1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Editing CivWin

Discussion in 'Civ1 - General Discussions' started by Sark6354201, Oct 24, 2007.

  1. Sark6354201

    Sark6354201 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    240
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Hello all,

    Does anyone know how to edit the combat values for CivWin?
     
  2. nova10

    nova10 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Canada
    No, CivWin is a lot harder to edit than the dos version. We don't even know which file to start with. Even modifying the save file is is dangerous.
     
  3. Dack

    Dack Terra Form Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    532
    Location:
    civ dos 474.05

    I’m not sure how it is dangerous to edit the CivWin SVE file. I took a quick look with a HEX editor, there seems to be some amount of text, the names of leaders, countries, cities. The files do seem to be of variable length, which to me indicates some sort of compression. So some part of the file must be compressed.

    An Internet search certainly doesn’t stir up any hope that anyone has had any luck decoding the SVE file or that there is an editor available for CivWin.


    I would think that if you have deep need to modify CIV ONE (CivWin or CivNet). You could as alternative play CivDos. The game play is the same; the goto function doesn’t work as well as CivWin or CivNet. The interface is much more user friendly and better graphics. And for your purposes there are lots of tools to modify the units.

     
  4. Sark6354201

    Sark6354201 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    240
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    @Dack

    Thanks a lot for all the info!

    I guess I will have to use CivDos instead of CivWin. At least I know where to start though.

    What is the name of the program you are using to view the unit values?
     
  5. nova10

    nova10 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Canada
    @Dack: Yes the CivWin .sav file is compressed. I have the only code AND editor possible to uncompress the file, modify the file and re-compress the file. It's in C# .NET code and if you like, I will send it to you (Code and Editor included). You may be able to do more with it than I can.
     
  6. kartikthegreat

    kartikthegreat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Civwin is much better than dos
    please try to make modifying program for it
     

Share This Page