Dreams of Machu Picchu

steveg700

Deity
Boy, it would be nice to be able to build Machu Picchu one day, rather than have to conquer whichever AI civ has it.

Anyone here ever gotten it? The AI must really beeline Engineering, because it's plain to see them halfway done as I'm just getting into Engineering. I can have three builders lining up to chop for Magnus, and they all get dismissed when the tech finally unlocks and it's not in the queue anymore.

Anybody had luck with this? I'm not sure if all AI civ's follow a similar beeline, but certainly the required is so lax that it's easy for many civ's to attempt it. Not like they were going to build something else over that mountain.

I've built it, but I play King difficulty. But even then it's a very popular wonder that goes quickly. My impression is that the AI likes to build it even if they don't have that many mountain tiles that can provide adjacency.

I'm unsure if I've built the Meenkashi Temple, it also goes fast. Don't mind though, trash wonder.

Once. On a freak map where almost everyone I met started off with very few mountains. It's a fun wonder to have so it's definitely one of the ones I wish the AI didn't prioritize so hard. :/

Makes me wonder if it might need to have its requirement tightened up a bit.

Not sure how though. Maybe a minimum population?

Never built it on Deity as it goes too soon. I'd rather go after the Pyramids and/or Colosseum early on if I'm going to prioritize a wonder.

I think I've managed it a couple of times, but I've also many times seen it built before I even had Engineering researched. Even though I am usually ahead overall in Science, the AI prioritizes Engineering ferociously and often gets the Wonder a good 20 - 30 turns before I could have even started it. Maccu and the Great Bath have got to be the two most AI Sought-After Wonders in the game now.

Last edited:
I regularly get it on emperor, but that still means losing out in like half of games.