1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Earth 2010

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Scenarios' started by Barbarian King, Oct 30, 2010.

  1. Pef

    Pef Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    i think the scenario is fabulous ... , only i would balance it more .

    give the small civs some Prophets and Engineers in their cities so they can support some tech and building units.
    also , since its 2010 .. i guess all civs should have some regiments with promotions ... where is all their history ?

    - the military civic you made for small civs seems wrong ,it should be -100 war , +100 % military units , and + 2 xp ,ie total war.

    i don't see it make sense to have Germany and France each have 2 cities in Europe and compete with EU ... they should all be IN EU and hold Russia at bay.

    -change Mali name to Nigeria .. makes more sense.(Mali's population = 14 mil , Nigeria = 155 mil)


    UK needs its base in Indian Ocean ( Diego Garcia) and Cyprus.
    EU needs the Antilles and Guyana in the Carribean and Reunion in Indian Ocean and also Iceland.(and i would definetly include France and Germany in it)
    US needs Panama , Bahrain and Okinawa as military bases ,( small cities = size 1 with hospital and courthouse )
    Thailand should have Philipines.(for the sake of localized civ power and to let Japan conquer it. .. perhaps some neg points vs Thailand too)

    There need to be some promoted (lvl 3-4) and fortified barbarian units(redcoats) in Afganistan , Pakistan , Iraq , Somalia , Sudan , Timor , Nigeria , Colombia ,Philipines , Mexic , Honduras , Rwanda , Cambogia and Nepal ... since there actually are revolutionary and terrorist groups there.


    i personally played Japan , and though its hard at start , i managed to make myself an empire by conquering Taiwan , Thailand and Indonesia .
    i plan to add both Koreeas and Philiphines next , before i try China.
     
  2. GreatLordofPie

    GreatLordofPie Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Gender:
    Male
    Hey Barb King:
    Are you planning on updating your mod to be more current?
     
  3. vodkavs

    vodkavs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Every time i try to play this scenario i load it up and then it wont the let me click on starting a new game ??? can someone please tell me how to get this to work
     
  4. GGracchus

    GGracchus Tribune of Rome

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,377
    @Floating Pants: You probably have BUG installed in CustomAssets. Delete it (copy it somewhere else) and it should generate a new, working customassets.

    Speaking of BUG, Barbarian King, could you try integrating this mod with BUG? I love this mod (the PRC now extends from Japan to Jakarta to Tripoli), but I would really appreciate BUG interface in this mod.
     
  5. mgbx4

    mgbx4 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    134
    Location:
    Orlando, USA
    One thing Mexico's Infantry should be North American infantry not south
     
  6. GGracchus

    GGracchus Tribune of Rome

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,377
    I think it's supposed to be Latin American Infantry, not necessarily South American.
     
  7. alegra0912

    alegra0912 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Mordor, Middle-Earth!
    When I attempt to start this mod, it won't start!! :O No error messages or anything, it just won't load when I attempt to (yes, I do open it from the load mod option)

    Thanks.
     
  8. GGracchus

    GGracchus Tribune of Rome

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,377
    Make sure you have the latest 3.19 patch. It may not work without it.
     
  9. Adhesive86

    Adhesive86 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    267
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Has anyone tried this Mod on multiplayer?
     
  10. Barbarian King

    Barbarian King Prince

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    @Pef
    Thanks for your suggestions. You have good points about Mali/Niger, the new civics, and unit history/experience, which I will definitely consider if/when I update this scenario again. I probably won't add any more cities to the map, however, and on the issue of balance, well, the scenario isn't really supposed to be balanced. My goal was to try to make it so that each nation has an appropriately realistic strength, so some of the civs are very difficult to play as a result but I like it that way.

    @GreatLordofPie
    I may make it more current someday, but as of now I don't feel that enough has changed in the world situation to merit a revamp to Earth 2011. Gaddafi and Mubarak may be gone, but a leaderhead change would really be more superficial than substantive in the game, and since Den9510 made such a great Gaddafi LH I'm loathe to replace it with a more generic one.

    @vodkavs
    The scenario is under the regular scenario menu option on the main menu. Regular games are disabled in this mod since this mod was constructed entirely around the Earth 2010 scenario.

    @GGracchus
    I'll look into it, and if it is not too difficult to implement BUG into this mod I'll create a downloadable add-on to do just that. It might take me a while, however, since I haven't had too much time of late to mod civ, so don't hold your breath. :)

    @mgbx4
    GGracchus was right, the unit really represents Latin American infantry, the name is just a holdover from when I only had that unit available to the South American civs and I hadn't bothered to change it.

    @alegra0912
    What OS do you have, what version of BtS do you use, and do you have any mods running? I'll try to help you, but if I can't figure out how to replicate the error myself I will have no way of figuring out what is wrong.

    @Adhesive86
    I've played this mod in hotseat mode, but never tried it in any online multiplayer.
     
  11. skyfire

    skyfire Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    313
    Location:
    Leeuwarden, Holland
    Nice update Barb King. I haven't played it for a wile, but i'm now addicted again!!
     
  12. Dumanios

    Dumanios MLG

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,882
    Perhaps give Taipei a renamed Moai Statues or something, or at least some transports to start with. Otherwise, it seems impossible to do anything.
     
  13. Adhesive86

    Adhesive86 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    267
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    BarbarianKing,

    Been playing your latest version really and whilst I really enjoyed the initial release, this one is a vast improvement. Can honestly say this mod is the most enjoyable version of civ i've played. (Genghis Kai's GEM is really really good and incredibly detailed however unfortunately it is normally just too slow to do it justice and there is no modern scenario)

    I wanted to provide some feedback. I have based this on your goal to "provide appropriately realistic strength" to all civs.

    - Your choice of the number of civs and cities is in my view spot on. There are more than enough civs to provide an incredibly immersive diplo environment however not too many to drag the game to a creaking halt. I've tried playing GEM with 50 civs and whilst it's fantastic fun, it really does show the difference in performance. It's always east to say 'just add one more' and I could provide a list, but all the key civs are there. Top job!

    - Balance: One of the reasons i love this mod is that it is NOT balanced. Balanced would be boring and entirely unrepresentative of the world in 2010 (or 2011). The joy in this mod is the immense challenge of attempting to rebuild an empire to conquer the world as the UK whilst trying not to annoy Russia, and the other emerging economies too much, or to turn Israel from a one city state to a sprawling empire; or to end up somehow conquering China as North Korea or Japan (not done that one yet...). Or indeed easily rolling over the EU as a strong Russia, taking South America in a blitz as the US etc etc. Don't change this.

    - Nations over/under powered: Russia is overpowered. So is Australia. Why? In my view quite simply because they have a large amount of geography and cities. Whilst the population is not the largest this grows very quickly for all cities and so really the true question of power is 'how many cities does a civ have? I find this to be quite unrealistic and also therefore really disadvantages China, India for instance as its large city populations are quickly levelled out by other civs. How to deal? I would suggest, as PEF has, to provide more resident engineers, prophets, merchants etc to existing 'advanced/great' cities. I would also look into doubling (at least) the amount of food surplus needed to grow. I can have the Falklands grow from a 2 city to a 40 in a short time with Modern Fisheries. Whilst this is great fun and that shouldnt be completely nerfed, it does illustrate the imbalances on reality that come about. Would it spoil my gaming experience to only have the Falklands grow from 2 to 20 in that time instead of 2 to 40? I don't think it would.

    In the case of small nations (number of cities) who really punch above their weight in the world in reality I think there are 2 very strong cases of those that need to be laced with specialists in their cities - Germany and Japan. Japan is the number 3 economy in the world but in game they are nowhere to be seen. Germany is I think the 4th biggest economy, but in the game they are much much lower. Both nations are massive producers. A lot of engineers, prophets for both Japan and Germany would be a great addition (I haven't played as either so strong apologies if this is already in place, but if so i would advise to be increased). The same for South Korea maybe. UK and France are fine as these have an island or 2 which grows.

    Unit hammers - I suggest making units more expensive to buy. Maybe x150% or 200% hammers. Why? 1) The production capability of many nations is immense and the map quickly gets spammed with units. This is not only in danger of crashing lots of computers in time, but

    2) allows large military advantages that are initially set out to be eroded very very quickly (Israel almost always loses its wars with Arab neighbours for instance). I appreciate this is fun, but i think this could be slowed down without nerfing.

    3) Populations grow very quickly due to new buildings that have been added and production grows very quickly due to modern workshops. It would make sense to increase hammer requirement for units therefore.

    4) If you're adding specialists to provide more realism then again this contributes to production capacity.

    Corporations are great, really enjoyable could do with maybe doubling the impact? - Only suggestion here would be doubling yield per city from 4 to 8 per turn. Right now the yield is pitiful in comparison to other ways of producing money/production in the game, especially with new improvments. I feel corporations play a larger role in the world economy than in the game still and this would provide a more realistic role. It would also promote more the fortunes of the advanced and emerging economies, thus aiding realism, as these tend to be the ones with the corporations.

    Great job - love the mod!!!!
     
  14. Dumanios

    Dumanios MLG

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4,882
    Japan should start with access to Oil or Uranium, because they are building Frigates and Ironclads.
     
  15. Barbarian King

    Barbarian King Prince

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    @Adhesive86
    Thanks for the feedback. Your ideas for limiting growth and boosting the underpowered superpowers are good, and I'll definitely use your suggestion for Germany when I update the mod again (which won't be for a while, however, because I am currently using my limited modding time to work on a new scenario that I started a while back and never got around to finishing). As far as Russia and Australia are concerned, I think the only way to deal with them would be to impoverish the territory around some of their unimportant cities, which is something I think I may do. Concerning unit spam, I might try using the scaling unit cost mechanism (which linearly increases the cost of building new units based on how many units a civ already owns). The hard part will be figuring out the best increment that will still allow for large armies and not hurt the civs that have weaker production capabilities.

    @Dumanios
    Next time I update the mod I'll make sure that no civs will build such obsolete units. Thanks for bringing that to my attention (I thought I had already fixed it, but I guess not).
     
  16. strambe

    strambe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Hi everyone. I'm having a weird problem with this mod: after loading the mod, instead of the names of the cities I get a bunch of corporation symbols, and I also have trouble with much of the usual symbols in the game. I already re-installed the game, installed the 3.19 patch. I have very little experience with this stuff and I was hoping if you could help me out fixing this... here's a link to an image of what's happening to me: http://www.civfanatics.com/gallery/browseimages.php?do=member&imageuser=221212
     
  17. Pef

    Pef Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    at strambe , sorry mate
    from the pic you provided , with cities heavily hacked , all with HQ for religion and corps .. it seems more likely you yourself damaged the map somehow while doing those upgrades..
     
  18. Adhesive86

    Adhesive86 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    267
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    @Strambe,

    Did you first install 3.17 before 3.19? Otherwise it doesn't run properly.

    Recommend backing up your save games in a personal folder (so you can access later if you want) and uninstalling the lot then reinstall in this order:

    Civ 4
    Civ 4 BTS (or both together if you have the complete version)
    Patch 3.17
    Patch 3.19
    Earth 2010 Mod

    Before you open it turn your graphics settings to lowest, just to make sure it's not a graphics problem, but from the above picture i don't think it is. Don't add in any other mods like blue marble and you should be fine.
     
  19. Dlotto

    Dlotto Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Excelent Mod!

    Played as Argentina a few times. NO URANIUM!!! Maybe you should add one. Argentinian nuclear plants are fueled with argentinian uranium. It also is being exported, as well as nuclear plants (Australia is the first that i remember).

    A defensive pact with Chavez and Alan García should also be added (Maybe Brazil) to reflect UNASUR.

    In one of my games i took Malvinas/Falkland in turn 2 and UK surrendered inmediately. Same for France.

    South America´s greatest asset is natural resources and does not have many.

    North Korea is too easy to conquer. As well as Taiwan and Japan.

    Beside all that. IT IS AN AWESOME SCENARIO!!!!

    In my current game i am 3º. Slightly behind Barack and a few mile behind Putin. War broke loose in Asia and Argent intervention took Japan, Taiwan, North Korea, Shangai, that mongolian city. All South America has been liberated, with the exception of Chavez. Sahara has fallen to my armies.
    Sarkozy-Merkel War has left Europe defenseless to Russian Tanks but a huge Argentinian Task Force is in the middle east ready to head for Moscow (hope to have american help)

    GREAT FUN. Once again AWESOME MOD.

    Feel free to ask if you anytime need help about south american current politics.
     
  20. Powerwise

    Powerwise Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    Russia is way too powerful. They go from maybe 6th in the world in population to 1st in a matter of turns. In the real world, Russia's just barely holding onto its current population as it is.

    I don't know if there's any way to do this in the game, but curtailing Russia's growth would make this scenario much more enjoyable, I think.
     

Share This Page