standard Downloads Directory in your Home-Dir, you can just type: cd Downloads
    4. The Command to calculate the SHA256 sum is:
    Get-FileHash '.\The BAT Mod v 4.1 Installer.exe'

    Note that you can use Tab-Completion to enter this without typing it all out. Just type: get-f <Tab> <Space> the <Tab>
    (If you have multiple files beginning with "the", just press Tab several times till you get to the right one)

    Edit: You can select the Hash with the mouse and then copy it to the clipboard by doing a right-click.

    As for why i think it would be nice if checksums where posted: Theoretically someone could hack a mirror and let loose a virus on the files stored there. When i can compare the checksum to the one posted here in the forum, there is a chance i could notice the problem.
     
  18. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Smarticus Pantsidae

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,386
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    Thanks for the resource, mintegar.

    I'll be sure to post checksums with the next releases. :)
     
  19. Cyborg T

    Cyborg T Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Will there ever be a new version of BAT? Or is the version 4.1 the last one?
     
  20. Lemon Merchant

    Lemon Merchant Smarticus Pantsidae

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,386
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Red Sector A
    I'm working on version 5.0, but real life is taking its toll, and I'm having issues with some of it. But be patient. It is coming. :)
     

Share This Page