1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Dumb Expansion Q From a Civ Noob

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by PaladinXII, Jul 25, 2008.

  1. PaladinXII

    PaladinXII Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    I was wondering if the expansions "stack." In other words, if you have both Warlords and Beyond the Sword, do you have access to all of the new leaders, units, etc. from both?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Civsassin

    Civsassin Immortal

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    830
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    Yes. Warlords piggy backs on Civ Vanilla, and BTS piggy backs on Warlords. You get all of the functionality of each if you are playing BTS.
     
  3. MrCynical

    MrCynical Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,507
    Location:
    The Dreaming Spires
    All the leaders, units, etc. are included in BtS anyway, so if you've got that you've got everything possible in the main game.
     
  4. PaladinXII

    PaladinXII Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ah. So if I understand, correctly:

    Warlords contains everything that Civ IV (Core) has plus the new modes.
    BtS contains everything that Civ IV (Core) AND Warlords has plus the new modes.

    So... the question I have then is, what happens if you have Civ IV and BtS but not Warlords?
     
  5. InFeRnOgTiTaN

    InFeRnOgTiTaN Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    ^ I have all of them but I would imagine that you wouldn't have access to the Warlords scenarios.

    Anyone else want to add to that?
     
  6. PaladinXII

    PaladinXII Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    I imagine that there are some critical pieces of Warlords that are carried forward on the BtS disk, but if they continue to sell Warlords, it must not have been made obsolete by BtS. There is a cool bundle on Steam of all three parts for $60.

    I've never used Steam before, but I've heard good things.
     
  7. Civsassin

    Civsassin Immortal

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    830
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    You do have access to Warlord scenarios. All you have to do is use the Warlords CD or CIV IV Gold CD, whichever you have.
     
  8. PaladinXII

    PaladinXII Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Civsassin,

    I think that Inferno was replying to my question about having Civ IV and BtS but not Warlords. I was wondering what the effect was on gameplay, content, etc.
     
  9. Civsassin

    Civsassin Immortal

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    830
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    Can you have BTS without Warlords?
     
  10. PaladinXII

    PaladinXII Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    That's my question. It's a matter of curiosity more than practicality. I haven't made a purchase yet, but have played demos.

    I think I'm going to run it on my Mac, but through BootCamp. I'm tired of getting screamed at for being under the requirements for not having a standalone video card.
     
  11. Julian Delphiki

    Julian Delphiki Anton's key

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,738
    Location:
    Helsinki, Funland
    Yes you can, you need only the original game for BtS.
     
  12. Civsassin

    Civsassin Immortal

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    830
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    I may be wrong, but I think you need Warlords to run BTS.
     
  13. Supr49er

    Supr49er 2011 Thunderfall Cup

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,603
    Location:
    Bear Flag Republic
    No. You just need Civ IV to run BTS.
     
  14. PaladinXII

    PaladinXII Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    So... if you just have Civ IV and BtS, what do you lose by not having Warlords?
     
  15. mrt144

    mrt144 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11,071
    Location:
    Seattle
    YOU ARE WRONG!

    As has been said already and should be picked up easily by anyone.

    You don't need warlords ot run BTS. The only thing that Warlords has that BTS doesn't is specific scenarios that were created for warlords. end of discussion.
     
  16. mrt144

    mrt144 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11,071
    Location:
    Seattle
    scenarios that were created for warlords.

    i feel like we are going in circles here.
     
  17. Lord Shadow

    Lord Shadow General

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,812
    Location:
    Buenos Aires
    BTS includes Warlords' new gameplay features and mechanics, but as mrt144 said, you need the latter to get its scenarios.
     
  18. Retrospect

    Retrospect Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    UK
    I feel I need to clarify in one post what others have said!

    If you have CivIV and BTS the only thing you will lack is the Warlords scenarios! Everything else is included in BTS... so if you don't play scenarios don't bother getting it.

    Sorry if i have repeated what others have said in a different way, was just confusing to someone who did not know :)
     
  19. PaladinXII

    PaladinXII Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Sorry if I caused a row. I appreciate all of your replies and the clarifications.

    I've not played much Civilization before (but have a couple of friends who are major fans). Given that the difference in cost between purchasing all three and only purchasing Civ IV and one expansion is a mere $10 (when purchased over Steam).

    I suppose I could also purchase Civ IV Gold and BtS for the same $60 on disk.

    Anyone have thoughts about which way to go?

    Thanks, again!
     
  20. Plinko16

    Plinko16 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    100
    Well, if you want to play with the Warlords rules (say, having great generals and the Warlords leaders but no espionage and no AP), or maybe you want to play the Warlords Game of the Month), you'll need to own the Warlords expansion.
     

Share This Page