1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[BTS] Emperor Continents Help

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Strategy & Tips' started by southquote, Jul 11, 2018.

1. southquote

southquote Chieftain

I have been playing Civ4 for a few months, working my way up the difficulties. I get a lot of good tips from these forums. I recently moved up to Emperor and won a number of times on pangea. I have also won on Continents, but I find these maps much harder, and none of my wins have been military variety. I have actually done very little successful military action across continents. Partially, this is because I am probably breaking out too slowly (for example, generally winning Pangea games in the 1800s or 1900s) and maybe laziness/risk aversion (why deal with overseas conquest when I can build a spaceship).

I figured I would start by posting a current game, which is already at 1420. This is probably too late to correct my earlier mistakes, but I think this one is still winnable militarily. Any help appreciated.

Spoiler :

Attached Files:

2. SittinDown

SittinDown Chieftain

Congrats on working your way up levels so fast! This game looks winnable.

If you want to get better advice from this forum, you should post saves from earlier on.

You don't lead in number of cities, which seems like a problem. ....The ottomans have a bunch of land that you should have taken a while ago - they have catapults hanging out, so I would build up a Cannon-based army ASAP, and take out the Ottomans ASAP. Take a few cities then make them capitulate maybe. Don't be afraid to whip. Your cannons should roll through the Ottomans easily.