1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

England Stratagy Help

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Strategy & Tips' started by ElliotS, Jun 15, 2013.

1. ElliotS

ElliotS Warmonger

The only guide I found on England is Vanilla. Even though they only got the extra spy when G&K came out, it seems like the Navel re-balancing would be a major buff. It also looks like a massive amount of that guide no longer applies.

I'm pretty new to the game, so please don't assume I know anything past the very basics. I play mostly single player right now, but I also play multilayer with 1-2 friends pretty often. Even then we use AIs. I always play on Large or Huge maps, and use shuffle or continents.

To avoid wasting your time, here's what I've got so far:

England is best suited to Warmongering as soon as they hit Astronomy. (Confirm?)
    England is able to go either wide or tall. (Confirm?)

So, can anyone here give me some help learning England?

Specific Questions I'd like an answer to:
    1-What order should I research techs?
    2-Can the Longbowmen cannot get the +1 range promotion on top of their normal extra range?
    3-If not, can Gatling guns get it after I upgrade them? The result I'm looking for is 3 range Gatling guns.
    4-What Wonders should I go for? Is the Great Lighthouse worth building, or just to capture?
    5-How do you play England? Why?

Thanks a ton! I really appreciate it. -Elliot S

2. eisforeccentric

eisforeccentric Chieftain

I wouldn't consider myself an "expert" on England, but I've played as Elizabeth a few times. The highest difficulty I've played on is King, so I can't speak for the highest difficulties, but here's what I do.