1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Embarked Units Can't Stack with Naval Units

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Confirmed Bugs' started by KCMcG, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. KCMcG

    KCMcG Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    United States
    Embarked units, especially Settlers, should be considered non-combat units, since they can't attack naval units. Embarked units will not stack with Naval units. I was playing as Russia and tried to move a frigate to the same tile as an embarked settler. It wouldn't allow me to do this.

    I've attached a save.

     
  2. Thats not a bug. That's just how the designed the game.
     
  3. 12agnar0k

    12agnar0k Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,556
    No, they said embarked units are civilian units and as such can stack, so thus its a bug.
     
  4. ainwood

    ainwood Consultant. Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,083
    Not sure if I have heard this before. Can you link to where this is said?
     
  5. KCMcG

    KCMcG Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    United States
    From the civilization digital manual:

    "Unit Movement
    Generally, units move from hex to hex, paying the
    “Movement Cost” required to enter that new hex.
    Units are subject to “Stacking” limitations – two military
    units may not end their turn in the same hex, nor
    can two non-military units, but one military and one
    non-military unit may end their turn stacked in the
    same hex. Most units are limited in where they can
    move – land units cannot enter mountain hexes and
    naval units cannot enter land hexes (except for port cities). Improvements like roads and
    railroads speed a unit’s movement through land hexes."


    Also from the manual:

    "Like land units, there are military and non-military naval units. Work
    Boats and any “Embarked” Land Units are non-military units, and
    they are automatically captured and held for ransom when attacked
    by barbarians and destroyed when attacked by other
    civs or city-states."


    So it says a military and non-military unit can stack in the same hex and it also says that embarked units and work boats are non-military units.
     
  6. Ironmonger69

    Ironmonger69 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Goldsboro, NC, USA
    I'm pretty sure barbarians don't capture embarked land units, either, but destroy them. Long live the memory of worker Joe, drowned by an unforgiving barbarian foe...
     
  7. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32,938
    Location:
    DE/NL/FR
    Can anyone else confirm, that the embarked units can't stack with military units?
     
  8. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,647
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    The attached save file, Test Embarked Unit.civ5Save, shows a Chinese embarked Scout next to a Chinese Frigate. The Scout has remaining MPs, but can't move onto the Frigate's tile. Test Embarked Unit 2.civ5.sav shows a similar situation, this time with an embarked Chinese Worker. Again, the embarked worker can't move onto the Frigate. I thought that perhaps the embarked worker might be treated as non-military, but that wasn't the case.

    I'll call this a bug (or at least an error in the manual) and move this thread to the Confirmed Bugs forum.

    Moderator Action: Moved to Confirmed Bugs forum
     

    Attached Files:

  9. funkymunky

    funkymunky Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    I have also experience this problem, and thought I read many articles that suggested that embarked units should be able to share a tile with military vessels.
     
  10. Nemesis Rex

    Nemesis Rex Bane of Liberals

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    414
    Location:
    Florida
    I believe it would be better if Embarked land units could stack with Naval units. Still limit it to one each per hex, but treat all embarked units the way settlers and workers are on land. Then you could protect them.

    Moderator Action: Threads merged. The_J
     
  11. danerman73

    danerman73 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Solana Beach, CA
    I believe it not to be a bug mostly because it'd make the Songhai benefit less useful and more of just an convenience. That being said, I absolutely think that embarked units should stack with navel units. I do think that it should be like the land rules, only one war ship can stack with one non combat "ship"(work boat or embarked unit). I am a big fan of the 1 upt but in this case I think it should be consistent with the ground unit idea.
     
  12. Camikaze

    Camikaze Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    27,312
    Location:
    Sydney
    Moderator Action: Doing a little house cleaning, moved this out of 'Confirmed Bugs', because it isn't one.
     

Share This Page