1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Earth 2010

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Scenarios' started by Barbarian King, Oct 30, 2010.

  1. Pleiadian

    Pleiadian Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    NZ
    Hi Barbarian King I have played this mod many times and it's great thanks. I wonder if you would consider merging this with K-Mod? Cheers
     
  2. Barbarian King

    Barbarian King Prince

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    Progress on the update has been slow due to the fact that I've only been modding sporadically of late, but so far it is shaping up nicely. There are quite a few minor changes (especially graphically) to make things look more polished, but there are so far two major changes that I will detail as they will affect gameplay a bit. First, I have gotten the minor nations to pretty much stop deleting their armies (thanks to Kiwitt's suggestion for that one), which means they should offer much more resistance than previously. Second, I have managed to implement fixed borders (from this mod by dexy), which fixes the annoying cultural/border problems that were occuring.
    There are a few more things I want to work on before releasing the update, but hopefully it will be ready within the next few weeks.
     
  3. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,568
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
    Excellent progress. I look forward to it.

    Another thing that may help disbanding is any new units also start with "free" experience and a "free" promotion based on the buildings and government types, etc.
     
  4. sunwukong8

    sunwukong8 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    if you want to stop the ai from disbanding practically all their units, go to CIV4UnitInfos.xml and change all the iExtraCost to 0. Then go to GlobalDefines.xml and change AI_CAN_DISBAND_UNITS to 0. You can compensate by changing INITIAL_GOLD_PER_UNIT from 1 to 2.

    Note that having all the units each country begins with will drastically slow down the game. It will also make it impossible to do anything as Isreal.
     
  5. Adhesive86

    Adhesive86 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    267
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Will be great to see the new release.

    Is there any rebalancing away from Russia? (a nerf to their population growth)
     
  6. sunwukong8

    sunwukong8 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    go to GlobalDefines.xml and change BASE_CITY_GROWTH_THRESHOLD from 20 to say 100, CITY_GROWTH_MULTIPLIER from 2 to say 5.
     
  7. Tigranes

    Tigranes Armenian

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,729
    I look forward to that! I thought that you have gave up on modding, glad to see you didn't. I would really love to see very realistic modern Earth one day, with Japan having 3rd largest GDP even with 3 cites :lol:

    The game runs really balanced in marathon speed, no super fast grown Russia, perhaps you should consider to make it default speed?


    P.S. Have you checked our PBEM game?
     
  8. Austellman

    Austellman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Looks like a nice mod but it doesn't load for me. Any helpful tips?
     
  9. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,568
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
  10. IrishDragon

    IrishDragon Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    443
    Any further updates on this? Enjoyed playing it
     
  11. Bryce3

    Bryce3 King of Wessex

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Kingdom of Wessex
    Hello Mr. Barbarian King. I'm working on a Modern World mod and was wondering whether you could make some leaders and units for me. I have already included your techs, units, buildings and leaderheads(Iv'e put you in the credits). I'm trying to make every country in the world (although the scenario will only have 50 :)) so I need as many animated leaderheads as possible. If its not you making the leaders then: A) "Sorry, wrong number" and B) "Who made them for you and do you think theyd make more. Thanks.
     
  12. Barbarian King

    Barbarian King Prince

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    @ Bryce3
    None of the 3D models (units, buildings, LHs) were made by me, although I did reskin some of them. I also didn't have anyone make them specifically for me, instead I got them all from various mods and standalone downloads available on this site (credits are on the download page for my scenario). As far as I can tell, there are not many people still creating new units and LHs for CIV, and convincing someone to sign on to a mod as ambitious as yours may be difficult, so your best bet may be creative use of what is already available.

    @ Everyone
    Update progress has been slow due to limited time available to mod, but I optimistically expect to finish and release the update next weekend.
     
  13. Tigranes

    Tigranes Armenian

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,729
    It is great to see you still around :woohoo: Please check your PMs every once in a while!
     
  14. Bryce3

    Bryce3 King of Wessex

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Kingdom of Wessex
    OK, Thanks anyway. I'll put the credits in.
     
  15. Barbarian King

    Barbarian King Prince

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    OK, I was having some trouble uploading the next update to the file sharing site I use (GameFront), so until I figure it out I will leave the update here as an attachment instead of linking to a download. Install instructions are as usual: just extract to your BtS\Mods folder and click "Replace All" when prompted to overwrite existing files.

    The update changes the following:
    -Borders now fixed: no more culture-based border fluctuations, and when you conquer a city you get an area of tiles around it (from a modmod by dexy)
    -Minor nations no longer will delete all their starting units. This was accomplished (per a suggestion by Kiwitt) by giving extra promotions/experience to these civs' units. So not only will they keep their units, said units will now be more formidable.
    -Variable unit cost: the more of a certain unit you have, the higher the :hammers:cost will be to build each successive unit of that type. This is to reduce unit spamming by the large nations.
    -New unique building for Japan, S. Korea, and Taiwan that increases the number of trade routes they can support
    -Various cosmetic changes, including a different menu background, more professional looking leader/civ buttons, new buttons to replace placeholders, and a few better looking buildings (from the database, credits to Kissa, hrochland, asioasioasio, and kodzi)
    -A new unit and building combo: the computer virus and firewall. Now you can wage cyber war on your enemies (and your friends!) as well as protect yourself from the same. (uses a plot-selecting system developed by talchas)
    -An updated map with better city placement and more realistic city-size ratios (thanks to Tigranes)

    I hope you enjoy it, and if you have any more suggestions (especially considering balancing after my many changes), feel free to send them my way.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Tigranes

    Tigranes Armenian

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,729
    I feel like you were reading my mind -- this morning I was thinking about cyber warfare and how could that be realistically implemented. I was thinking about it is as a NEW espionage option which creates 1 turn of anarchy in rival civilization (to reflect how all the systems get paralyzed!) But I will check this mechanics.

    BK, this is the best Christmas present I could expect from this Forums!:hatsoff::santa2: Thank you for not abandoning this wonderful project. My ideal starting situation is to have a scenario that almost reads like a reference book :) . We have Google Earth, why can't we have BTS Earth? All the 2 mil+ cities present, actual navies, actual scaled airforce and land units, actual top ten countries in GDP, population and land area accurately represented, actual top 20 corporations by capitalization of the world (hi-techs like Apple, Google, Microsoft are missing, for example).


    BTS Earth could be an actual name and this deserves to be called mod, not a scenario any more.

    My biggest dissapointment is AI stupidities. Perhaps merging with K-mod can solve it? In our PBEM game Israel nuked Falkland Iranian city (gifted them by British). Nukes tend be be overused and misused by AI. SDI to every civ somehow balances that. Perhaps there should be a hidden SDI and actual SDI project further increasing the probability of nuke interception.

    Reworking gunship abilities and Helicopter carrier is a very desired future addition. Helicopters must fly above land tiles and above coast at least. Loading them to transports feels silly.

    I will play with this and provide some feedback later!
     
  17. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,568
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
    I will be working on updating the scenario to include all the actual named units and deployments. I'll try to have this done in a couple of months.
     
  18. Tigranes

    Tigranes Armenian

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,729
    Will you be willing to discuss the scale you are going to use, or as they say it in the Physics -- the degree of approximation? Capital ships are more or less easy, but what would 1 infantry unit represent? A division? Perhaps certain thousands of soldiers can be a better idea... Straightforward approach, like in RtW Historical, to represent each division with one unit will introduce crazy amount of units and still will not reflect the reality, less orthodox approach is preferable, IMO. The task is further complicated by the fact that many civs represent many countries, e.q. Algeria, Tunisia, Morocco and Libya are represented by Libya :crazyeye:.

    I really believe that the first task is the cities. Suppose we set our goal to create a BTS model of our Modern Earth. We need some clear criteria which cities would make a cut and which will not.

    Suppose one wants to represent France on the given map. First we paint culture and decide how many cities can represent that area and still look natural for the average player. With this map it is 2. Now, 2 Largest cities of France are Paris and Marseille. Just like we have now :goodjob:. But metro Lyon is bigger than metro Marseille :sad:. If you are to represent a France with 2 cities, which comes to your mind after Paris? I think Lyon would be the winner, but Lyon would mean that France will have no port! So any consistent approach is hard to implement...

    Second problem: What should their size be? Largest city in the World is Tokyo 32,450,000 people. If we call it size 30 or 32 city as a benchmark than metro Paris ( 9,638,000 ) will be size 10? But we also want some accurate representation of World's 7 billion people. France has 65,350,000 million. How one splits this between Paris and Marseille? And still keeps the relative size of Paris coherent with size of Tokyo?
     
  19. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,568
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
    Given the variety of units available, a regiment seems appropriate.

    As to population size of cities, it should be based on this
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=20087

    However, you do raise some interesting questions about positioning and selections of cities. However, these are not insurmountable.
     
  20. Yudishtira

    Yudishtira Spiritual/Creative

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,815
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I agree that it would be great for gunships to be able to fly above coast tiles and thus reach nearby islands etc. I would even like them to have access to all sea tiles that are within cultural boundaries, even enemy ones, and even when these are not strictly coast tiles.

    As for loading them onto transports, however, while I do agree this feels silly, this is the way all gunships actually get to their theatre of operation. Flying them there is actually the 'silly'/unrealistic way.
     

Share This Page