1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Download RF:Greek World alpha here!

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall of the Greek World' started by Arkaeyn, Oct 9, 2009.

  1. Arkaeyn

    Arkaeyn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    nomad, USA
    Here's the initial release of Rhye's and Fall of the Greek World!

    v.028a

    v.025a

    Spoiler :
    • This is a very early build. I'm hoping that we can collect significant data on how the game proceeds - how the technology tree, history, map, and gameplay balance together.
    • I'm also looking to fix the mod up cosmetically. There are a few cases where the XML doesn't point to anything, so the mod just says things like TXT_KEY_IND_01 in the replay file.
    • Religions are unchanged from normal Civ4. This is a major issue, and not one I know how to fix immediately.
    • Most of the new civs don't have leaderheads assigned, so they all look like Gilgamesh. It appears that this is controlled in the Python instead of the XML, but I can't find where. Looking for help with this.
    • The city names map is not included, so they run like normal Civ4. Some civs, like the Hittites and the Phoenicians, have full names lists. Others, like Etruria, Israel or Athens, did not. I've given them alternate civ name lists.

      India===>Etruria
      Germany===>Athens
      Mali===>Israel

      These are simply placeholders until Rhye gives us another city names Excel file, which I hope will be soon! :D
    • My goal for the next version will be to implement the fleshed-out tech tree, give each civ a different leaderhead (doesn't matter which), clean up the XML pointers, and update the Wonder list.

      The spawn areas also need fixing, but that's out of my league at the moment.


    • Goals for next version -

      Hopefully get settler maps from Rhye
      Balanced tech and unit costs
      New buildings and wonders


      If you want to do any work on the mod, post what you're doing and go for it!


    DOWNLOAD LINK: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=XIMJ5MGY
    http://rapidshare.com/files/298702783/RFGW028a.rar
     
  2. Arkaeyn

    Arkaeyn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    nomad, USA
    Getting to the beta -

    • No game-halting bugs
    • Mod acts as a reasonable historical simulation
    • City names map implemented
    • Settler map implemented
    • War map implemented
    • Accurate spawn areas and dates
    • Full tech tree
    • Full unit list
    • Full list of wonders
    • Full list of buildings
    • Unique powers, units, and buildings decided and implemented
    • Something...anything done with religions
    • Working stability
     
  3. M41d3n.dc

    M41d3n.dc Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    if you want i can translate in french and add english civs texts
     
  4. Arkaeyn

    Arkaeyn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    nomad, USA
    That sounds great, we have a lot of Francophones on the forums.
     
  5. M41d3n.dc

    M41d3n.dc Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    thanks

    now, i play only one game, and it's civ4 (particulary RFC)

    maybe religion too ?
     
  6. Steb

    Steb Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    554
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Montréal
    I'm downloading right now! I guess I'll toy with it a bit first. I sure want to help, but I'm not sure how exactly.

    I can help with the French translation too. (Or at least proofread what is done by others.)

    EDIT: I can't play, it crashes after I choose the civ!
    EDIT AGAIN: never mind, it's ok now. I was trying to load the mod directly from the private map, but that didn't work.
     
  7. M41d3n.dc

    M41d3n.dc Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    i noticed that water is sky blue like normal civ4 and not navy blue like RFC.
    and i can create the file of name of civ.


    EDIT : for UP of hunnic nation, why not the up of mongols ?
     
  8. Arkaeyn

    Arkaeyn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    nomad, USA
    Steb, if you want to fiddle with implementing the tech tree, I haven't looked at that XML at all.

    M41d3n, yeah, the graphics aren't changed. That's not something I think is that important, especially if it makes the download much bigger. At some point we should change it, but I'm in no hurry.

    UPs should probably get their own thread. They may take a while to get in the game, but may as well start brainstorming.
     
  9. Panopticon

    Panopticon Utilitarian

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,420
    Location:
    Ireland
    Leaderheads are controlled by the Python files Consts and RiseAndFall, I think.
     
  10. M41d3n.dc

    M41d3n.dc Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    and Arkaeyn, you can upload on megaupload because is more quick that rapidshare thank

    and i have add translation for civ in english and french : removed
     
  11. Arkaeyn

    Arkaeyn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    nomad, USA
    I saw a bunch of leader-related things in Consts, but that seemed to tie leaders to civs in the Greek World mod directly. That might be the problem - the python about the leader-switching isn't in the Greek World mod yet.
     
  12. M41d3n.dc

    M41d3n.dc Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    my file : removed
    wait few hours i add the name of civ
     
  13. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,118
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    I can implant Civilopedia texts like I'm doing on RFCEurope. I will start after most units, buildings, wonders etc. are included and when I have the texts.
     
  14. Steb

    Steb Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    554
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Montréal
    I'd love to (but I don't know how to do that!). I started to look at the XML and some tutorials and I'm going to try to do something.

    Quick question: there's only 47 techs on the wiki. Will that be all?
     
  15. Arkaeyn

    Arkaeyn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    nomad, USA
    I suspect there will be more techs - there's room - but this seems like a decent place to get going.


    Has anyone played the mod much? The main thing I've noticed is that Athens and Etruria tend to get screwed over by the spawn of their Spartan and Roman neighbors.
     
  16. micbic

    micbic Optimistic Pessimist

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,116
    Location:
    A bit N of 2 tiles W of Athenai
    Kinda much the same goes with Phoenicia-Israel.
     
  17. M41d3n.dc

    M41d3n.dc Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    i have translated in french and in english civ text, and i add the dynamic name (but just one name)
    here

    but i don't know precisely the key of civ :

    Spoiler :

    <Tag>TXT_KEY_DN_EGY00</Tag> #HERE
    <English>Egyptian Old Kingdom</English>


    thank
     
  18. Steb

    Steb Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    554
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Montréal
    Huh? What do you mean with the key of the civ? What about the Ancien empire égyptien?

    I played a grand total of 1 game (as Egypt). Persia became very powerful (very very) and won a time victory, and Carthage and Rome followed. Athens was quite powerful and was the tech/wonder lead until its collapse, while Sparta was weak until Athens' fall. Etruria (collapsed) and Phoenicia (survived with one city in Sinai) and the Byzantines (almost killed at the start by Persia) didn't do anything at all. Will play more eventually.

    Oh, and Rome's capital was Madras (flipped Etruscan city) and they built their first city, Rome, in Sicily :crazyeye:
     
  19. Fierabras

    Fierabras Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,114
    Arkaeyn, I have finally managed to download 0.25a from that dreadful Rapidshare. Is this version the one how Rhye left it? Or are there already changes made (by you or others)?

    Do you have some sort of version control setup (SVN repository) to merge additions and changes?
     
  20. Bonci

    Bonci Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    729
    Location:
    Tridentum - Italia
    In my game as the huns (i had a lot of fun playing them trying to raze and burn) i saw a very very powerful persia because egypt, babylon, israel and phoenicia were vassals...they managed to conquer northern greece too for a short time...

    In greece Athens collapsed due to the barbarian invasions a few turns after it spawned...sparta had 2 cityes for the whole game and macedonia collapsed due to massive barbarian invasions after the conquest of Athens...then in northern greece rose a powerful germanic kingdom XD

    Rome succesfully conquered etruria only in 100 ad (barbarians helped) and never conquered more than italy

    oh and hittites collapsed due to barbarian invasions too!

    so i'd say: less barbarians O_O
     

Share This Page