Dune Mod

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Creation & Customization' started by lexdex, Dec 17, 2005.

  1. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,709
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN

    I d/l it and have no idea what is going on with it, i cant figure out how to use it it keeps coming up error and i d/l another one and same thing, i d/l the extra plug-in also, just cant figure it out. sorry. I guess i just need someone to send me a good copy is all.(of the nif viewer):blush:
     
  2. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    You need these files in the same folder as the .NIF files you want to look at.

    [offtopic]
     

    Attached Files:

  3. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,709
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Still get the same thing,"Render creation failed"[offtopic] sorry?

    Nevermind i just deleted everything. I cant get that graphics stuff.
    I even tried blender, no use i dont understand anything of this jibber jabber??
     
  4. HecticHermit

    HecticHermit Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    well you could use Blender, and get the nifviewer export/import script, its what I got....Hey guys I found a pretty good human character wizard, its simple you just click and drag to get the human features you want......it makes leader modelling alot easier.....just need one for rigging...its called makehuman....its not complete but its still very useful...hmmm i'll try and get some samples to show yall....hmm well I'll go work on that bback in a bit....
     
  5. HecticHermit

    HecticHermit Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    19



    Hmm hers a sample I made in Makehuman and rendered in blender....makehuman can't do much besides make humans hehe:goodjob:
     
  6. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    nice baron harkonnen, now just give him a fuzzy little bit of remaining red hair :)
     
  7. HecticHermit

    HecticHermit Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    well we need an animation....what kind of clothes does the baron wear? armor,leather,silk,etc..need some examples......i'll go with dark leather and maybe a little armor
     
  8. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    instead of armor, try to make a "suspensor belt". this is what the fat man used to float about since his crippling disease from bene gesserit witch.
     
  9. ArneHD

    ArneHD Just a little bit mad

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,153
    Location:
    Tromsø, Norway
    I think Red is the colour of the Harkonnen and the emblem is a blue griffin. NOT a ram head.
     
  10. Lionheaad

    Lionheaad Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Arnhem, Netherlands
    bene gesserit should be playable.

    The colours of the house is a good one.
    The emblem of the harkonnen is blue. The emblem of the artreides is red.
    But the house colours were different. I have the read the book to be sure....
     
  11. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    what settlements would the bene gesserit have?
     
  12. sharivari

    sharivari Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    HEllo,

    I'm sorry i didn't read all the post, but i have a question about a dune mod. Is it possible to use the bts scénario together. I mean, having the mod with the planets and when you click the planet you have a map like the normal civ. It should be great if it could be possible.
     
  13. Fanatic Demon

    Fanatic Demon Student in Wizardry

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    403
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Is this mod still beeing developed? Sounds realy intresting to play.

    If not we have to continue creating it. If there are any artirst out there that would like to team up with a SDK/Programmer specialist to create a Dune Mod for BTS, I will volenteer.
     
  14. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    gosh. this thread has been buried for many months :) we had managed to get started a while back, but nothing got finished. there were plenty of 'idea' people, but not enough 'doing' people.

    what this mod will need is a programmer, and a 3d modeler. and probably a fresh thread.

    i will revisit this mod, once i finish Second Revolution 3.0 :)
     
  15. Seven05

    Seven05 Warmonger

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,056
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    Well, I love Sci-fi but I'm already working on my own 'generic' Sci-fi mod. If Fanatic Demon joins up you wouldn't need me anyway, I'm in the same boat he is... a programmer looking for artists :)
     
  16. seZereth

    seZereth FfH´s art monk(ey)

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,900
    Location:
    Bayreuth
    what a pitty u dont like fantasy... warhammer has artists, but lacks dedicated programmers :p
     
  17. Ikael

    Ikael King

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    873
    Great idea for a mod! However, I have a suggestion here. Dune is mainly a desert, with very few spots apt for water / irrigation. A nice way to represent it would be to concentrate the food production on a few, ultra productive squares, while leaving the rest of the tiles devoted to production of commerce. For example, the a usual thing would be to have a city with only 4 squares producing a lot of food each, something along the lines of "deep oasis 5 :food: base production, +3 :food: with windcatcher improvement). That would also change quite a big the economic war: to focus into occupying and pillaging the few vital food spots would be a more viable strategy since that could decrease a city population in a more decisive way.
     
  18. Fanatic Demon

    Fanatic Demon Student in Wizardry

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    403
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    This would definetly require some AI changes, otherwise, it would be far to easy to starve a city to dead.

    One thing would also be required would be abilty is the transportation of units by secondary units, like orni chopters and worms.

    Caves should just like in Dune 1 play a vital strategicly role, in the way that they allow cities to be build underground.
     
  19. Ikael

    Ikael King

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    873
    Sure, but I think that it would be a cool thing to change the way you assediate a city. Open field battles will be more common (as they should since we are fighting on a huge desertic planet), and not only the control, but the defense of the food (water) resources will be more vital than ever.

    Another possible way to representate the importance of water could be the following one: create a "water resource". Thing is, instead of adding one of health like any other food resource, it would add 1 extra food on every city and it is accumulable (a la corporation resources), thus making it vital for the growth of the empire.
     
  20. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    i say simply replace food with water, hammers with energy, and gold with spice
     

Share This Page