1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Earth 2010

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Scenarios' started by Barbarian King, Oct 30, 2010.

  1. allypower

    allypower Warlord

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    There is a way to change fix this. This is what I did to prevent population growth in a scenario that I'm balancing. In GlobalDefines.xml, there are three variables

    BASE_CITY_GROWTH_THRESHOLD

    CITY_GROWTH_MULTIPLIER

    FOOD_CONSUMPTION_PER_POPULATION

    The amount of food need for the next population is equal to

    BASE_CITY_GROWTH_THRESHOLD + (current city size * CITY_GROWTH_MULTIPLIER)

    So in a sense the BASE_CITY_GROWTH_THRESHOLD doesn't do too much. In my scenario, I set CITY_GROWTH_MULTIPLIER to 1000. Also I set food consumption down to 1 instead of the regular 2

    And the following happens:

    A city size of 1 takes approximately 500 turns to size 2, another 1000 turns to size 3, another 1800 turns to size 4, etc....

    A city of size 40 (producing 80 food per turn, consuming 40, with 40 extra) takes 13334 turns to size 41....

    For my scenario, I want to halt population growth almost indefinitely, so this is what happen. Also I'm planning to play my scenario to about (48 turns per year, 1000 years = 48000) turns.

    To slow down population growth, you should set the multiplier to 20~50~100 ish. You'll have to gauge it. Note that this doesn't stop Russia or Australia from growing, they just grow really slow. BUT WARNING: Everyone else is also growing very slow.

    Effectively this gives you the ability to set the initial advantage to other civs :)

    In a scenario set in 2010 where all cities have already settled and probably no more cities will be found, I found this very effective.
     
  2. allypower

    allypower Warlord

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Barbarian King, I'm not sure if you still read this thread, but I have a question. How do you add in the scroll bar for the civ scores? In a scenario I'm making, 50 opponents are a little too much to display all on the same screen. I would really appreciate it if you can show me how to make that scroll bar.
     
  3. Adhesive86

    Adhesive86 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    267
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Hi,

    Any update in the pipeline for the Mod? With the minor changes discussed?

    Just started playing this mod again and introduced it to my brother - we both love it!
     
  4. Tigranes

    Tigranes Armenian

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,727
    Anyone here interested in PBEM game with this scenario? We need 5 players with each player controlling multiple powers directly or via vassal state mechanics:

    1. American block: USA. Vassals are Israel, South Korea, Iraq, Taiwan.
    2. EU block: Germany, France, UK and EU as German Vassal.
    3. Communist block&Iran: China: Vassals are -- North Korea and Iran.
    4. Russian block: Russia with vassal Kazakhstan,
    5. Muslim block: Saudi Arabia, Pakistan, Indonesia, Egypt, Libya, Mali.

    The rest of the countries are controlled by AI. Standard victory conditions enabled. Every country starts with SDI to prevent overuse of nukes. Marathon speed, with default victories enabled. Active committed players only (48 hours per turn max).
     
  5. mediterreania

    mediterreania Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    The problem here is that the whole "Muslim bloc" thing would not be realistic, because these countries are all part of their own blocs (ex. Saudis are really American vassals; Turkey is closer to EU; Libya 2010 was Commie) IRL.

    But this is Civ, so that doesn't really matter.
     
  6. Tigranes

    Tigranes Armenian

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,727
    When it comes to defend Islam they could cooperate. Imagine if right wing radicals come to power in France, Holland, USA. Islam is rapidly expanding in Europe and at some point there will be a right wing reaction followed by counter-reaction from Muslim countries. Also all those countries unite in their dislike of Israel (Turkey just joined the club). Imagine if Israel attacks some Muslim country... Leaders of Muslim counties may align with different blocks but popular sentiment in the countries they rule is quite united. Arab spring shows what can happened with Socialist Gadaffi or USA leaning Mubarak in one year after 2010...
     
  7. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,568
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
    I have had a look at this scenario.

    Technologies are too advanced for most nations.
    - The starting tech levels, should reflect not just the knowledge the nation has but also the capability it has of building the tech units that come from it. e.g. Modern Fighters are only really capable of being built in a handful of nations.

    Other than that , it seems very well put together.
     
  8. PlutonianEmpire

    PlutonianEmpire Socially Awkward Goofball

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,796
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MinneSNOWta
    Does that go for buildings too, and/or civic options?
     
  9. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,568
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
    Pretty much everything really. I may have a go at creating a better 2010 scenario, using the same excellent framework.
     
  10. PlutonianEmpire

    PlutonianEmpire Socially Awkward Goofball

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,796
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MinneSNOWta
    Think you might be able to update it to this year?

    Spoiler :
    If you can, try to bring the Mayans back in, somehow. :mischief:
    Spoiler :
    :joke:
     
  11. Tigranes

    Tigranes Armenian

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,727
    To be honest, I really wanted to see accurate 2012 scenario. The one that reflects populations and GNPs, at least, and also navies and armies, obviously. Russia does not have active Battleship in her Navy, few countries do actually. Japan has the 3rd highest GNP, but it is trailing behind the Russia in this scenario. In my PBEM adaptation I gave Japan Feitorias (Brazilian UB) to increase her GNP and nerfed Russian population big time...

    One of the most annoying feature in modern scenarios is culture flip of the tiles. I have no idea how to nerf it and to keep cultural borders stable, just like national borders are nowadays (well, most of the time). South Korea culture chocking North Korea within 2 turns looks very ugly :sad:
     
  12. psykopulp

    psykopulp Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    hi this is great, but is there any way to play this scenario on lan or direct ip ? or in anyway in multiplayer (other than on the same computer ?)
     
  13. darknova111

    darknova111 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Hi,

    One problem: A few turns after the game starts all other civilisations (except mine) have lost a proportion of their army which means that it is far too easy for mine (UK) to wipe out any civilisation that started out less powerful anyway. Places like Libya only had 1-3 units to defend each city. Even when I deleted alot of my own units the UK still could easily out power any African/ Middle-eastern/ South American nation.

    Thanks.
     
  14. Dumanios

    Dumanios MLG

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,882
    I don't know why the AI does that. Even giving them a ton of money doesn't prevent them from deleting their units, as Tigranes has discovered.
     
  15. skyfire

    skyfire Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    313
    Location:
    Leeuwarden, Holland
    Hello Darknova,

    This is a problem of the AI. It prefers to disband units instead of building it's economy another way. I'm working on a 1990 wwIII scenario based on Earth 2010 and i learned from other modders that there is a file named :"GlobalDefines" You can find it where you installed BTS under Mods/Earth2010/Assets/XML . You can open it with wordpad or another text proggramm en change the following:

    <Define>
    <DefineName>AI_CAN_DISBAND_UNITS</DefineName>
    <iDefineIntVal>1</iDefineIntVal>
    </Define>

    into:

    <Define>
    <DefineName>AI_CAN_DISBAND_UNITS</DefineName>
    <iDefineIntVal>0</iDefineIntVal>
    </Define>

    Then close and save.
    It helps a bit. In the mod of Kiwit "Road to war historical" its works good, the ai does not disband units. So far in my scenario it still disbands units, although not as much as normal. Hope it helps.
     
  16. darknova111

    darknova111 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks for the reply!

    Thanks, I tried it, but when I tried to save it it said access it that area has been denied. It's in the 'Program Files (x86) area.

    Edit: I think I've got it to work.
     
  17. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,568
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
    I fixed this in two ways.

    1) Gave every unit a couple of promotions
    2) Gave every unit some experience

    The AI is less likely to disband units that have these.
     
  18. skyfire

    skyfire Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    313
    Location:
    Leeuwarden, Holland
    Thanks Kiwitt, i'll try that.

    Darknova: Take the folder Earth 2010 from its original location into another folder (e.g. documents) or another, then do what i discribed and than place the folder back into the original location.
    That is what i always do, works for me. Good luck.
     
  19. Barbarian King

    Barbarian King Prince

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    It has been a while since I have done any civ modding or checked this site, but since there still seems to be quite a bit of interest in this scenario I think I may have a go at updating it again. I'll post any progress to this thread.
     
  20. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,568
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
    Excellent ... can you implement this suggestion as it will stop disbanding of units.
    And here your scenario in use as multiplayer.
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?p=11666683#post11666683
     

Share This Page