Easy Fixes? (re: ICS)

BOMIAS

Chieftain
First of all, I am new to NiGHTS and want to say excellent work! Very much appreciate all the effort that went into this mod.

After my first 2 games (prince level, both wins but competitive), I do agree with many postings here that ICS strategy is still a little too dominant of a strategy, particular the aspect that many small cities >> moderate # larger cites. Personally I think that realistically/historically that 1 size 10 city should in most cases be "better" than 2 size 5 cities, 5 size 2 cities, etc.

I suggest 2 "easy" adjustments to help ameliorate this "issue":
#1: population happiness: +1 happiness for every 2 citizens up to 20 citizens/city.
consequence: encourage growth past pop 10, slows early city spread somewhat due to delayed population happiness... overall slightly discourages city spamming. one small downside: roman trait needs to be changed to something different.

#2 population science: weighted slightly differently due to city size in the following way. Citizen 1-5 = 0.5 science/citizen, citizen 6-10 = 1 science/citizen, citizen 11+ = 1.5 science/citizen.
Example: size 5 city has 0.5 x 5 = 2.5 base science from population.
Example: size 10 city has 0.5 x 5 (1-5) + 1.0 x 5 (6-10) = 7.5 base science from population.
Example: size 15 city has 0.5 x 5 (1-5) + 1.0 x 5 (6-10) + 1.5 x 5 (11-15) = 15 base science from population.