1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Empty Mod - total conversion template

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Mod Components' started by Ahwaric, Nov 3, 2010.

  1. Ahwaric

    Ahwaric Shrubbery-hugger

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,217
    Location:
    Kraków, Poland
    Total conversion mods need so many things removed that it is simpler to start clean and add things than edit units, buildings etc.
    That is the reason for an empty mod.

    The original idea is by Pazyryk - check this thread
    The whole thing is possible thanks to lemmy101 and his "IndieStone Anti Deletion-Crash Fixinator SQL"

    I have simply added my xlm editor, "gutted" the files and put it all together.

    How to use:
    Download
    Unpack - put it into your modbuddy mod directory
    open the mod in modbuddy, edit the files etc
    rebuild
    start civ5 and run the mod

    Editing bigger files might be much easier if you use the editor ("Empty Mod/Empty Mod" directory) Just open xlm file, make changes, press export and voila - the file is created, overwriting the old one in XML directory
    There are also civ5 files (as of patch 1.062) included, in case anyone wants to copy existing assets. I will probably include mongols genghis khan entries, too.
    Full Civ5 files: CivV 1.062 editor.xls, "Civ 1.062 rest of files.ZIP"
    Empty files (in by deafault): "EmptyMod editor.xls", "XML empty rest.ZIP"

    This is an initial version and as such, will probably need some improvements. But it is tested, and the game is running - after all, 2 buildings, 5 units, 2 civs, 3 promotions and 2 techs are in ;)

    All policy branches and resources are in. Both require changes to lua files, for UI towork or to let players be placed properly. I have decied it is better to leave these in place, as removing and then adding might be troublesome in this case.
    That has also a side effect of all resources being visible from the start.

    Good luck creating mods and let me know if you spot any bugs.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. lemmy101

    lemmy101 Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,064
  3. Pazyryk

    Pazyryk Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584
    Great Ahwaric! So we'll be seeing Orbis 2 very soon now? ;)
     
  4. Mynex

    Mynex Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    I know you've been working on this for a while, beating your head against a wall...

    So Simply... Thank you and Congrats on getting it done.
     
  5. primordial stew

    primordial stew Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,219
    Location:
    a puddle
    Has anyone been successful in doing this sort of mod which includes scenarios?

    I haven't tried this code since I don't need to delete *everything*, just techs, buildings, civs, citystates, and maybe the modern stuff later. So am still using this XML to delete, and then the "Fixinator" at the end:
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showpost.php?p=9835818&postcount=34

    I've still got some problem with the civs when loading a scenario where it CTDs. After loading, the civs set in WB are not there, just 2 ?. I haven't modified leaders, though Carthage and France both use Napoleon.

    Everything works individually, but not when loaded from a map :confused:

    Not loading the scenario, using advanced setup to get the rights civs, and having lua add the units does indeed allow the Battle of Cannae to take place.
     
  6. lemmy101

    lemmy101 Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,064
    there may be issues with the fixinator and worldbuilder maps I'm afraid, since the worldbuilder seems to place units on the map by ID. Look through the fixinator SQL and try removing the 4 line blocks mentioning 'Units' and 'UnitClasses' and 'Leaders' perhaps? basically trim out stuff you've not been deleting so you don't need to reassign the IDs.
     
  7. Anondod

    Anondod Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Awesome! This will make my modding life so much easier... Now I'm off to exploit your hard work! :)
     
  8. Garett20

    Garett20 Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Location:
    Toronto,Canada
    Thank you!!! Total Conversion mods will be much easier now
     
  9. Laurino

    Laurino Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Montréal
    wow

    the TAM team, and most probably the whole world, will never be thankfull enough towards you.
     
  10. Anondod

    Anondod Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    First: Awesome! I'm using this as the base for my total conversion mod, and it's so much better than working from the base files as I was doing first.

    However, I've encountered a couple of bugs. The latter two may be because of things I've done in my own mod, so if someone wants to test for them in some other version it would be great.

    * When I start the empty mod as-is, I've had the game crash as soon as my units are on the map. This may be related to the below bug since it didn't happen when I turned goody huts off.

    * When I (or the AI) explore goody huts, the game crashes immediately.

    * After about ten turns (with goody huts turned off to prevent the previous problem), I win a science victory. Needless to say, I haven't built a spaceship or even developed a single technology. Could this be related to the spaceship components not existing in the empty mod? I may have time to test this theory tomorrow, but I thought I'd post here first in case anyone else has the same problem.
     
  11. lemmy101

    lemmy101 Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,064
  12. jenks

    jenks Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    Thanks for this work!
     
  13. lemmy101

    lemmy101 Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,064
    Code:
    When I (or the AI) explore goody huts, the game crashes immediately.
    This is behaviour I found when there were mismatched IDs.
     
  14. Anondod

    Anondod Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    I'll look into that. Thanks for the tip!
     

Share This Page