1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Dumbest AI moves

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Wacky_Warrior, Apr 18, 2010.

  1. remake20

    remake20 :)

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,901
    Ah, hahaha :lol:
     
  2. David7

    David7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Irony?

    Anyway, I like how you can occasionally bait a whole stack away with an undefended worker or scout
     
  3. mariogreymist

    mariogreymist Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,201
    I've done that to establish a base from which to launch a bomber/tank war. I'll settle a city with nothing but coast to work, assuming it will at least be able to work a fish or something after taking down the first city.
     
  4. bestbrian

    bestbrian Just this guy, ya know?

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,344
    Location:
    NYC
    This is from a game I played a couple of years ago (one of my first Emperor games, Huge/Marathon/Pangea). I'm all the way on the far Eastern side of a huge continent. I start slowly, but surely, expanding West and South. Soon I realize Vicky is teching very well. Later I realize that Vicky is in a prime position to become a runaway AI. So I start expanding out towards her, and fight my way through about three civs to get an ample military to her borders. It takes a long time, and I'm dreading that she'll have Rifles or Infantry before I get in a position to attack. When I'm finally ready to drop the hammer I discover the truth: she never teched Rifling. She went Scientific Method, Physics, Biology, et al, and even Assembly Line, but never teched Rifling. :confused: As the Ottoman Hordes came ever closer, she did absolutely nothing to defend herself. Fail, Vicky, fail. :lol:
     
  5. remake20

    remake20 :)

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,901
    I did a small LP for youtube on prince and by turn 60 the AI only had two warriors.
     
  6. Revenant

    Revenant Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    266
    Location:
    Ireland
    I had just launched my spaceship and noticed on victory conditions that Gandhi would win with a cultural victory by 5 turns. I was too far away to do anything about it. So I get to five turns before it lands and.. nothing. Checked again and he was 40 turns from cultural victory. Seems he dropped his culture rate at the last minute for absolutely no reason at all! :lol:
     
  7. diegovelasco45

    diegovelasco45 Casual civ4 emperor lvl

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Ecuador
    Yeah but what they do is: keep a crappy city, block my coastline, and get that "our close borders piss me off."

    Most of the time my culture takes over or I just attack it along with their main territories.
     
  8. Isikien

    Isikien WHOA

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    An AI stacks up a formidable line of protective longbowmen in their capital over a few turns...

    ... and then proceeds to move then out in eight different directions. I then proceed to take his city with one knight.
     
  9. mariogreymist

    mariogreymist Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,201
    I recall playing a Darius game where I decided to rush a nearby Alexander. His capital had 6 archers on a hill when my immortals (12 of them) got to the spot in the nook of its bfc. He proceeded to move 4 of them out the turn before I DoWed and took his capital. Then he attacked a force of unwounded Immortals on a hill with the 4 archers returning to Athens. Not exactly roleplaying the great general, was the AI.

    I've seen the AI do this too often to think it rare though. It's usually not quite that dramatic though.
     
  10. Isikien

    Isikien WHOA

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    I have to admit, my justification for the drama is kinda underplayed by the fact it was a GG knight against a Crossbow garrison. Still, it's insane as to why they do this.
     
  11. andersw

    andersw King

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    941
    Location:
    sweden
    A common AI move is to build Versailles in Capital or in a city next to capital.
     
  12. Revenant

    Revenant Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    266
    Location:
    Ireland
    This wouldn't be so bad if they'd then move their palace, but I guess they never do.
     
  13. georgjorge

    georgjorge Deity Wannabe

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    900
    It's fun to do a mounted/spies war because you'll have enough spy points to see that their cities are producing nothing to stop your troops whatsoever. I was conquering with Cataphracts - first the Mayans, who kept on building Versailles, Caravels, Prisons and other espionage buildings while I beat down his troops. Then the Incas, who were producing...Quechuas (about 1200 AD)! It was strange...
     
  14. Clam Spammer

    Clam Spammer Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    560
    Location:
    Quake City, NZ
    They do.
     
  15. happyturtle

    happyturtle Mrs GrumpyOldCivver

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    860
    Monty and Brennus have been at war, and each taken a city from the other. After they kiss and make up, they never exchange cities back. Both cities end up culture starved while I finish conquering the rest of the world. :lol:

    Spoiler :


    In another game, Suryavarman takes a city that is sandwiched between me (going for a culture win) and Ramesses (who always has culture to spare). We're on a Pangea map and the rest of Survy's civ is on the far side of the continent. He lets it starve down to one population and cost him who knows how much maintenance to hang on to it. :p
     
  16. Absolute Zero

    Absolute Zero Settler

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    245
    Location:
    USA
    The AI often fortifies its units around cities (not in them) for apparently no reason, and then doesn't move them into the cities when they're under attack. In my current game, I declared war on Louis with 6 Quechuas. His capital had 2 Archers in it and 1 Archer fortified on a forest right next to the city. Although it still took a couple of turns until my stack reached his city, he refused to move his Archer into his city, and I took his capital easily.
     
  17. Kullervo

    Kullervo Mahler/Sibelius Freak

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    793
    Location:
    Hell (Florida)
    I just finished a Deity game where Ragnar is almost equal to me (Huyana Capac) in power. He DOW's. His invasion force? 1 chariot which took a worker right next to a city with 2 spearmen in it and... 2 Buddhist missionaries. I am not kidding.

    So, I move my army out. I have been building troops like crazy the 50 turns of the game, and have a decent mixed army of Axes promoted from Quechuas, spears, swords, and HA's. I attack him. He has 5 cities, but he has only 2 or 3 units in each. Where is his army?

    After he's down to one city, I sent a HA to look around the countryside (because the city was walled on a plains hill, so I was waiting until my 2 catapults made their way down before attacking.) Turns out he had 6 axes, 5 swords, 4 chariots, and 4 archers (and ANOTHER Buddhist missionary) attacking a barbarian city far to the east.
     
  18. Scarlet Lux

    Scarlet Lux Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    USA
    The AI's biggest mistake is declaring war on me. ;)
     
  19. Kullervo

    Kullervo Mahler/Sibelius Freak

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    793
    Location:
    Hell (Florida)
    I was going to say that, but dismissed it as too obvious. :p
     
  20. danjuno

    danjuno Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,935
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Meme City
    Like cheese said, he could have moved it into Berlin and fortified it, or he could have blockaded my warrior (which would have been just as effective.), but he didin't. Besides, I didn't have it set to require total kills.
     

Share This Page