1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Earth2000.OneBillion Se

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Modpacks' started by Bungus, Sep 9, 2005.

  1. Bungus

    Bungus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,062
    Up to 2000% Faster*!!

    The project you never knew was being made is finally complete**!!







    E2K.OB is an entirely new*** 180x188 epic earth mod highly revised set of rules. Nothing changed for change’s sake, it does not radically change the gameplay of the Conquests epic game, but rather tweaks it in almost every area, resulting in a different, but familiar, experience.
    The graphics undergo the biggest makeover, with well over a hundred units added (primarily “flavor units”), new terrain, and resources. I sought to add techs, units, and game mechanics where needed. For examples: There is an early version of what was the only amphibious unit, the marine. Mountains, jungles, and marshlands are impassible by most units. Oceanic currents speed up sailing ships’ movements, reducing long distance travel time and tedium. Civilizations benefit from three special units, instead of one, for more variety. Upgrades, spy and diplomat missions are cheaper. And dozens more.
    So download the mod, take a nap while doing so if you have a phone line, and try it out. I guarantee you won’t be disappointed. If you were, it’s because your great grandfather was molesting you while you were playing. Happens to the best of us..

    And don’t forget the Read This. It will answer any questions you don’t have, and maybe some that you do.

    Download Here!****



    *than a glue-covered slug in a meat freezer.

    **Actually Post-Beta, Pre-Whatever’s after that. E2K.OB may be too polished to be considered beta, but I haven’t completely played through it myself, so I’ve attached the suffix “Se”. That stands for Stupid Edition. What that means to you is, it might crash, but stands a good chance of not melting your hardrive, so just save often and if something does go wrong, post your problem and I promise I’ll fix it within 24 hours unless I don’t. (Don’t worry about having to restart a game, because any errors will, with 92% certainty, be solely a referencing issue, ie can be fixed while a game is in progress. You will only be set back as far as your last saved game).

    ***E2K.OB uses an old, modified version of Rhye’s of Civilization’s earth map.

    ****Actually here.*****

    *****Actually, EARTH2000.OneBillion has moved to a new location. Now Get!
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=165748
    Don't worry about the rest of this shlt \/

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    IMPORTANTE: Installation: Uzip the main part of the mod (267 megs) to you desktop, open the "Earth2000.OneBillion Se" folder, open the "Civilization 3" folder. Inside should be the "Conquests" folder. Cut this, and paste it into you ../Infrogames Interactive/Civilization III/ folder. Overwrite when prompted.
    Patching: You also want to download the small patch above (added 9-16, 3 megs) and the one attached below, just under the readme (added 9-29). Unzip these to your ..\Civilization 3\Conquests\Scenarios folder and overwrite when prompted.

    There is one extra step. Go into ../Civilization III/Conquests/Scenarios/Earth2.Onebillion /Art and change the name of the "Leaderhead" folder to "Leaderheads". Without adding the "s", the game may occassionaly crash while displaying the victory or diplomatic advisor screen.

    You start the mod by clicking on the "Civ-Content" at the Conquest's main menu. Earth 2000.OneBillion and Earth 2000.OneBillion lite (slightly faster on slow PC's) are the massive world map games. Earthish and Earthish2 are small 8 civ maps, for quicker games or multiplayer.

    I will be re-uploading the entire mod tomorrow or April 2006 to avoid all this confusion. I will also make a few minor gameplay tweaks, so you may want to wait or just start a new game then.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Thanks to..
    Rhye Kinboat UtahJazz7 Aalgo Dom Padro II Aluminum Muffins Balou Bebro Embryodead Riptide R8fxt Bjornlo Rita Poon Steph CamJH vbraun Hikaro Takayomasa Civ army 1994 Smoking Mirror Orthanc Thunderfall Winter vuldacon Kindred72 Cyber Dreyk
    ..And anyone else who's work I've ripped off.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. EuropeanFury

    EuropeanFury Tired Grumpy Warrior

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    272
    1st post :D

    Downloading now, will let ya know how it is ;)
     
  3. Spacer One

    Spacer One Avatar subject to change

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,702
    Location:
    NorCal
  4. EuropeanFury

    EuropeanFury Tired Grumpy Warrior

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    272
    Of course, its only 29% done downloading...
     
  5. Spacer One

    Spacer One Avatar subject to change

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,702
    Location:
    NorCal
    Currently in Queue

    Estimated Waiting Time: 4 minutes


    This window will refresh in 60 seconds.
     
  6. EuropeanFury

    EuropeanFury Tired Grumpy Warrior

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    272
    Hah! you are still in the que line!

    I KNOW this mod will be well worth the wait....

    ::just 35% to go::
     
  7. WildWeazel

    WildWeazel -- Turns to Completion

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    6,791
    Location:
    %CIV3%\Conquests\Scenarios\
  8. Bungus

    Bungus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,062
    Oops. As anyone whose finished downloading by now is just realizing, I saved the main .biq in debug mode. It's been corrected and attached in at the end of the first post. It's a mere 120K, just drop it into the ..\Civilization 3\Conquests\Scenarios folder, overwriting the first one.
    If anyone's interested in seeing what the AI is up to, you can "play" the old Earth2K.OB Se.biq from the main download. There's no fog of war, so you can see everything, and you can screw around with units and stuff.
    ..So much for a flawless upload.
     
  9. Spacer One

    Spacer One Avatar subject to change

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,702
    Location:
    NorCal
    truthfully I thought that the exposed map was done on purpose and didnt mind it, I helps counter how ungodly aggressive the enemy units are...I lost my first game ever on the 3rd turn... :goodjob: good work, challenging scenario... :goodjob: I can click off the debug myself, no need to d/l...

    on the same note, on the "earthish" maps, there is a large exposed area in the upper right...a few volcanos stick out and explode all the time, but I havent gotten near them with boats yet...not sure why this is happening, maybe you wanna check it out...
     
  10. Sir Karnizer

    Sir Karnizer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    España
    didn´t work with me. Scenario didn´t load. :sad:
    Error mesage:
    didn´t find "Scenarios\..\..\Conquests\Conquests\Middle Ages\Text\Pedialcons.txt":ICON_BLDG_SS_Planetary_Party_Lounge
     
  11. Spacer One

    Spacer One Avatar subject to change

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,702
    Location:
    NorCal
    you have it a file set too deep...
    there shouldnt be 2 conquest folders in a row...cut and paste up a file
     
  12. Bungus

    Bungus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,062
    Sir Karnizer: As Spacer said, you have a conquests folder inside anoner conquests folder. You probbly unzipped the mod into the Civilization 3 folder instead of into the "Infrogames interactive" or whatever folder the Civ 3 folder is in. Just cut the Conquests folder within Conquests folder and paste it in the Civilization 3 folder. Sorry if all the folders make it a little confusing.
    Yeah, clicking off debug mode is a 5 second task if you know anything about the editor.
    I also forgot to mention the difficulty levels have been seriously amped up compared to the regular game. I suggest the second easiest difficulty (if not the first) until you've played through it or are really good. Um, and there's no assurances the the hardest two difficulty levels are even possible.. Did you try playing those? Otherwise, what killed you so quick? There are some aggressive barbarians, but they're mostle there to set some civs back a bit in the begining.
    Ah, my first bug. Those exposed portions of the map are from using a map tweaker utility to enlarge the size of the map. It can be fixed, I'll post the new one under the read me ASAP.
     
  13. WildWeazel

    WildWeazel -- Turns to Completion

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    6,791
    Location:
    %CIV3%\Conquests\Scenarios\
    Be careful with that- remember the Firaxis scenarios are in the Conquests\Conquests folder.
     
  14. Bungus

    Bungus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,062
    Oh, right, so in that case just cut the Scenarios and Art folders from within the Conquests folder and paster them one folder up, into the FIRST Conquests folder. With two coquests folders, it makes this seems alot more confusing and complicated than it really is.

    BTW the Earthish2 map is has been corrected. The fog of war now covers unexplored parts of the map as normal.
     
  15. Spacer One

    Spacer One Avatar subject to change

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,702
    Location:
    NorCal
    Wow, ok so...I gotcha on the difficulty thing, and I just had the misfortune to start close enough to someone else, that they could take my city before I could protect it...I was Siam, who while really kewl, I have yet to start a successful game...I will try one on level 1 or 2 as I normally start a mod on 3 and go from there...and I might be wrong on this(I might be mistaking your MOD for another) but why are there multiple "warrior" units?...placeholders for other units??
     
  16. Bungus

    Bungus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,062
    There are actually multiple units of several types, but the warrior is the the only one you'll be able to see in game. The reason you can build 2 seperate warriors is related to the AI; it starts with a warrior and to keep it from wandering too far away from its capitol and harressing nearby civs, there is a defensive and offensive version of each warrior, but only in the AI's eyes. They are in fact identical, but it fools the AI into having its first warrior stay home instead of snatching up gooding huts and forming early commications with far away civs. Oh, there is one difference that effects human players: One warrior upgrades to a skirmisher (light infantry), and the other to the swordsman (normal/heavy infantry). This seperation in the infantry line continues into the modern age, with light infantry being weaker, but able to traverse all terrain, among other things.
     
  17. Spacer One

    Spacer One Avatar subject to change

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,702
    Location:
    NorCal
    interesting, anyway to tell em apart on the menu?...
     
  18. Bungus

    Bungus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,062
    Yes, right click on one to bring up there civlopedia. It should list what it upgrades to in its entry. Also, I believe the first warrior on the build menu upgrades to the skirmisher/light infantry line.
    Any luck on the lower difficulty levels? Still to hard to get started? If so, what seems to be destroying your city(s) so early?
    Note about the AI difficulty: One thing I hated about the regular civ 3 is that in order to create a greater challenge, the orginal designers gave the AI a bunch of silly advantages that alter the fundamental gameplay. I avoided giving AI bonuses like this, but it does have a considerable edge at the start, so you'll have to do your best from the begining to close in this gap. Also, with the mod I seriously increased the challenge so you'll be wondering if you can keep your civ afloat instead of wondering in what year A.D. you'll grab that domination victory this time around.
    And al civilizations are not create equal. At least, they don't all have an equal chance at success. The Siamese for example, will have a pretty tough time, where as the Rome or China are much easier to develope and even win with. Check the civlopedia for details; there is a description of each civs strengths and specail units in there, as well as there relative chance at victory and survival.
     
  19. Scytale

    Scytale Shaping the Old World

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    Can we get some screenshots? :D
     
  20. Spacer One

    Spacer One Avatar subject to change

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,702
    Location:
    NorCal
    well, based on your advice, I started as the Siamese...Im moving right along...3 good cities with a 4th dveloping and much land war...the game I lost on turn 3 was because I started almost on top of someone and their warrior destroyed my city before I got mine done...I agree about staying afloat, I often find that I have to turn off domination/conquest/cultre victories even to play the game...I dont see that problem here...I'd like to see more diversity to the graphics, maybe make the 2 warriors look different of something...if I could screen shot I would...My capitol looks nice, and very diverse terrain choices...I say if you get the unit discrepancy dealt with that this is an A+ Mod...B for now...I'll give you a better opinion if I make it to the modern era...
     

Share This Page