1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

DX12 issues...

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by RisingSun, Feb 14, 2019.

  1. RisingSun

    RisingSun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Hi all!

    DX12 is faster than DX11, with better FPS and quicker turns.

    Yet a sad downturn is the leaders animations that suddenly bring the framerate to 160fps to what seems like 30fps, making the interface and the animation blocky as hell.

    Is there any solution to this?

    Thanks in advance!
     
    Killer Rabbit and Myomoto like this.
  2. liv

    liv Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,393
    There is a thread about this in the technical forum. I updated my drivers and that seemed to solve it. Too early to tell for sure
     
  3. RisingSun

    RisingSun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    There doesn't seem to be any recent thread about this. Also, my drivers are the latest.

    Does it happen to you as well? I am using an Nvidia Geforce GTX 1080Ti
     
  4. liv

    liv Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,393
    The thread is here https://forums.civfanatics.com/forums/civ6-technical-support.544/
    Yes it happened. I could not start a game. Got the message that drivers were outdated and the game returned to desktop (I could play it on DX11). There was an NVIDIA update two days ago and when I downloaded it that fixed the issues I was having
     
  5. RisingSun

    RisingSun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    That forum is virtually abandoned. Not even *one* of the threads about this issue has received an answer.

    The issue I'm complaining about is NOT what you had. My issue is that DX12 is smooth, quick and all - but leader screens, despite Steam telling me the game it's going at 80-90fps in those scenes, are very awkwardly choppy - like 30fps or so.

    Anybody using the DX12 version of the game here, at all?
     
  6. TheSpaceCowboy

    TheSpaceCowboy "Save a horse..."

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    206
    Gender:
    Male
    I played the DX12 version last night on my 980 ti rig ang noticed no problems whatsoever.
     
  7. Delvi

    Delvi Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Messages:
    85
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Italia
    I played this afternoon with my RX580 (19.1.1 drivers) and I didn't notice any issue.
     
  8. Stilgar08

    Stilgar08 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,448
    Location:
    Zeven, Germany (Lower Saxony ;)
    Here dx12 nvidia - smooth run, no problems whatsoever...
     
  9. sonicmyst

    sonicmyst Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Philippines
    I disabled antialiasing and it worked for me. GTX 960M card here.
     
  10. UncivilizedGuy

    UncivilizedGuy Civ is brain candy.

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    City State of Los Angeles
    I had this problem on my older computer. It’s a memory issue. You need more RAM.
     
  11. Cagarustus

    Cagarustus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    Messages:
    362
    I’ve been having issues with my Civ files. Whenever I go to verify integrity through steam it says that I have three files missing and then it acquires them.

    I think this is what has made the game stutter. I’ve updated my drivers and even had them with a clean install.

    I have a good rig and civ used to work well but now it doesn’t.
     
  12. mitchm75

    mitchm75 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Yes, I have the same issue with DX12. Game really wonderfully smooth, but leaders animation dropping to what feels like about 16fps.

    Using GTX 1080, I7 7700K CPU and 16GB RAM.

    It wasn't like this before Gathering Storm.
     
  13. bladex

    bladex Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    i noticed the game is a lot darker and less bright in dx12 mode too. i noticed this last night.
     
  14. Wizard-Bob

    Wizard-Bob Always remember to Find Your FUN!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Florida
    Interesting. I had that problem all last week, but it seems to have disappeared since GS installed,

    EDIT: Typos
     
  15. liv

    liv Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,393
    Someone from firaxis is asking for ini files for those still with dx12 problems in the technical forum
     
  16. leif erikson

    leif erikson Game of the Month Fanatic Administrator Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    25,837
    Location:
    Plymouth, MA
  17. Killer Rabbit

    Killer Rabbit Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    NJ
    Yes! I have this issue too with DX12. I thought it was some weird GSync issue or something, but the game runs fabulously in all cases except for the leader screens, which are super choppy. Glad it’s not just me! Will experiment more today with DX11.
     
  18. leif erikson

    leif erikson Game of the Month Fanatic Administrator Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    25,837
    Location:
    Plymouth, MA
    Please post your logs in the forum linked above. The more info Firaxis has, the quicker the fix.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2019

Share This Page