Echoes of Earth: A total conversion for BERT

Jwcswong

Chieftain
Joined
Aug 13, 2017
Messages
2
I don't know if it is a bug of patch v26, There is a problem with the quest called the "Spores and Harvest" which asks me to clean giant fungi, a new one spawns every turn and clutters up my quest list, and also there are no giant fungi spawning on the map. How can I solve this problem?

I would also like to ask about the virtue trees and some of the strategy behind it? what stops me from getting all the free virtues at the top of the tree with the first virtue? And how should I be choosing my affinity, depending on the resources on the map? or my target victory conditions?
 
Last edited:

Machiavelli24

Mod creator
Joined
May 9, 2012
Messages
818
For "Spores and Harvest" are you using any mods besides Echoes of Earth? Echoes doesn't change the landmark quests so it shouldn't break them. But you are not the first person to report the behavior you're describing. Can you send me a saved game where you are having the issue?

what stops me from getting all the free virtues at the top of the tree with the first virtue?
I wanted players to have multiple choices to take as a benefit when opening a Virtue tree instead of there only being a single opener (to add variety between games). The first Virtue is just an empty placeholder. The "real" first Virtue is the one you get right after it.

Nothing stops you from taking all the placeholders but you'll get no benefit or penalty from doing so. None of the "Gain X when you get a Virtue" trigger off them. And your Virtue costs don't inflate because of them.

If you're wondering why the empty placeholders exist at all, it was to work around some technical constraints.

how should I be choosing my affinity, depending on the resources on the map? or my target victory conditions?
Broadly, you want to look at the map. You'll need lots of the a specific Affinity resource to support an army made of that Affinity's units. Off-Affinity resources still have value for the Affinity-resource consuming buildings that are unlocked by the leaf tech under the technologies that give access to Affinity resources.

One important note, if you've gotten to the stage where you're doing the fertility crisis quest chain (the one that requires building the PharmaLab and Civil Creche) the choice you make at the end of that chain determines which Affinity's Health buildings you unlock. If you end that chain and pick Purity you strongly want to continue going Purity since you can access Optical Surgery & Organ Printer (yes those are Purity now relative to the base game). But you won't be able to access Supremacy's Cybernetics Lab & Augmentory.
 

Machiavelli24

Mod creator
Joined
May 9, 2012
Messages
818
Current version is 1.1.2.4035. As long as you have rising tide it will probably be ok.
 

Ryika

Lazy Wannabe Artista
Joined
Aug 30, 2013
Messages
9,395
Buying a legal version of the game would be the first step to fix those issues.

/edit: For context: This was a response to tygore's second post which he seems to have deleted now.
 
Last edited:

Windscion

Chieftain
Supporter
Joined
Oct 18, 2008
Messages
81
Location
East Coast USA
Okay, it seems like right now ARC is waaay easier to play, largely because of the difficulty of making money to cover building and improvement upkeep. That extra +100 cash/turn just makes expansion so much more doable. I get that you could load up on yields from combat, but that would take a lot of micromanaging, could go sour in a heartbeat, and still offers nowhere near the yields.
Also, taking the peace-with-native-life virtue lets me burn down nests with impunity, yielding +25 energy, +50 diplomatic capital, +4 harmony, and +1 pop in Central. (Lush biome, if it matters.)
Deficit spending is also powerful, but takes an investment in supremacy virtues & more micromanagement.
I do like the way many buildings grant specialist slots rather than just flat yields.
Overall, lots to like, but could use a few balance passes.

Edit: Okay, I guess deficit spending isn't in EoE
 
Last edited:

Yerltvachovicic

Chieftain
Joined
Mar 29, 2015
Messages
17
Like the mod, but I just got 3 earth artifacts and things get screwy.
When combining them I should get +37.5 Energy and a Frontier Stadium building, giving + 2 Diplomacy Capital.
Instead I get +12 Energy, no building, artifacts do NOT disappear and I could continue doing this ad infinitum, every time getting +12 Energy.

I have CivBE + RT (however without October 2015 patch for RT, which I couldn't find anywhere).
The mods I am using are:
- Echoes of Earth v26
- Codename Genesis I and II (for nicer looking biome textures)
- Info Addict v3

Edit: Got fourth earth artifact to the mix, another building option, this time giving +37.5 Energy and +2 Science, and unfortunately the results are still very much the same.
 
Last edited:

Konig15

Warlord
Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
231
Hi, Sorry if I'm necroing the thread but I'm having the same problem OZZYKP had, I'm not sure I did the double click install thing correctly even though I followed the instructions, seemingly to the letter. Could I get some help? Cause the games' most unplayable without being able to see units and terrain features
 

Zombie Horde

ZEDorDEAD
Joined
Sep 16, 2022
Messages
47
Is this mod still alive? im reluctant to install if not near completion (disk space)
 
Top Bottom