1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Education Bug

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Bug Reports' started by Pontos, Oct 7, 2008.

  1. Pontos

    Pontos Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    There appears to be a bug with the Education System.

    After training a number of colonists at the University, the number turns required before the colonist graduates greatly increases.

    I now have 1 colonist that will not graduate for 183 turns !!! He started at the school house in 1690 and will not graduate until 1873 ??

    I also have 1 colonist at the university that takes 43 turns to graduate.
     
  2. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,017
    That's not a bug, it's deliberate. But the ramp up is horrendous. It's been adjusted in the Snoopy/Dale patch so as not to be horrendous. :)
     
  3. Jeckel

    Jeckel Great Reverend

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,637
    Location:
    Peoria, IL
    Or you can go into /Assets/XML/GlobalDefines.xml, copy to a mod folder, and change EDUCATION_THRESHOLD_INCREASE to a lower number or change EDUCATION_THRESHOLD to a higher number.

    I've been playing with a EDUCATION_THRESHOLD_INCREASE of 1 and a EDUCATION_THRESHOLD of 30 and schools work just like I want them to. :king:
     
  4. Purest Warrior

    Purest Warrior Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    128
    And why? What's the sense in that? When I went to university, it took five years - it still does.

    @ Pontos: You better have some cigars and rum ready in 1873. That graduate will want to throw a helluvva party.
     
  5. euskingc

    euskingc Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    I agree, this really limits the gameplay... essentially with this you wouldnt be able to build up an efficient empire of 20 or 30 cities filled with specialists... Im having trouble now training enough to fill even just 5 large cities. *shakes head*

    we didnt have this in col 1, as far as I remember... dont know whose bright idea this was.
     
  6. citizenalex

    citizenalex Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Montreal
    Logic has it a better equipped education facility should speed up the learning process, not the other way around. Especially since they threw away the old skill tree rule where you needed a college for cash crop farmers and university for elder statesmen....That's just too big of a WTF for me to believe this was intentionnal...
     
  7. citizenalex

    citizenalex Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Montreal
    Does anyone here know how to haxxorz the global defines so colleges and university shorten the study time instead of increase it....? This really puts a damper on a game i used to LOVE back in the old days...

    :cry:
     
  8. grattz

    grattz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1






    Should be the whole game :

    School : 3tur-FreeColonist 4-convict 5-native
    College: 2tur-FreeColonist 3-convict 4-native
    University: 1tur-FreeColonist 2-convict 3-native




    Immigration == constans
     

Share This Page