1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Dutch Republic

Discussion in 'Civ5 - New Civilizations' started by Lord Alderaan, Nov 3, 2010.

  1. Lord Alderaan

    Lord Alderaan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    This Dutch mod focusses on a balanced trait, unit and building that combined with the art makes a Dutch civilization that feels unique and atmospheric.

    It is also intended to be compatible with all other mods out there. If it seems incompatible with another mod let me know.

    I present to you the Dutch Republic (v 5):



    To get it search for Dutch Republic in the mod browser or download the package here.


    I'd love to hear feedback. Especially about balance, bugs and typos :)

    Pics
    Dawn of Mankind:
    Spoiler :

    East Indiaman:
    Spoiler :

    Civilopedia entries:
    Spoiler :






    In-game screenshot:
    Spoiler :

    In this game I also run a bunch of other (fully compatible) mods:
    Economy Mod
    City-State Diplomacy Mod 2
    Emigration
    Venice: The Most Serene Republic
    City States of the World



    [size=-3]Thanks Opera for a reference on how to implement this trait.
    Thanks Kael for the uber guide.
    Thanks everyone at #erebus for being a neat little group of great modders :p[/size]

    Updates:
    Spoiler :
    v2:
    Trait bonus now correctly applies empire wide (it only worked in the capital in v1).
    Various Typo and Pedia fixes.

    v3:
    Art update. No gameplay difference.

    v5: (v4 was a failed upload)
    Fixed compatibility with the new Civilization V patch.


    For all you Dutch fanatics:
    Dutch Civilization - Extensive: New units, buildings and wonders and great art.
    Dutch Empire - The first one and with a very potent trait.
     
  2. Lord Alderaan

    Lord Alderaan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    *reserved*
     
  3. Lord Alderaan

    Lord Alderaan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Uploaded v2:
    Trait bonus now correctly applies empire wide (it only worked in the capital in v1).
    Various Typo and Pedia fixes.
     
  4. Hyronymus

    Hyronymus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,860
    Gender:
    Male
    Nice work, going to try it. Have you changed city names too?
     
  5. Lord Alderaan

    Lord Alderaan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    I imported the Dutch city names from Civ IV BTS but I changed the order of the first 6-ish cities to more accurately represent their importance in the Dutch Republic time period. Starting with the capitals of the three most powerful provinces: Holland, Utrecht and Zeeland.

    The list also includes important Dutch cities from other eras.

    Spoiler :

    This is a pic of my current game, I also run a bunch of other mods:
    Economy Mod
    City-State Diplomacy Mod 2
    Emigration
    Venice: The Most Serene Republic
    City States of the World
     
  6. Opera

    Opera Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,643
    Really like it :goodjob:

    The gold bonus is powerful. Not sure if it's too powerful or not. I had never the slightliest gold deficit though.

    Funny that your screenshot features Venice... In my game, I was on a small continent with Venice and China and Venice scared the hell out of me, quickly spreading on 50% of the continent! Their culture is quite good. It's even more funny that both the Dutch and the Venetian traits work the same way :lol:
     
  7. Lord Alderaan

    Lord Alderaan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Yeah, Venice was omgwtf spamming cities. We're actually on good terms though, even though I messed with 'his' City States and founded a City close to him :)

    Since I play with the CS Diplo Mod I don't spend money on CSs and thus it is hard to determine whether the trait is too power. My guestimate is that from turn 100 on it's a balanced trait. It's the first 100 turns where the extra gold can be a bit OP. Especially since you do not have to actually build the improvement on the resource tile to get it (nothing I can do about this with just XML I think).

    When I compare the trait to Mother Russia which gives a +1 production bonus which is more useful then +2 gold and doubles important resources to boot I guess it's kinda fair, especially considering Lux resources show earlier and are more common then strategic ones.
     
  8. Elwood

    Elwood Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Hey dit ziet er goed uit , ga deze mod zeker proberen.

    Merci voor je werk.
     
  9. Lord Alderaan

    Lord Alderaan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    I uploaded v3:
    Major art update. No gameplay difference.

    See the new pics in the Opening Post.
     
  10. bru

    bru Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2001
    Messages:
    390
    Location:
    Victoria Canada
    Thank you for your exellent effort!!
     
  11. Bradicus

    Bradicus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Canada
    Good effort... my only constructive criticism is that I feel you have made them slightly overpowered... those are some awesome bonuses! Too awesome. Maybe dial it back just a bit and it'd be more balanced =D
     
  12. Lord Alderaan

    Lord Alderaan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Well... I was afraid of that too at first since the UA can give a bit of cash boost early on but after playing it for a while now I don't think the UA is actually OP. Remember it only affects Luxury Resources, none of the bonus or strategic resources. I am gonna try and find a way to implement it so that you do have to develop the Luxury Resource before you can get the +2 :c5gold: gold bonus.

    The Caravel is an exploring unit that isn't the backbone of any serious navy, the +3 :c5rangedstrength: ranged strength boost the East Indiaman gets just helps it outlive other Caravels not win naval wars. The movement bonus is certainly nice for an exploring unit, but if you compare it to how the English get +2 :c5moves: movement for all naval ships and have a better combat vessel to boot I don't think its really OP either.

    The Windmill is a building that is reasonably expensive for its use and can only be build on non-hill cities. Because the Windmill is a Renaissance building the +3 :c5food: food bonus of the Polder is already less useful, and it is also offset by the +1 :c5gold: increased maintenance.


    I think it is fairly on par to most core civs. In fact unlike many of the core game civs it doesn't even boost a specific victory strategy. If you're planning on going for a specific win and want to pick the best civ to get it I'm pretty sure you'll never end up picking the Dutch :)


    Good, that is just my POV :p I'm open to suggestions of how to balance this if more people agree it is OP this way. In fact, I'm open to all kinds of suggestions, even crazy currently unimplementable ones :p
     
  13. Praetor Gaius

    Praetor Gaius Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    Looks nice! I'll have to try it out.

    Love the DOM screen art. That must have taken a long time to get right. You seemed to pick the right UUs and with Trade Empire bonus.

    Good job! :goodjob:
     
  14. Yskonyn

    Yskonyn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Very cool MOD! Thanks for your work and be sure to keep up the good work! ;)
     
  15. Lord Alderaan

    Lord Alderaan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Thanks!

    I'm working on compatibility with the latest patch right now. I've got all issues fixed but one.
     
  16. Lord Alderaan

    Lord Alderaan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Ok, compatibility with latest patch is fixed. v5 is on the mod browser and in the OP.
     
  17. juckie

    juckie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Maybe the circus can help, at least, it's code.
    It has the "improved" requisite.

    You could also ask the creator of the Balance mod, it has a stable with the same "improved" clause, so he could be of assistance.
     
  18. Lord Alderaan

    Lord Alderaan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Good idea. And I actually looked into that when I created the mod. However my trait is implemented using an empire wide free building and sadly pre-requisites are simply ignored by free buildings.

    If you for example granted a free Harbor in every city you'd also get harbors in non-coastal cities :)

    I know Valk through a IRC channel we both frequent (see thanks in OP). So I might ask him if he knows how to do this better, but not until after I've delved into the XML again myself first, tinkering is half the fun of modding :p

    I'm thinking the solution might lie with how the improvements themselves grant bonuses.
     
  19. Lord Alderaan

    Lord Alderaan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    I've delved into it and it doesn't seem possible without using lua.

    Since one of the priorities of this mod is compatibility with gameplay affecting mods* that isn't going to happen.

    In fact I'll be looking into any compatibility issues involving other mods with unique unit art that might already arrise right now.


    * Such as the Economy Mod and the City State Diplomacy Mod.
     
  20. Lord Alderaan

    Lord Alderaan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Ok, found out how to make the mod compatible. Clear your cache*, start the game, and check Dutch Republic last.

    However until this issue is resolved I have to manually make it compatible with each mod with unique art out there. Please let me know with which mods you all want me to make this civ compatible (please note that this mod is already compatible with any mod that has no unique art such as the Economy Mod, PerfectWorld 3, Harder Free Tech, Venice - the Most Serene Republic, Emigration, City states of the World, etc).

    So far I've added compatibility with these mods to v6:
    • City State Diplomacy Mod (The diplo units have unique art)



    * To do this close Civ 5 and delete all files in My Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 5\cache
     

Share This Page