1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Embracing Emperor

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Strategy & Tips' started by Noble Zarkon, May 21, 2014.

  1. Noble Zarkon

    Noble Zarkon Civ IV Emperor EQM Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4,768
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Gibraltar
    I am a long term Civ player who used to get frustrated at Warlord level, to the extent most of the time I would play Islands maps, turtle away and try and win a Cultural victory! Less than two years ago I discovered this wonderful place and thanks to the articles, the helpful people on here, the Nobles Club and the Hall of Fame I learnt so much - like the importance of cottages and the power of the whip (I used to avoid slavery due to the dreaded slave riots!!). I can win games on Emperor for the Hall of Fame where I can pick my opponents and have a really strong start but am more comfortable at Monarch level. I feel the time is right to really kick on, consolidate all I have learned and really embrace Emperor level as my natural level.

    So in time honoured tradition I'm going to post a game here and hope people will help me along, give feedback and help me bring it all together. I've chosen a Random leader on Fractal, Standard size, normal speed.

    Spoiler the settings used :





    Spoiler the leader :






    So I got Sury (Expansive and Creative) with this start:-



    So that's the Settler on a River Plain Hills, with 2 sheep in sight - one a Plains Hill and one on a grassland hill. SIP seems a pretty good bet and not sure if the Scout could reveal anything that would make me change that so I'll just move him onto the Plains Hill 1SE.

    Sury starts with Hunting hence the Scout, which is a pain - no early worker stealing! So I'm thinking SIP and work the Sheep Plains Hill, this means I will be working two plains hills for 4 hammers and thus will gain an extra hammer from the Expansive trait if I build a worker. If I'm going to build a worker he needs something to do so Animal Husbandry seems like the best choice for a tech.

    Thoughts / comments / corrections???

    The save is attached - I've used BAT mode for this one.

    Thanks in anticipation for all your help!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Gumbolt

    Gumbolt Phoenix Rising

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,355
    Location:
    UK
    Plains hill looks good. (Not got bat yet. :( ) So 5 hammers plus 1 from trait = 6 hammers a turn. 10 turn worker. This will be an amazing start with Sury.

    The plains tile will likely be a resource. Maybe copper or horse?

    Bronze working here will be strong as a next tech after AH.

    Low food start = hammers from chopping.
     
  3. blunderwonder

    blunderwonder Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    312
    First, get bug mod, itll take you from emperor to imm. Second, AH is your only bet really because theres no real food except for that, that plains tile is also probably horses bronze or iron. While its an acceptable start for any VC, it looks perfect for a rush. Plenty of production, you could even mine one of the sheep if need be, get HBR or iron, and crank out units with mines and chopping, then attack the first person without much metal... if theyre close by. Lacking all that, you could just spam settlers, no need to worry about monuments because of creative, then beeline writing and spam creative libraries and specialists. Really though that starts screams rush to me, otherwise youll have to move your capital if you want to run beauro.

    if you can un-bat it, i may shadow the game or just video the first bunch of moves, till the rush ends, as im getting tired of replaying old maps for the umteenth time.

    You might think about oraceling HBR if you land horses nearby, or even taking IW with it. Its hard to tell without seeing how close and who your neighboors are.
     
  4. byang08

    byang08 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    79
    Checking in

    nvm getting protected assets error
     
  5. Noble Zarkon

    Noble Zarkon Civ IV Emperor EQM Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4,768
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Gibraltar
    Thanks but BAT has everything BUG has as well as better graphics! I would suggest those of you who haven't tried it yet get BAT ;)

    Probably wise advice.
     
  6. Gumbolt

    Gumbolt Phoenix Rising

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,355
    Location:
    UK
    Any blue circles with the settler? Going 1W might get you more green tiles. You are really short of grassland here. If you start on the hidden resource it may save you worker turns but the first worker would be 12 turns.

    I might be tempted to move scout 2 west before settling.
     
  7. shpeka

    shpeka Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    I sense financial trouble here. :)

    SIP, AH -> BW, worker -> warrior.

    You need to find your source of income. If there is no suitable site for a good riverside grassland city to the west (try good overlap with capital so you can cottage and share the two forested grassland tiles SW and WW) you might want to rush a nearby civ (with axes/chariots, you will have trouble reaching even HBR with the current start).

    Good luck. :goodjob:
     
  8. pigswill

    pigswill fly (one day)

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    8,656
    Location:
    berkshire, england
    I'd send scout 2N to expose rest of BFC. AH>BW. Depending on how long it takes to research AH you might have time to build an exploring/kidnapping warrior before worker.

    Its not a commerce capital but its a good production city with forests for chopping. You coud always turn city#2 into a commerce city (particularly if it belongs to someone else).
     
  9. NihilZero

    NihilZero WHEOOHRNY

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    Oracle for IW would be a little bit bizarre, considering that Mysticism + Meditation/Poly + Priesthood will cost you approximately the same number of beakers as IW itself! :crazyeye:

    @OP - Best of luck to you, but you would probably get more help and shadows here if you weren't running BAT, which makes your save incompatible with some (most?) of us.
     
  10. Fippy

    Fippy Micro Junkie Queen

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,688
    Gender:
    Female
    Everyone who is too lazy getting Bat and only uses Bug (like i was) does not know what you are missing. Biggest mistake i made in Civ, ignoring Bat for so long it's just so much better.
     
  11. NihilZero

    NihilZero WHEOOHRNY

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    The fact that it makes saves incompatible is a bit of a downer, though.
     
  12. Fippy

    Fippy Micro Junkie Queen

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,688
    Gender:
    Female
    All you would need for using those saves is downloading Bat.
    You could still play with Bug or anything else, only need Bat too in your Mods folder.
    No pressure once installed, it's only an issue if we are not taking that little time.
    I rarely give out such compliments about Mods, but Bat = masterpiece and should easily be the new forum standard. If we could make that happen :b
     
  13. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! (Phoenix Style!) Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    20,821
    ^^^listen to her ;)
     
  14. elitetroops

    elitetroops Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    5,467
    I usually stay clear of graphics mods because I value fast and smooth gameplay over graphics that mostly slow down the performance of the game. Does BAT affect performance of CIV much?
     
  15. NihilZero

    NihilZero WHEOOHRNY

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    Indeed, one of the machines I routinely play on is particularly ancient. It would wheeze and complain if I asked it to shoulder the burden of BAT. :)
     
  16. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! (Phoenix Style!) Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    20,821
    BAT is pretty well optimized. I run it on laptops and see no performance degradation. The graphics are nice but pretty basic compared to some of the more graphic intensive modpacks. It's basically just VD plus Blue marble. You can always do other things to increase performance with settings, but BAT should not change your performance much at all. With that said, it is always good to run Civ IV on a 64-bit system.
     
  17. ecuwins

    ecuwins Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    I wholeheartedly agree about BAT. Now to get this thread back on topic...

    Moved the scout two west -
    Spoiler :


    Booyah!!! Agriculture > Animal Husbandry > Bronze Working
     
  18. oppy

    oppy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    New York, NY
    Trying to play the game but getting an error "game is protected". Anyway around this?
     
  19. MegaLurker

    MegaLurker King

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    718
    Emperor is fun. Having felt a lot of frustration on Deity lately this was the perfect game at the perfect time to blow off steam :crazyeye: I wanted to see if Knights can be used to sweep the map on Emperor like they can on Immortal (or even Deity, if you're lucky), and if it's faster.

    Turns out it's very do-able...

    Spoiler :
    I wasted a lot of turns not realizing that two AIs were on a different landmass east of Spain. I thought the continent would continue west, so there were about 30 turns of whipping galleys and moving all the knights across the continent and then across the channel.


    1420AD Conquest:

    Spoiler :


    In any case I built 173 Knights through the game (losing a bit under half) while killing closer to 200 units:

    Spoiler :


    This stack forced the final capitulation:

    Spoiler :


    Power graph that more-or-less tells the story;

    Spoiler :


    It's hard to get a handle on the relative speed of the win. Because of the much slower AI tech pace almost everything has to be self-teched, which is why I thought knights would be so much faster than cuirs. I also figured pure knights would be significantly faster than catapults->trebs. I completely stopped teching after Guilds and produced nothing but Knights from then on. But ironically the date feels slow compared to Immortal.

    I wonder how much faster it would have been to win Domination instead of Conquest because of the logistics of the map, assuming the economy would have survived long enough.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Noble Zarkon

    Noble Zarkon Civ IV Emperor EQM Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4,768
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Gibraltar
    I do intend to take my time playing this but would hope to do a turn or two a day not quite as slow as this!

    Moved the Settler 2N to expose BFC just more forest but no real driver to move so SIP. Animal Husbandry will take 13 turns, a worker 10 and a warrior 4. Current plan is to build a warrior then a worker, warrior may be able to worker steal if I have a near neighbour.

    Given the seafood we can see moving the Scout in that directions seems sensible??



     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page