1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Economy Mod

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Modpacks' started by Valkrionn, Sep 29, 2010.

  1. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Economy Mod




    DISCONTINUED. WILL NOT FUNCTION WITH THE CURRENT VERSION OF CIV5.




    I have a few issues with the economy in vanilla civ5. Specifically, techs come far too fast compared to your unit and building production rate, certain resources are useless, and hills are absolutely required for a successful city; Not enough production without them.

    With this mod, I seek to rectify those issues.


    v5 Changelog:

    • Included the new version of Robk's Info Addict mod.
    • Fixed an interface issue that caused problems for users with high-res interfaces.
    • Reduced flatlands penalty to 10%, from 25%. (Testing this, likely to drop it altogether)

    Comprehensive Changelog:

    • Many small UI tweaks
      • Clicking the GPT display brings up the Economy Screen.
      • Unit XP displayed as a string, rather than bar
      • Clock added, fully integrated into the bar
      • etc
    • Included Modcomps:
      • BuildQueue mod fixed
        • Purchasing items no longer affects the queue
        • Functionality changed:
          • Mouse click = Item is selected for production (overwriting any queue!) and production display closed. IE, behaves as though the queue was not active.
          • Shift-click = Item is added to the rear of the queue
          • Ctrl-click = Item is added to the front of the queue.
        • Queue is always enabled. Checkbox is invisible, production display only expands if queue size is greater than 1 (IE, you actually have something queued up after what is being built)
        • Basically, it works like the queue did in Civ4. It is always on, but you only have to mess with it if you choose; Very unobtrusive, simple to understand, and far better than the default implementation.
      • ArgentumStudio's Resource Info Panel included
        • Located in the InfoPane (where tech progress is shown, for those who don't know the terminology), this panel displays all resources you possess, how many you have, how many are used, and how many you gain/lose via trade. It may be sorted by name or amount possessed; Each section (Luxury, Strategic, or Bonus) may be individually collapsed.
        • A picture is worth a thousand words:
          Spoiler :
      • Csebal's Extended Plot Mouseover included
        • Massively upgrades plot mouseover text. Only way I can really phrase it. :lol:
        • Again, a picture is worth a thousand words:
          Spoiler :
      • BlakeTheGreat's Great People Info Mod included.
        • Adds a display to the top panel detailing what your next specialist will be, what city it will be from, and what your progress to other specialists is.
        • And again, a picture:
          Spoiler :
      • Thalassicus's Unofficial Patch included (mostly)
        • An assortment of small fixes, largely concerning text errors.
        • Left out: Wealth fix (already made my own), Ancient Ruins upgrade result change.
      • Xienwolf's FlagPromotions included
        • Adds a new Minimap Option which displays a unit's promotions below their flag icon; Very useful, particularly when you have a lot of them on a unit.
        • Sadly, only functions in standard view, not Strategic View. I'll have to get Xienwolf looking at that. ;)
      • Kael's ModList and No UnitFlag option included
        • New screen, the Mod List, which displays active mods for your game.
        • New minimap option which allows you to disable unit flags in standard view. Honestly, only included because it was in Xienwolf's mod. :lol:
      • Robk's Info Addict
        • This mod revives the graphs from civ4; It is quite detailed, a very nice addition indeed.
        • Screenshot:
          Spoiler :
    • Gameplay changes
      • All tech costs increased by 50%.
      • All building costs decreased by 20%.
      • All unit costs decreased by 20%.
      • Wealth process bumped up to 30%, from 25.
      • Trading Camps are buildable on all resources.
      • Workshop Improvement added; +1 :hammers:, -1 :food:, +1 :hammers: with Steam Power, requires flatlands.
      • Flatlands now only provide a 10% defensive penalty, down from 25%.
      • Bonus resources now handled similarly to Strategic resources; This change affects Wheat, Cow, Sheep, Deer, Fish, and Banana.
        • Resources may have 2 or 4 instances per tile.
        • New buildings added which require these resources.
          • Bakery - +1 :food:, +20% :food: stored after growth, requires Wheat
          • Brewery - +3 :), -2 :hammers:, requires Wheat
          • Leatherworker - +1 :), grants the Leather Armor promotion to all Melee, Mounted, Recon, and Archer units, requires Cow
            • Leather Armor - +25% Defense
          • Weaver - +2 :culture: for any improved Sheep, Dye, Silk, or Cotton near the city. Requires at least one of these resources within range of the city. Requires Sheep.
          • Hunting Lodge - +1 :hammers: on Forest tiles near the city. Requires Deer.
          • Plantation House - +15% :gold: and :hammers:, 3 :gold: Maintenance Cost, -2 :culture:, requires Banana.
            • Culture penalty removed with the Freedom Social Policy
            • Originally intended to use unhappiness, for some ungodly reason however Firaxis chose to not allow buildings to grant unhappiness (Not just display, doesn't work at all; Tested it). Given that, I went with maintenance and culture.
          • Fishmonger - +20% :food:, 3 :gold: Maintenance Cost, requires Fish.
            • Original plan was to increase the food output of nearby farms; However, this is not possible. Can be done for features and resources, but not improvements. :wallbash:
    • Anything else that I forgot to list. :lol:
    Issues

    • The new resource buildings have full pedias, but I did not have time to create icons for them. As a result, they all share the Granary icon.
    • At certain resolutions, the Strategic Resource display in the top panel will overlap the game turn; Not much I can do to fix this, aside from simply remove the strategic display. The functionality exists in a better way via the info pane now; Opinions on cutting the top bar display? I'd prefer not to, but with the overlap... May have to.
    Compatibility

    • Economy mod is NOT compatible with the majority of UI mods.
    • Due to the way Lua mods function, they are not innately compatible with each other. However, there is a workaround; It simply requires that you have a 'Compatibility Mod' which includes the necessary line of xml for each lua mod. Economy Mod functions as that compatibility mod. ;) This does mean that I have to manually allow each and every lua mod it is compatible with; If I miss any, let me know and I will add it for the next patch.
      • Currently compatible with: ActiveCityDefense, TechDiffusion, TreeGrowth, Emigration
      • Important Note: To ensure compatibility, you must activate Economy Mod after all other mods!
    • If you have any specific compatibility questions, feel free to post them here and I will check the mod out as soon as I am able.
    Recommended Mods

    Credits


    Available now, via the in-game browser and here. ;)
     
  2. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    For any other modders out there: You may find this mod useful as an example of how to use SQL files to make modifications.

    The first three items on my list would take ages to do in Civ4, or in Civ5 using xml. List every building, every unit, every tech, and modify costs? No thanks. :p

    Fortunately, you no longer have to, thanks to the wonders of SQL. ;)

    Here is the code I used to modify tech costs:
    Code:
    UPDATE Technologies SET 'Cost' = cost*1.5 WHERE Cost > 0;
    That single line did it all. Set it to load to the database (same way you already use XML files!), and it will take care of it all. You can even get more complex and have it affect specific groups of techs, which you define; Whatever you want, basically. It is incredibly simple compared to the old method.
     
  3. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Credits:

    • Magus424 - LuxuryResourceDisplay
    • DireAussie - BuildQueueMod
    • #Erebus Regulars - Giving me feedback :goodjob:
    • Kael - Without his mods, I would still be figuring things out. Hell, without FfH I would not be modding at all. :p
    • Firaxis - For creating a game, and then allowing us to butcher it. :lol:
     
  4. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
  5. Grey Fox

    Grey Fox Master of Points

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    8,726
    Location:
    Sweden
    I've been meaning to do something similar to this, I will use this as base for my personal mod maybe help you tweak this if you agree to my changes. ;)
     
  6. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Of course. ;)

    I have quite a few changes planned.
     
  7. attackfighter

    attackfighter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,010
    Location:
    Intellectual Elite HQ
    I like the higher tech cost, I find the it increases too quickly in vanilla. I hate how the tech level never matches the date, and it's always a problem in every single civ game (srsly they need to start balancing it based on competant players, you could probably tech to the medieval age before 20AD off of a single city).

    Thoughts:
    changes might screw up the AI, ie the AI might make a ton of warriors at the start, due to the lowered cost, and end up dying from maintenance

    unhappiness might be an issue since it takes longer to tech to happiness buildings, and the increased resource yields would mean a higher growth rate

    this might be a huge buff to tech agreements
     
  8. James009

    James009 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    276
    Sweet! Thank you for releasing this. :)

    Regarding the AI, I think they are smart enough to know when to stop building things and balance their budget. Remember FFH mod for Civ IV? Despite all the crazy changes they did the AI still did quite well with all of it.
     
  9. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,046
    Location:
    In orbit
    :goodjob: Valkrionn!
     
  10. Necro-

    Necro- Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    id like to see citizens give u gold, as a form of tax, making large cities more useful
     
  11. Hybrisma

    Hybrisma Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Will this work while playing on a custom map?
     
  12. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Glad to see it's been received well.. Over 200 downloads in just a few hours. :goodjob:

    I'm in class from 9am to 8:20pm today (all my courses are on the same day... Sucks, but only have class mondays and wednesdays) so there likely will not be a new version out today. Not unless I get bored in Java. :mischief:

    I agree, teching was way too fast. That was one of the first changes I made... But at first it was by hacking the gamespeed settings, not by using sql to change costs. :lol: MUCH easier this way.

    I doubt it will hurt the AI much, and will likely be adding a few new processes; A weak one available at start as a hammer sink (if you don't want more maintenance, a 10% conversion to gold could actually be worth it), and a stronger one later in the game. Maybe attached to a policy.

    Happiness may well become a factor; If so, I'll look into solutions. Just keep in mind that I typically prefer creative solutions, over just increasing what's already there; That's why the resource tweaks will be changed. :lol:

    Pretty much. I didn't notice them do anything horrible in the game I played to test.

    And honestly, I mainly released it so I could have something concrete to show when I make suggestions for how things should work. Rather than simply stating my opinion, now I can also point to a working version, which they can play and then decide if they like the change. :lol:

    :goodjob:

    I have an idea for large cities, will have to see if it's possible yet.

    I see no reason why it shouldn't. I don't remove anything, I only tweak stats and add new things.
     
  13. Cormac1974

    Cormac1974 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Budapest
    Hi,

    How can I install it?
    I copied to MODS dir, but the game can't see it.

    Somebody can help me?

    Thanks
     
  14. orko_oskar

    orko_oskar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Sweden
    My main gripe is with the Great Scientists.
    In my latest game I had one city (as india on dif 5) and thanks to Gscientists giving me a tech each I had coal revealed before I even had bronzeworking...
    Is there a possible way to make them instead of a free tech giving you a certain amount of beakers, preferably dependant on age?

    BTW, your changes looks good so far, will try them out.
     
  15. Falk

    Falk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    Mainz, Germany
    Great job! The 20% production decrease is what I had in mind, too. Should work well! I must say that I also like all the other changes you've made even though I haven't playtested the mod yet.

    The only thing I'm skeptical about is the tech cost increase - this might not work with smaller empires. Your mod allows for more and faster expansion which is great, but be careful not to make 3-5 city empires unplayable.

    As for possible Happiness problems - my idea was to add more luxury ressources to the game (more different ones and more on the map) and slightly decrease the happiness bonus they give. Makes expanding your empire a more sensible option.
     
  16. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    To install the file directly, it should go in My Games/Civilization5/MODS.

    Assuming you have it there, what do you see when you go into the game? Is there an 'Install Mods' button in the bottom right of the modbrowser when you open it to the 'Installed Mods' page? If so, click it.

    Failing that, you can extract the civ5mod file using 7zip.

    Possible, but not sure if I would do that. I have plans for GP tile improvements, though, assuming I can't convince the devs to use my idea for them. :lol:

    Like I said, that's my main reason for making this mod; I'm one of the testers, so I wanted something concrete to show when I make suggestions.

    Well, IMO you can't simply reduce costs. Yes, production was too slow... But teching was also too fast, and you could skip ever building some units. By increasing the tech cost, that changes. If I have to tweak other things to make it work well, I have no problem doing so.

    And I don't intend to add more resources unless I can get art, really. I WILL make bonus resources work differently, but that doesn't help happiness. :lol: We'll see.
     
  17. Ekmek

    Ekmek on steam: ekmek_e

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,033
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    I like it V,

    Have you looked at reducing the cost of the stock exchange?

    I think I'll use your as a base for some changes I want to make -

    -like the watermill adding production to river tiles instead of food. I also want to move an
    -engineer slot earlier in the game (not sure where yet)
    - modifying the Great People TIs.
    - I'd make the Workshop button for you bt I'm not a fan of the improvement :lol:
     
  18. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    I haven't looked at reducing the cost of any specific building; I just modified ALL costs first, will tweak individual costs if the feedback says it's needed.

    And feel free to use my changes. :goodjob:

    • Hmm... Interesting concept.
    • Yeah, it's needed. Don't have any early on.
    • You already know what I intend to try with them, seeing as I've suggested it on the forums. I'm guessing you're going to go the direct route instead?
    • Should do it anyway! :p

    Honestly, I haven't quite decided if I'll keep the workshop improvement or not. I've discussed why I didn't go a purely specialist-focused route for flatland cities (In short: 3 :hammers: on an engineer is equal to a mined hill, meaning those cities which already HAVE production only gain from the change, as they can switch over and then earn GE points. An improvement requiring flatlands is something they won't use (need the farms). If I could have a building provide X hammers, and reduce that X for each hill in the radius, I would.), but I find the workshop uninteresting. I've always been a sucker for 'interesting' features. :lol:

    If I had DLL access, there would BE interesting features. :p
     
  19. Abremms

    Abremms Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    I like it, the pace of the game feels a lot better now. games are longer, and you get to spend more time actually using the units you build before upgrading them. and with the reduced production, it makes reinforcing a battered army before they break an actual possibility now. The AI puts up a bit more of a fight after the initial battle.
     
  20. Necro-

    Necro- Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Bonus (non-luxury, non-strategic) Resource yields buffed; Must build the improvement to gain this extra yield

    i assume that means things like deers/etc.? in which case are you planning on buffing strategic/luxury resources like ice's mod?
     

Share This Page